Customer Reviews


541 Reviews
5 star:
 (418)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once the wind picks up, Vikings makes for a sturdy adventure.
The perfect companion for all movie enthusiasts is: THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

There are more ambitious dramas on television right now, but few that deliver as consistently on what is promised than "Vikings" . The series was created by Michael Hirst, who has plenty of experience with period intrigue (the...
Published 1 month ago by IP

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You may want to cut your hair and get all pagan.....don't!
A good series overall but with a tad too much swagger about it. There are some great moments and I enjoyed the visual aesthetics very much, so much so in fact that I cropped the back of my hair off , left a tatty fringe, stopped shaving and strained myself doing push ups.

My wife has been upset with me ever since. The amorous scenes did little to enhance or add...
Published 7 months ago by Crunkey


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once the wind picks up, Vikings makes for a sturdy adventure., 6 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The perfect companion for all movie enthusiasts is: THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

There are more ambitious dramas on television right now, but few that deliver as consistently on what is promised than "Vikings" . The series was created by Michael Hirst, who has plenty of experience with period intrigue (the "Elizabeth" films, Showtime's "The Tudors"), and the pilot directed by "Breaking Bad" veteran Johan Renck. With a little help from computer effects and a lot from their production people and the green hills of Ireland, they create a vision of the culture that may not be 100 percent historically accurate, but which also doesn't feel completely ludicrous for the sake of drama.

Though we open with Ragnar as one of the few survivors of a fearsome battle involving swords, spears and axes -- one that's not quite as graphic as, say, Starz's "Spartacus," but also one that doesn't hide from the blood -- the series is willing to take its time to introduce us to Ragnar's family, his community, and the conflicts before the action really gets heated. We meet his wife Lagertha (Katheryn Winnick), a fierce shield-maiden in her own right, and their son Bjorn (Nathan O'Toole), who's on the verge of becoming a man -- with all the power and responsibilities that involves. And we see the subtle battle between Ragnar and the local Earl (Gabriel Byrne), who believes there are no lands to the west and no way to get there -- even though Ragnar has discovered the Viking equivalent of GPS, and can properly chart a voyage through unfamiliar waters.

Fimmel's a former model who had a rough introduction to the TV business a decade ago as the star of the WB's "Tarzan," but he's evolved into an interesting performer. The role of Ragnar plays to all of his strengths: impressive physical presence, a command of the screen, crazy eyes that also reveal a wicked intelligence behind them. Some of his most interesting moments involve Ragnar in repose, contemplating his next move, and Fimmel absolutely holds the frame as he does it. The part (and the beard) may create more confusion between Fimmel and Charlie Hunnam on "Sons of Anarchy," but that's not a bad thing when the performance suggests it might have that kind of power behind it.

Fimmel is well-matched by Winnick, who's convincing as a woman who can go to battle with these giant men, and also by Gustaf Skarsgard (brother of Alexander from "True Blood") as Ragnar's eccentric ship-building friend Floki. Byrne is playing more of a stock villain, but he also lends credibility to this maiden voyage for History, and Jessalyn Gilsig from "Glee" plays well to type as the Earl's cunning wife.
In an odd way, the series play's almost like science fiction. Ragnar is the explorer determined to go somewhere that everyone says is impossible to get to (if it exists at all). And when the Vikings do eventually land on the shores of England, they're greeted as something akin to aliens, baffling the local Christians -- including George Blagden as a monk who becomes Ragnar's reluctant guide to the Saxon world -- almost as much as they in turn are baffled by those who would leave so much gold and so many jewels lying around an unprotected house of worship.
"Vikings" isn't complicated. It doesn't get too cute in its dialogue, and instead relies on the inherent appeal of the era and these characters to drive the story. It knows what it wants to do, and it does it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping tale of the Viking age, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I thought that Vikings would have been mainly focused on endless invasions/battles against England, bloodthirsty raids and so on. Instead I was delighted to discover a gripping tale about the legendary Ragnar Lodbrok (who, by the way, reminded me so much of Jax Teller!) determined to pursue his vision: explore (well, attack) the west lands. Challenged by his local ruler, Earl Haraldson, a man with no initiative and quite content to continue raiding the usual east lands, Ragnar has to deal with a number of exciting events. We follow him as a warrior, as a leader, as a husband and father, as a brother and meanwhile discover traditions of the Viking age.
Like all historical drama, it might not be 100% accurate (Michael Hirst also wrote the Tudors, which was criticized in terms of historical accuracy), but the show well reflects the Norse legendary sagas and is definitely a high quality product. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When men were men, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
No more Kirk Douglas jolly Norsemen here, its down and dirty with these guys! At last an excellent portrayal of how Viking raiders should look and act according to historical accounts. Fabulous costumes, gripping storyline with heroes and villains, betrayal and mistrust, thrown into atmospheric sets with myths and legends throughout.
If you enjoy accurate history portrayed in historical film or TV with an exceptional script, then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must own!!!!, 22 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Vikings is the best show of it's genre and one of the most spectacular television series' on-air today.

The cast is astounding, every last one of them. No matter which scene I was watching the acting had me hooked to the point where I actually watched the series all in one go in one day.

The locations and sets are breathtakingly inspiring; I could almost smell the fire in the Jarl's hall, smell the salt air of the north sea and feel the weight of an axe in my hand.

Then there's the soundtrack. The opening title music is so emotive and I think captures so well the physical and psychological hardships and culture of the viking high period. Throughout the show the soundtrack serves to re-enforce the acting and scenery. Sometimes you don't even notice the soundtrack and sometimes it's full on in your face; the soundtrack does exactly what all the great one's should do.

The x-factor on this show for me is the costumes. Thank goodness the 1950/60's ideas of hollywood viking costumes are dead and burried. The costumes appear to be very realistic. Some are simple, like the ordinary, everyday attire. Then there are finer costumes for festivities which look so convincingly authentic, and the battle gear looks awesome.

This is an absolute must own for anyone who enjoys a great story!

If you enjoyed the hobbit/lord of the rings or game of thrones then you'll love this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Viking Saga, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Well I watched the first episode on R.T.E.2 An Irish TV station.
Was hooked on the storyline and portrayal of the Viking era.
Had to buy the DVD set sometimes one misses an episode on TV.
Did not regret it, Acting is great with a well chosen cast of Character,s.
The battle scenes are very authentic looking.
The depiction of the social life and customs of the era was excellent.
I did not mind the mystic scenes as it covered the known Gods of the period well.
All in All looking forward to series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop what you are doing and watch it, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Held off watching it for a long time as I wasn't 100% sure I would like it. However, once I started, I couldn't stop. Watched series 1 and 2 within three days. I would have done it in two but work got in the way. I absolutely love it!! I love Game of Thrones but sometimes feel it's a bit excessive at some points like killing babies etc yet the story and characters bring you back for more. Vikings is like that. You have the awesome story and compelling characters that just have layer after layer added with each episode without the killing of infants.lol. So in my opinion I prefer this to Game of Thrones. Well worth a watch!!

On another note the scenery, cinematography, scripting, acting, sound track and general direction within the show is phenomenal. Plus the cast kind of make you sick with their perfect physiques. Makes you feel like a leper yet at the same time inspires you to go to the gym.lol.

I cannot wait for season 3 next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The eye for detail is fantastic! Travis Fimmel as Ragnar Lothbrok is inspired, 30 Aug. 2014
By 
A. P. Owens (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Wow! The series seems so realistic. The eye for detail is fantastic! Travis Fimmel as Ragnar Lothbrok is inspired. I'd certainly want to be in his team. His looks of murderous intent / content are quite chilling.
The first series has real depth to the acting talent, from the male and female roles right through to the child actors and actresses.
Floki! Brilliant! Lagertha! Be MY shield maiden!
The Vikings' lack of fear in battle and death and their love of ‘the fight’ is highlighted in the scene where they return to the beach with their loot only to be confronted by a larger enemy force. They hardly break step, put down their goods and continue to the beach to sort out this inconvenience!

SHIELD WALL!!

Roll on series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, bloody and captivating!, 17 Mar. 2015
By 
Damon Doyle "damonde" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wont give too much away here but you HAVE to watch this show.

There has been little TV or Movies representing the life of the Vikings or those that lived In Scandinavian countries during this historical period. Very much in the vein of "Beowulf" and has a strong flavour of our oldest legend, Beowulf as you would expect.

The acting is superb and the story of Lothbrooks rise to power is captivating. Ragnar is brilliantly played by Travis Fimmel as is Agnartha.

Its realistic, bloody and captivating with superb photography. I would even go so far as to say its a "Game of Thrones" except set in Scandinavia and refers to, arguably, a historical figure.

Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes game of thrones seem like a fairy tale, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I shouldn't really have mentioned GoT's in this review as there is no comparison its just the last series that I watched. But really Vikings is a bit better, more grown up and real. I was swayed off watching this series as I read a review that said the episodes were boring and nothing happened well I've just finished watching series 1 and HELL loads of things happened! I'm glad I've started watching this and to be honest I'm only watching it because its free on Amazon prime but it is worth the money and very well acted and the insights into Viking ways of life are mesmerising. Watch this on your own or with your woman in front of a roaring fire with a dram of Whisky and the Viking world will draw you in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant a must see. for both series., 4 May 2014
after watching this as my husband had heard it was good. I am so glad we did.
everything about this series is amazing,
from the story, to the acting, the scenery and the fighting.
one that makes you need to watch them back to back as you need to know what is happening in the next episode straight away.
every actor was fantastic, made you really think about what it was like in those days and I think they have done justice to history.
I have not seen a great programme like this except game of thrones that had me completely engrossed the whole way through.
I have just finished watching series 2 and that is also gripping, fantastic, marvellous..... the list could go on.
a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] by Travis Fimmel (DVD - 2014)
£18.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews