Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good opening book
A good start to what may become a long running space opera. Book one is a little bit heavy on technical explanations about message drones, their use and limitations but little about the rest of this new universe's technology and social make up. Those readers who are into the military detail of the story will also be disapointed as there are some strange gaps in what you...
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You're being reassigned. but we won't tell you where
I can't put my finger on it but this is not a good read. The conversations seem stilted and forced, they don't flow naturally. The storey is OK but padded out with multiple explainations for the same action, it's as if the author doesn't give the reader credit to understand what is going on and needs the plot point or technical detail or strategy etc... to be repeated (or...
Published 4 months ago by G. Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You're being reassigned. but we won't tell you where, 1 Dec 2013
By 
G. Campbell (Sutton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Synchronicity War Part 1 (Kindle Edition)
I can't put my finger on it but this is not a good read. The conversations seem stilted and forced, they don't flow naturally. The storey is OK but padded out with multiple explainations for the same action, it's as if the author doesn't give the reader credit to understand what is going on and needs the plot point or technical detail or strategy etc... to be repeated (or padded out) again and again and again. If the main character explains his reasoning, you don't need his commanding officer to explain it and then his XO to explain it. nor do we need to be told the various advantages or limits to assorted new weapons every few chapters. Also the military dialogue seems rather lacking in understanding, eg: for an officer to receive new orders and re-assignment to an unfamiliar (secret) posting would surely be accompanied with detailed instructions on how to get there. not for the character to say I don't know here that is but I'm sure I can find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good opening book, 18 Sep 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (west yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Synchronicity War Part 1 (Kindle Edition)
A good start to what may become a long running space opera. Book one is a little bit heavy on technical explanations about message drones, their use and limitations but little about the rest of this new universe's technology and social make up. Those readers who are into the military detail of the story will also be disapointed as there are some strange gaps in what you would expect in any combat situation, like retrieving alien technology after a battle, here there is only one short reference to it, and it is all explained away as similar to their own so its not persued also in this genre weponry, its function and use is explained,where here is all very sketchy. Their is also no alien perspective , from their side, they are not mentioned at all, just invaders like the barbarian hoards. Book one is basically a shoot em up and introduction to some promising ideas of how this war is going to develop.
Hopefully in book two the characters can be fleshed out and developed as at the moment there is very little known about the them or the supporting casts backgrounds, and nearly every one that interacts with him during his service just disapears or is killed off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Started Well, 17 Jan 2014
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Synchronicity War Part 1 (Kindle Edition)
The best bit of this whole book was the opening chapter when the first alien ships attacked our erstwhile hero. It reminded me very much of old school WW2 submarine warfare where the opponents used stealth and tactics to win. Well thought out and taut.

I really thought I was onto a winner here.

Unfortunately the book rapidly tailed off after a promising opening into a wandering mess. Not all bad as the space warfare was competently written, albeit without any real excitement or suspense being generated. Characterisation all the way through is one dimensional and I really couldn't care less what happened to the various protagonists. Interaction and conversations are generally stilted and lack reality.

Then there is the pseudo religious gobbledygook that is hidden away into this. The author states (in the voice of the main lead character) that he is not particularly religious - then goes onto immediately talk about believing in a 'higher being.' This combined with the visions - which I'll not say too much about in case you want to buy this - all lends itself to being not quite right.

The main thing that lost my interest is that Wehr introduced AI piloted fighters early on who are so clearly better than a human at everything it removes any need to have people in this book at all. And because you spot that almost immediately you lose interest in the humans instantly because they have no real point. They can't fly as well, can't navigate as well or even plot or strategise as well.

My gut feeling is that Wehr is trying to do an Asimov with his 'Robots' here, with the eventual outcome some books down the line of the AI 'people' ending up becoming benign human guides and protectors. Unfortunately Wehr does not have Asimov's panache, technical ability or writing skills to back it up.

Then there are the aliens. Or not. They are not developed at all beyond the opening chapter of simply aggressive space ships. No information, no build up of anything. Simple one sided baddies in the same way a cheap 'B' movie from the 30's might punt out.

When the book is finished, Wehr adds some words about his book including a whinge about people giving low star ratings. Reality is that star ratings when taken as a whole seem to be remarkably accurate. Yes, there will always be extreme ends but the average is surprisingly close to the truth. Hamilton gets average four to five star ratings and he deserves them because he is a great writer of sci-fi. Same for Currie. Wehr does not deserve four or five stars because he is not at their standard and I don't want to be preached at regarding this at the end of a book. I appreciate that other reviewers feel differently, however I suspect that readers of more established authors in this field my feel the same as I.

Overall what we have here a a fairly average, space opera that has some highlights but is generally okay at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a shaky start, 17 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Synchronicity War Part 1 (Kindle Edition)
I bought this download on the basis of a series of 5 star ratings which I can only assume came from some of the authors mates. I found that It did not quite deliver that promise. It is by no means a badly written gook but there is in my opinion to much room for improvement to justify the highest rating. The storyline based on aggressive first contact by an alien species is interesting and has great scope for development. I found the characters very poorly defined and indeed the details of the universe which they inhabit almost non existent. At the end of this chapter in the story we know little of the extent of Earth's space empire and nothing about the character, motivation or background of the main player Commander Shiloh. The first 30% of the book is very repetitious and I almost gave up. I am glad that I didn't because the style of writing improves as the story develops. Buy the book by all means I think that the author will get to grips with his writing style and story telling ability but as I said there is a way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Synchronicity War Part 1 (Kindle Edition)
Great introduction to the series. can't wait to read the next book. Love the iceman hope to read more about him and the other AI's soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The synchronicity war., 15 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Synchronicity War Part 1 (Kindle Edition)
An all action novel that starts fast and carries on to the end leaving a cliff hanger that demands part 2. Some of the twists in the plot are a little trite but they don't distract from the pace. I thoroughly it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Synchronicity War Part 1 (Kindle Edition)
I found this a nice read. Dietmar introduced a couple of new elements to the book that I found compelling. I'm moving to part two as soon as I finish this small review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great first book in a thrilling space opera, 13 April 2014
By 
Paul Evans "Arioch" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Synchronicity War Part 1 (Kindle Edition)
Read 1st free book and could not wait to get my hands on the next regardless of how much it would be. Very good first of series and would recommend to any fans of space opera. Lots of techie facts and figures to give a well thought out spacial environment. Only the naming convention used for ships could have been a little more interesting, using just numbers broke the flow and made visualisation ungainly. Even so, a very good read and a real page turner. Keep em coming Dietmar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Synchronicity War Part 1 (Kindle Edition)
Great new story which has new twists and turns which keeps you wanting to turn the next page, it's a familiar storyline about alien invaders but the author puts enough of a new spin on it to keep you hooked, I have bought the next book already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Precise Writing, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Synchronicity War Part 1 (Kindle Edition)
Detailed & precise procedure descriptions & good suspense in story line. Good Sc Fi story. Able to keep readers attention. has god imagination as to future possibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac47d510)

This product

The Synchronicity War Part 1
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews