Customer Reviews


266 Reviews
5 star:
 (200)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When men were men
No more Kirk Douglas jolly Norsemen here, its down and dirty with these guys! At last an excellent portrayal of how Viking raiders should look and act according to historical accounts. Fabulous costumes, gripping storyline with heroes and villains, betrayal and mistrust, thrown into atmospheric sets with myths and legends throughout.
If you enjoy accurate history...
Published 4 months ago by Mr R Bedford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Very good show
Published 10 days ago by Gary Gunn


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When men were men, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No more Kirk Douglas jolly Norsemen here, its down and dirty with these guys! At last an excellent portrayal of how Viking raiders should look and act according to historical accounts. Fabulous costumes, gripping storyline with heroes and villains, betrayal and mistrust, thrown into atmospheric sets with myths and legends throughout.
If you enjoy accurate history portrayed in historical film or TV with an exceptional script, then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant a must see. for both series., 4 May 2014
after watching this as my husband had heard it was good. I am so glad we did.
everything about this series is amazing,
from the story, to the acting, the scenery and the fighting.
one that makes you need to watch them back to back as you need to know what is happening in the next episode straight away.
every actor was fantastic, made you really think about what it was like in those days and I think they have done justice to history.
I have not seen a great programme like this except game of thrones that had me completely engrossed the whole way through.
I have just finished watching series 2 and that is also gripping, fantastic, marvellous..... the list could go on.
a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping tale of the Viking age, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought that Vikings would have been mainly focused on endless invasions/battles against England, bloodthirsty raids and so on. Instead I was delighted to discover a gripping tale about the legendary Ragnar Lodbrok (who, by the way, reminded me so much of Jax Teller!) determined to pursue his vision: explore (well, attack) the west lands. Challenged by his local ruler, Earl Haraldson, a man with no initiative and quite content to continue raiding the usual east lands, Ragnar has to deal with a number of exciting events. We follow him as a warrior, as a leader, as a husband and father, as a brother and meanwhile discover traditions of the Viking age.
Like all historical drama, it might not be 100% accurate (Michael Hirst also wrote the Tudors, which was criticized in terms of historical accuracy), but the show well reflects the Norse legendary sagas and is definitely a high quality product. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must own!!!!, 22 Dec 2013
Vikings is the best show of it's genre and one of the most spectacular television series' on-air today.

The cast is astounding, every last one of them. No matter which scene I was watching the acting had me hooked to the point where I actually watched the series all in one go in one day.

The locations and sets are breathtakingly inspiring; I could almost smell the fire in the Jarl's hall, smell the salt air of the north sea and feel the weight of an axe in my hand.

Then there's the soundtrack. The opening title music is so emotive and I think captures so well the physical and psychological hardships and culture of the viking high period. Throughout the show the soundtrack serves to re-enforce the acting and scenery. Sometimes you don't even notice the soundtrack and sometimes it's full on in your face; the soundtrack does exactly what all the great one's should do.

The x-factor on this show for me is the costumes. Thank goodness the 1950/60's ideas of hollywood viking costumes are dead and burried. The costumes appear to be very realistic. Some are simple, like the ordinary, everyday attire. Then there are finer costumes for festivities which look so convincingly authentic, and the battle gear looks awesome.

This is an absolute must own for anyone who enjoys a great story!

If you enjoyed the hobbit/lord of the rings or game of thrones then you'll love this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Vikings more than horned hats, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This series is a well-casted masterclass in subtley and excellent writing mixed with historically correct outfits, locations and props and immense, visceral battles that are by no means the heart of the show but aren't absent either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch, 15 Nov 2013
Can't recommend this enough. Good acting and throughly enjoyable. Just a shame it's such a late release date on DVD though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked in first 10 minutes, 4 May 2014
The life and hell of Viking life, shows life not worth a penny in those days. A gripping story destined to carry on for many seasons, brilliant capture of early civilisation at its cruellest yet still so simple.

After a few minutes you are shown how dangerous this era was, quite a masterpiece by the author and one of the best series being shown anywhere.

Watch England the Viking are coming.................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This is a good series although not nearly enough episodes to satisfy you and feel this should be a bit cheaper given the minimal episodes and extras. This is a well acted and interesting story on the Vikings first coming to the west and beginning their invasions into mainland Britain. There are plenty of characters and sub plots to entertain and lead into the inevitable second series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series., 21 Mar 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Yeovil,Somerset.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I love anything historic, and this series didn't disappoint at all. Very well acted, and the characters are brilliant in their own ways. I present I am watching Series 2 on Amazon Prime Video Streaming. Bought the first series, just waiting for the second to be released. The first 3 episodes are well up to if not better than series 1. Good all round escapism and well worth adding to any dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars waiting for season 2, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoyed this series.nicely done and not ott with action and violence.storyline carried this series off nicely with great locations and superb theme music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vikings: Season 1 [Blu-ray] [2013]
Vikings: Season 1 [Blu-ray] [2013] by Travis Fimmel (Blu-ray - 2014)
26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews