Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Gold From A Silver Fox, 12 Oct 2013
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: You Can't Make Old Friends (Audio CD)
Looking good Mr Rogers and bejaysus but you're still sounding good too!
Your music has been a good friend for a significant slice of my life; in
fact ever since you entreated Ruby not to take her heart to town in 1969!
'You Can't Make Old Friends' is a glorious gift given to us in the golden
Autumn of his career. A fine batch of songs, beautifully sung with a voice as
warm and rich as polished burr walnut at the bottom and with the rock-steady
power and certainty of an ox-drawn plow at the top. A instrument which both
deserves and demands continued respect (come to think of it his old friend
Glen Campbell is still doing a grand job too, railing against the passing of
the years and the tough stuff that life can throw at you. Do please listen to
his most recent album 'See You There' too and read RoB's definitive review!)

This is as fine a bunch of tunes as Mr Rogers has ever delivered. Kicking off
with the title track 'You Can't Make Old Friends', a delightful duet with
Dolly Parton (still warbling away impressively on all six cylinders!), it's
hard to imagine that things could possibly get better still but they do. This man
has always known how to tell a story in song and there are more than a few great
ones in this collection. Perhaps best among is them the tragically poignant
'You Had To Be There', whose bitter narrative of lost opportunity and a
life gone bad cuts like a knife. 'Dreams Of The San Joaquin', however, comes
a very close second with it's words of hardship and hope and sublime chorus.
'All I Need' steps up the tempo and chugs along nicely on a truly tasty
instrumental and rhythmic foundation and 'Don't Leave Me In The Night Time',
featuring Buckwheat Zydeco, rips up the rug for a right rollicking hoedown.

Listening to 'Look At You' as the light fades on a damp October afternoon one
must gives thanks that such a consummate artist is still honing his craft
in the listening world. This album may well be remembered as his very best.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kenny rodgers, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Make Old Friends (Audio CD)
Love the cd Kenny still has what makes his music great.
Recommend this if you like country music and kenny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Mr.A.A.Anabihla (London, Great Britain United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Make Old Friends (Audio CD)
Fabulous cd from the great man,Kenny Rogers,even in his old age.Love all the tracks.
Didn't expect less from him any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice tracks on this, 9 July 2014
By 
Mo (Essex U K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Make Old Friends (Audio CD)
His voice can still hit all the right notes. Nice tracks on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic heartfelt collection of songs, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Make Old Friends (Audio CD)
I bought this album recently and adore it.

The 3rd track 'You Had To Be There' is now near the top of my list of favourite Kenny Rogers songs - beautiful, sad, life-lessons all in a few short minutes.

I would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy listening, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Make Old Friends (Audio CD)
fantastic listening well worth buying. what a lovely gift for my partner on valentines day. great duo with dolly parton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best ever, 26 Feb 2014
This review is from: You Can't Make Old Friends (Audio CD)
this is a brilliant album , the one thing you can be sure of, kenny never lets you down, at his concerts he has a great connection with his audience, i just love him, and hope he continues to make many more albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Make Old Friends (Audio CD)
This is a great CD in true Kenny Rogers style. the title track is a real tear jerker and will strike a chord with many of his fans. the rest are an eclectic mix. well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Make Old Friends (Audio CD)
I bought this for a friend who loves it and was delighted with it getting sent right too him .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Can't Make Old Friends (Audio CD)
Kenny's first new album for ages and it has been worth the wait! Classic Kenny, at his best. I love all the songs, particularly the title track as it is great to hear him duet again with Dolly. It is such a great cd I just keep playing it. If you are a Kenny fan then you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Can't Make Old Friends
You Can't Make Old Friends by Kenny Rogers (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews