Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING ALBUM OF SONGS!!
Shane Filan has come a long way from the early days of Westlife where they were regarded as a typical Boy Band/Mixed Groups of it's time and every other band (eg. Cliff & The Shadows, Herman's Hermits, The Beatles, The Beach Boys, Boyzone etc.) period since Pop music began commercially in the 1950s. However sometimes out of the group the lead singer or a group member...
Published 11 months ago by Luke73

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its just ok
i only want to hear it one more time, its not memorable other than 1 track i will move it on
Published 7 months ago by wendy


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING ALBUM OF SONGS!!, 8 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: You And Me (Audio CD)
Shane Filan has come a long way from the early days of Westlife where they were regarded as a typical Boy Band/Mixed Groups of it's time and every other band (eg. Cliff & The Shadows, Herman's Hermits, The Beatles, The Beach Boys, Boyzone etc.) period since Pop music began commercially in the 1950s. However sometimes out of the group the lead singer or a group member become highly successful in their own right. Shane Filan has the beginnings of being in the making of such a successful Artist judging by the high standard of music on this Album YOU AND ME.

Shane Filan's vocals are finely tuned to the individual song, particularly the ballad tracks where he sings them with conviction.

Shane has become a Singer/Songwriter as on all the songs on this Album and I understand by Shane Filan's interviews I've seen on youtube that his lyrics are inspired by his personal life. And the sentiments are clearly positively featured on all the songs. The whole album sounds like Folk/Country/Pop with a 'concept' flavour. Each are arranged in such a way that they are 'catchy' and the music tempo works extremely well. Shane has taken a new direction musically away from the Westlife style of songs. An artist has to progress in life to grow in his/her craft.

The songs:
1. Everything to me: This is a jolly crowd pleasing song, though personally it's not a strong track compared to the majority of songs on this CD.
2. About you: A much stronger song in arrangement.
3. All you need to know: This sounds like a 1970s ballad folk-pop ballad with orchestra in the background. Shane extends his vocals on this one. Flawless. A terrific song.
4. Knee deep in my heart: A nice uptempo folk-country sound. Uplifting.
5. One of these days: Catchy tune with meaningful lyrics.
6. Everytime: My personal favourite. A powerful song arrangement musically. Flawless.
7. Always tomorrow: This song takes time to almost reflects on the whole album in this ballad.
8. When I met you: A great country-folk flavour tune.
9. Everything's gonna be alright: Straight forward easy going song, with good lyrics.
10. Coming home: Another 1970s ballad style song. Excellent vocals. A brilliant song.
11. Baby let's dance: A brilliant uptempo track. From the opening of the song to vocals, this song rocks!. Has a slight country sound mixed with a 1960s/70s touch, flavoured with commercial pop. What a blend!
12. In the end: The only song that sounds direct from a Westlife Album. A great track. Glad it's the only song on this album sounds like Westlife.
13. You and me: A simple rhythmic song. A neat ballad/piano track. A nice song to go out with the end of this Album.

On the whole this CD album 'YOU AND ME' was a real pleasure to listen to. Sometimes when you buy a CD, you select particular tracks on playlists and ignore some of the other lesser songs. NOT on this Shane Filan Album. Sounding like a 'Greatest Hits' CD, every track was worth listening to. Since I got the CD, I've listen to it as a whole many times as well as other artists, like most people in the background whilst getting on with things!

A highly recommended must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic first album, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You And Me (Audio CD)
this has got to be the best first album I've heard in a long time. A complete mixture of up beat song and slow song. There isn't a track I don't like Its fantastic.... A MUST BUY ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great First Album, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: You And Me (Audio CD)
My thoughts are a little mixed on this one but this is purely because a lot of the songs sound very samey! However I can't fault Shane's vocal ability, he has a lovely voice and I really enjoy listening to this album. It's very catchy, happy and gives you a lift when you listen to it. I think it's a great start to his solo career and if it was my first album I'd feel very proud. I also note that Shane has co-wrote most of the album which is nice to see. I also like the fact that he has stepped away from the typical ballad stereotype and he has more of a folk feel about him. Exciting times ahead and I hope you enjoy this as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shane filan new cd, 9 Nov 2013
This review is from: You And Me (Audio CD)
What a return for one of the greatest bands lead singer, every song a treat to listen to, can't wait to see shane belt these songs out in Liverpool in feb! A must for crimbo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a major Westlife fan, there was never any doubt in me buying this album.

I love it, a different sound to Westlife, but it suits Shane's voice.

Can't stop listening to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You And Me (Audio CD)
V.good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, every song is great, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You And Me (Audio CD)
Brilliant album, every song is great, and if you were a Westlife fan and loved Shane, you will love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You And Me (Audio CD)
Bought as present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a really good CD. And you can hear that it is ..., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You And Me (Audio CD)
It's a really good CD. And you can hear that it is Shane. But it is a completely other sound then Westlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
L. Ireland "L. Ireland" (Northern Ireland.....UK) - See all my reviews
i loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You And Me
You And Me by Shane Filan (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews