Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This monitor runs at 60hz/60fps. Gamers read this review.
The cheapest 1080p monitor you can rely on. Asus is a trusted company which moved me to buy this monitor as i needed one. Yes this has no hdmi or remote or speakers or any of the ordinary tv inputs but that's to be expected as it's a 'monitor' and monitors are made specifically for 'computers'. It wasn't stated in the description of the product but this monitor is capable...
Published 1 month ago by Razak

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars poor image quality
good points: it worked straight away when I connected it, and was very easy to put together
bad points: the image is fairly poor. The colours are all very washed out - I put the screen side by side a (4ish year old) samsung monitor of exactly the same size and resolution, displaying the same image and the difference was huge, and I played with the settings but...
Published 24 days ago by Medical Student


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This monitor runs at 60hz/60fps. Gamers read this review., 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VS228DE 21.5 inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED Monitor (1920x1080, 5ms, VGA) (Accessory)
The cheapest 1080p monitor you can rely on. Asus is a trusted company which moved me to buy this monitor as i needed one. Yes this has no hdmi or remote or speakers or any of the ordinary tv inputs but that's to be expected as it's a 'monitor' and monitors are made specifically for 'computers'. It wasn't stated in the description of the product but this monitor is capable of 60fps. Why would i give this only four stars? it sounds like a great product right? Mehh... The angles are terrribllee. Like on some phones, the display looks terrible when you turn it to a certain angle. This is the same case with the monitor. I spent hours trying to place the monitor in the perfect position so that the darken radius (or whatever it is called) would vanish. It was pretty much impossible for me. If the top part of the screen looks fine then the bottom part looks pretty bad and if the bottom part looks fine then the top looks bad which is a huge minus for me. I spent part of those hours also adjusting the color of the monitor through both nvidia's control panel and the monitor's native color control and even using smart view doesn't help. Smart view was added to this monitor because asus knows themselves that the angles on this monitor are terrible and smart view is supposed to fix that problem for when you're watching a film from a distance whilst lying down and looking up at the monitor or anything similar but even smart view doesn't do the job. It just makes everything looks yellowish for the most part and one side always looks super bright. So one thing i've learned is never to get a tv/monitor with smart view, because that only means the angles are terrible. I eventually got the hang of this monitor though. It feels crappy at first but decent after a while but i still see myself panning my head up and down at times because of the angles. This angle problem really is only a problem when you have dark colors on the screen but when you have brighter colors then it's not much of a problem but you still notice the washed out colors a little.

On to the gaming side of it. I maxed the sharpness and it makes games like AC 4 looks phenomenal at 1080p but when you bring a game down to 900p it looks decent but it's not as sharp as it could be and it doesn't upscale the resolution to 1080p very well. 900p still remains a reasonable resolution to play games on this monitor. Anything under that looks very blurry and from my experience with other monitors, other monitors don't blur low resolutions by this much. If you're playing games at a minimum of 900p then this monitor is fine. 720p is reasonable if you stay a bit far from the monitor. I also checked the maximum refresh rate and it is 60fps but i thought it was 75fps before this monitor was delivered but 60fps is still the ideal gaming refresh rate which is fine. The filter options aren't anything special so don't hope to fix your problems when you set the filter to 'gaming'. Also when your commputer screen turns off, the monitor itself goes to standby mode and one simple touch of your mouse and the screen automatically comes on again which is quite neat but i always keep my monitor off anyway when i'm not using it just to save on electric.

In conclusion, it's hard to recommend this monitor. If you just want 1080p and don't mind having to deal with issues to make the viewing experience perfect, then get this. I know i would get a cheap 4k monitor even if it meant having to deal with issues to get the viewing experience right. This in the end, is a great monitor. Ideal for a budget 1080p60fps experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ] Good clean clear picture quality with some nifty pre set ..., 9 July 2014
This review is from: Asus VS228DE 21.5 inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED Monitor (1920x1080, 5ms, VGA) (Accessory)
Not used to ordering new monitors I took a punt on this sizable screen for minimal price and have had no issues or problems of any note. [ The base comes seperate and you need to aline and twist to secure, no biggy once you see how it's done. ]

Good clean clear picture quality with some nifty pre set screen balances, TV, gaming. Screen does have a limited veiw angle as I like to play my games whilst lounging I have had to prop it up a bit to get a better picture. I think it's around 30 degrees above or below, though you can adjust it is note to that greater degree.

Also included was a wall mount, and I had no uissue with power as all was supplied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good screen definition, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: Asus VS228DE 21.5 inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED Monitor (1920x1080, 5ms, VGA) (Accessory)
incredible how light in weight the unit is. i'm old school having just changed to this screen from an old, but mega quality,tube type monitor. the definition is good for video making and viewing editing with photoshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gaming Build + Other graphic demands, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VS228DE 21.5 inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED Monitor (1920x1080, 5ms, VGA) (Accessory)
I bought this for my on going-gaming build set up, originally I was going to buy 2 of these but with mixed reviews I bought only 1 just to try it out. And seeing as it only uses a VGA cable I was gutted when I opened the box and realized, fault on my part for not fully researching the monitor. I hooked it all up, optimized a few games to higher settings to push the graphics a little more, result; it was like crystal, the display was perfect, I played games, did a bit of editing and watched a 1080p film, It's amazing, don't slate VGA until you've tried it.

Can't knock it at all this quality I expect from a £150+ buy, it's great!!!

- Jack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Screen, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VS228DE 21.5 inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED Monitor (1920x1080, 5ms, VGA) (Accessory)
Great little monitor, very clear and quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars poor image quality, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VS228DE 21.5 inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED Monitor (1920x1080, 5ms, VGA) (Accessory)
good points: it worked straight away when I connected it, and was very easy to put together
bad points: the image is fairly poor. The colours are all very washed out - I put the screen side by side a (4ish year old) samsung monitor of exactly the same size and resolution, displaying the same image and the difference was huge, and I played with the settings but couldnt get it much better. Secondly It's actually quite hard to read text on it. I'm not quite sure why, but again by comparison to the samsung monitor I found I had to strain my eyes quite a lot more to read text on e.g. MS Word, guardian.com etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VS228DE 21.5 inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED Monitor (1920x1080, 5ms, VGA) (Accessory)
Upgraded from a 19 samsung syncmaster..This moniter is in a different league.Seems twice as big.Much better colour and text.FULL TILT on a very sturdy stand.Easy to assemble just twist base on,, plug in vga...done..Took like 3 mins..Soon as pc recognizes it you will have lots of resolutions to choose from.Looks amazing in 1080p.
Lovely menu system with buttons under screen.. No annoying software to use like on my syncmaster.
Screen seems huge wouldn't want any bigger. Use for gaming and browsing.Cant seem to find a fault and normally I do with everything i buy....For &80 you cant go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Picture is great and if i turn it to the max resolution ..., 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: Asus VS228DE 21.5 inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED Monitor (1920x1080, 5ms, VGA) (Accessory)
After ordering this product to act as a second monitor i was a bit anxious about it, however, i am actually quite proud with how it's performed and how it configured with my PC perferctly so i didnt have to mess with anything when i first plugged it in. Picture is great and if i turn it to the max resolution it is incrediably bright however it still looks great! Great product, will definately recommend this to most people that either need a new monitor or just a 2nd or 3rd monitor to use for there PC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VS228DE 21.5 inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED Monitor (1920x1080, 5ms, VGA) (Accessory)
A++++ no faults perfect 1080 picture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus VS228DE 21.5 inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED Monitor (1920x1080, 5ms, VGA) (Accessory)
I would recommend this monitor to any one who is looking to replace their monitor (screen) with this one you cannot go wrong.
it's one of the better purchases i have made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews