Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, I am with you now, 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: Mug Museum (Audio CD)
I have played Me Oh My, Cyrk and the Cyrk II EP a lot over the last year or so, and even though
all these releases are somewhat uneven, they hold a solid number of brilliant songs that I keep
playing; "Me Oh My", "Sad Sad Feet", "Shoeing The Bones", "Falcon Eyed", "Puts Me To Work", "Cyrk",
"What Is Worse", "The Eiggy Sea" and "That Moon".

The first two songs that was made available from "Mug Museum", the supersweet, flickering "Are You
With Me Now?" and the sad and elegant "I Think I Knew", raised my expectations for the album sky high,
and after listening to it for three days it's still these two songs that stand out the most.

The first half of the album is very good, and in addition to the aforementioned songs, you'll find a few
other great ones, the Stereolab-sounding groove of "I Can't Help You" and the slowburning "No God".
Much have been made about the high notes at the end of "Duke", and a few reviewers even suggested it
ruined an otherwise good song. Oh, did it really? I don't understand what the fuzz is about. A few high
notes at the end, and they go hiding in the grass? Very, very strange behavior.

With the exception of "Sisters", the album loose steam after "I think I knew". There are some nice or
strangely captivating moments on almost every songs, but not enough to hold the weaker songs togheter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clang Clang Clatter Bang, 3 Feb 2014
By 
George Gill "weeyellay" (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mug Museum (Audio CD)
This is great stuff - Ms Le Bon continues to grow and get better while somehow retaining that clatter bang noise. It’s probably been said before but there is a big nod to Nico in her voice shot through with her strong Welsh accent. However, the vocal melodies bring to mind none other than Syd Barrett so we are on strong 60's underground reference points already. Add to that echoes of Lou Reed's clanging VU rhythm guitar and stabs of John Cale electric organ to make that mix headier and headier. However, this is not a nostalgic trip down psychedelic way. Cate Le Bon's lyrics go nowhere near Reeds dirty NYC streets, Nico's devastation or Syd's sad whimsy. Her lyrics seem to deal with being a woman in the now; they are strong, independent, clever and funny. And in every way, work alongside the music. So, if you are paused over the 'buy' button, press it!! You won’t be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you have to love that Welsh accent coming out in some of the ..., 2 July 2014
This review is from: Mug Museum (Audio CD)
Totally hooked by this album. It is refreshingly out of the ordinary and filled with very catchy tunes and interesting musical twists. Cate has a very distinctive chiming guitar style and although she is not possessed of a big voice it is very tuneful and has a soft delicacy which makes for a very endearing sound. Also, you have to love that Welsh accent coming out in some of the lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mug Museum, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mug Museum (Audio CD)
I've listened to this album six times and it gets a little better each time. Don't expect pop music, this is a little strange with odd timing and discordant notes. I like it a lot, her voice is different and interesting and she doesn't use 'autotune', good for her. Reminds me a little of Captain Beefheart and Melt Banana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty cool., 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mug Museum (MP3 Download)
Cat Le Bon reminds me a little of Marianne Faithfull in some of these tracks. By far the catchiest is 'Are You With Me Now?'. None of the other tracks were quite as outstanding after that. But I enjoyed listening to the album overall, for that 60s feel and the super vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mug Museum (MP3 Download)
this is beautiful, mysterious, quirky and powerful music. i've become a massive cate fan after buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not always an easy ride, but one of a kind, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mug Museum (Audio CD)
bonkers. not always an easy ride, but one of a kind, work at it and it's infectious. Da iawn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mug Museum (Audio CD)
This CD is truly wonderful. Buy it and see her live too.
She is just great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music, 24 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. E. Keefe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mug Museum (Audio CD)
Good album, arrived on time. No problems at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great guitar, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mug Museum (Audio CD)
Really quirky talent , great guitar sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mug Museum
Mug Museum by Cate Le Bon (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews