Customer Reviews


344 Reviews
5 star:
 (260)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An every day tale of Dark Age gangland violence
Given that this is set in the Dark Ages, you'd expect a lot of general gloomy weather and grime and The Vikings is no exception. Like most self-respecting residents of the Dark Ages, these Vikings are to a man (and woman) utterly encrusted in dirt and filth. Every single one of them looks as if he/she could do with a bath. Not that it would do any good as they take any...
Published 29 days ago by Mr. GM De La Bedoyere

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars You may want to cut your hair and get all pagan.....don't!
A good series overall but with a tad too much swagger about it. There are some great moments and I enjoyed the visual aesthetics very much, so much so in fact that I cropped the back of my hair off , left a tatty fringe, stopped shaving and strained myself doing push ups.

My wife has been upset with me ever since. The amorous scenes did little to enhance or add...
Published 9 days ago by Crunkey


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An every day tale of Dark Age gangland violence, 20 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. GM De La Bedoyere "Guy de la Bedoyere" (Grantham, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Given that this is set in the Dark Ages, you'd expect a lot of general gloomy weather and grime and The Vikings is no exception. Like most self-respecting residents of the Dark Ages, these Vikings are to a man (and woman) utterly encrusted in dirt and filth. Every single one of them looks as if he/she could do with a bath. Not that it would do any good as they take any opportunity to resolve situations with an all-out battle on muddy hillsides or sandy beaches which leaves them even dirtier than they started, and usually showered with blood spatters which they leave on for the rest of the day. The whole story is built round the rise to fame of Ragnar Lodbrok (Travis Fimmel) who seems to have eyes equipped with blue LEDs. Presented to us as a sort of noble savage with intellectual pretensions he is simply a violent gang leader whose great rival is the earl Haraldson. In this respect the show is difficult to distinguish from Sons of Anarchy and Game of Thrones, not least because Travis Fimmel bears more than a passing resemblance to Sons' Jax Teller, and his rivalry with Clay Morrow. In this case the Sons of Anarchy Lodge - sorry, Viking HQ - is a village on a fjord on which the Vikings set out on their Harley-Davidsons - sorry, boats, to steal from and kill their enemies, which are variously each other or the Saxon English who Ragnar has discovered a way to sail over the North Sea to attack. The English are of course completely useless at fighting the Vikings despite having taken the precaution of using time machines to travel into the future and equip themselves with Norman helmets and various other bits of medieval armour. One of the English travelled a little further to pick up a violin so that he could play it at a feast attended by the Vikings (I won't ruin it by saying why the Vikings are round at the English king's hall, but suffice to say like most meetings between motorcycle gangs - sorry, Dark Age peoples - it ends badly; pity he didn't go further and pick up a machine gun). The action is mostly set in fjords and dank looking woodland but judging by the row of the cicadas during some night scenes the Vikings seem to have made it to somewhere in the tropics. For those who watch Game of Thrones for the gratuitous smut, this series will be a disappointment. For those who like axe-style violence the series is a welcome change from the usual sword or gun wielding of other gangland dramas. The Vikings in this series are simply thugs whose entire existence is based round killing each other and anyone else, and also shaving the back of their heads. Oh yes, I should add that the women are as feisty and as violent as their husbands; well, some of them anyway. Utter, utter nonsense but so long as you view it as entertainment and are familiar with shows like Sons of Anarchy you'll feel at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When men were men, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
No more Kirk Douglas jolly Norsemen here, its down and dirty with these guys! At last an excellent portrayal of how Viking raiders should look and act according to historical accounts. Fabulous costumes, gripping storyline with heroes and villains, betrayal and mistrust, thrown into atmospheric sets with myths and legends throughout.
If you enjoy accurate history portrayed in historical film or TV with an exceptional script, then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Vikings more than horned hats, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is a well-casted masterclass in subtley and excellent writing mixed with historically correct outfits, locations and props and immense, visceral battles that are by no means the heart of the show but aren't absent either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping tale of the Viking age, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I thought that Vikings would have been mainly focused on endless invasions/battles against England, bloodthirsty raids and so on. Instead I was delighted to discover a gripping tale about the legendary Ragnar Lodbrok (who, by the way, reminded me so much of Jax Teller!) determined to pursue his vision: explore (well, attack) the west lands. Challenged by his local ruler, Earl Haraldson, a man with no initiative and quite content to continue raiding the usual east lands, Ragnar has to deal with a number of exciting events. We follow him as a warrior, as a leader, as a husband and father, as a brother and meanwhile discover traditions of the Viking age.
Like all historical drama, it might not be 100% accurate (Michael Hirst also wrote the Tudors, which was criticized in terms of historical accuracy), but the show well reflects the Norse legendary sagas and is definitely a high quality product. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant a must see. for both series., 4 May 2014
after watching this as my husband had heard it was good. I am so glad we did.
everything about this series is amazing,
from the story, to the acting, the scenery and the fighting.
one that makes you need to watch them back to back as you need to know what is happening in the next episode straight away.
every actor was fantastic, made you really think about what it was like in those days and I think they have done justice to history.
I have not seen a great programme like this except game of thrones that had me completely engrossed the whole way through.
I have just finished watching series 2 and that is also gripping, fantastic, marvellous..... the list could go on.
a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must own!!!!, 22 Dec 2013
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Vikings is the best show of it's genre and one of the most spectacular television series' on-air today.

The cast is astounding, every last one of them. No matter which scene I was watching the acting had me hooked to the point where I actually watched the series all in one go in one day.

The locations and sets are breathtakingly inspiring; I could almost smell the fire in the Jarl's hall, smell the salt air of the north sea and feel the weight of an axe in my hand.

Then there's the soundtrack. The opening title music is so emotive and I think captures so well the physical and psychological hardships and culture of the viking high period. Throughout the show the soundtrack serves to re-enforce the acting and scenery. Sometimes you don't even notice the soundtrack and sometimes it's full on in your face; the soundtrack does exactly what all the great one's should do.

The x-factor on this show for me is the costumes. Thank goodness the 1950/60's ideas of hollywood viking costumes are dead and burried. The costumes appear to be very realistic. Some are simple, like the ordinary, everyday attire. Then there are finer costumes for festivities which look so convincingly authentic, and the battle gear looks awesome.

This is an absolute must own for anyone who enjoys a great story!

If you enjoyed the hobbit/lord of the rings or game of thrones then you'll love this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watched the first season in one day, 3 Sep 2014
I was contemplating if I should watch this programme or not. I like historical documentaries but I could not get into Game of Thrones, The Tudors or Rome, so I had no historical TV shows that interested me.

I waited until the end of season 2 of The Vikings . Then I watched it on Prime and within 20 minutes of watching the pilot, I knew this was a show I would enjoy. I watched the whole of season 1 in a few hours and I loved it. It is brutal, bloody, emotional, engaging and entertaining.

Travis Fimmel who plays Ragnar makes a handsome, ambitious and brutal viking. I love his wife lagertha, the shieldmaiden. She has become my favourite character. She is a strong beautiful woman and I love the chemistry between her and her husband (on screen of course). The fact that she is a female warrior makes her even more appealing to me.

I adore Floki, Ragnar's bestfriend who is a man with different talents including boat building. He is an odd but loveable character.

The sets, the environment, the boats, the attention to detail is all amazing.

I do agree with some fans on other sites who have discussed the fact that the show could be a little more sexy (like Tudors or Game of Thrones) and show a little more of the intimate scenes between characters, especially between Ragnar and lagertha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars waiting for season 2, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
really enjoyed this series.nicely done and not ott with action and violence.storyline carried this series off nicely with great locations and superb theme music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch, 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Can't recommend this enough. Good acting and throughly enjoyable. Just a shame it's such a late release date on DVD though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The eye for detail is fantastic! Travis Fimmel as Ragnar Lothbrok is inspired, 30 Aug 2014
By 
A. P. Owens (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Wow! The series seems so realistic. The eye for detail is fantastic! Travis Fimmel as Ragnar Lothbrok is inspired. I'd certainly want to be in his team. His looks of murderous intent / content are quite chilling.
The first series has real depth to the acting talent, from the male and female roles right through to the child actors and actresses.
Floki! Brilliant! Lagertha! Be MY shield maiden!
The Vikings' lack of fear in battle and death and their love of ‘the fight’ is highlighted in the scene where they return to the beach with their loot only to be confronted by a larger enemy force. They hardly break step, put down their goods and continue to the beach to sort out this inconvenience!

SHIELD WALL!!

Roll on series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
Vikings: Season 1 [DVD] [2013] by Travis Fimmel (DVD - 2014)
£16.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews