Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly enjoyable
I've not heard Carla Bruni before but tried this out of curiosity, half expecting to hate it. I didn't. It's not a classic by any means but it's a decent enough listen with some atmospheric moments.

The thing is, I've been a bit of a sucker for a slightly husky female French voice singing over an acoustic guitar ever since falling hopelessly in love with...
Published on 22 April 2013 by Sid Nuncius

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THE DELUX EDITION
I love the CD but was very disappointed in this so called Delux edition where you receive a Blueray DVD and an ordinary DVD along with the audio CD. The Blueray and the DVD I thought would have shown a short clip of Carla singing or playing her music but infact its just the music again and a blue screen....very misleading and unnecessary....DO NO BUY THIS buy the ordinary...
Published on 16 April 2013 by LORAINE


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly enjoyable, 22 April 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little French Songs (Audio CD)
I've not heard Carla Bruni before but tried this out of curiosity, half expecting to hate it. I didn't. It's not a classic by any means but it's a decent enough listen with some atmospheric moments.

The thing is, I've been a bit of a sucker for a slightly husky female French voice singing over an acoustic guitar ever since falling hopelessly in love with Françoise Hardy as a young teenager in the 60s. Now, as a singer Bruni is no Françoise Hardy, and as a songwriter she's certainly no Jaques Brel but the effect of these well-named Little French Songs is enjoyable and rather evocative. The whole album to me conjures up black-and-white shots of a solitary young woman in a Biba-style mac looking sadly introspective at a pavement café table or walking away from the camera down a deserted and preferably leaf-strewn Paris street. You get the idea - and really only have to look at the cover to see what Bruni is aiming at here.

Bruni's voice isn't a great one but she uses it very well, sticking largely to its stronger lower register and some half-spoken asides which are effective and intimately atmospheric. I found the individual songs pretty forgettable (even Le Pingouin, the -shock! - attack on her husband's political opponent) and I'm not sure how often I will take this album out and play it in the future, but it's a lot better than I'd expected and would make enjoyable, relaxing background music if nothing else. Four stars is perhaps a little generous, but only three seems churlish - 3.5 really, rounded up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The new Carla Bruni, the old Francoise Hardy, 13 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little French Songs (Audio CD)
This is an enjoyable collection of intelligently lyrical songs sung in a slight, breathless fashion that instantly recalls the gamin approach of Francoise Hardy....and is none the worse for that. A very enjoyable little cd which may well disappear totally from sight in a year or two unless Mme Bruni does something interestingly outrageous to revive her career and her place in the spotlight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonjour!, 4 April 2013
By 
the lambanana "the lambanana" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little French Songs (Audio CD)
The forth album by the beautiful Carla Bruni.
Lovely songs with poetic lyrics.

1. J'Arrive A Toi (I come to you)
Wouldn't be out of place on her previous album. (which I adored) Quelqu'un M'a Dit

2. Chez Keith Et Anita
Keith and Anita's home. I think Carla is a unique talent. This will have you tapping along from the first listen.

3. Prière
The prayer. Carla's prayer about the world's harshness.

4. Mon Raymond
A Short, sweet song about her husband Nicolas.

5. Dolce Francia
Italian. Sounds a little like an Italian lullaby.

6. Pas Une Dame
Not a lady. Her time as the "president's wife" and her dislike of imposed rules. Lively, cheeky and funny.

7. Darling
Really sweet and beautiful.

8. La Valse Posthume
The last waltz. A song of Chopin's life. My least favourite song on the album.

9. Little French Song
The title of the album. Sexy, engaging and a mixture of French and English. Frenchlish?

10. Liberté
Liberty, one of the cornerstones of French-ness

11. Le Pingouin
Aimed squarely at her husband's successor-François Hollande. She doesn't like him. I like the song though.

There are two 'bonus tracks' La blonde exquise and Lune. (moon)
Lune is probably my favourite track from the album.

If you liked her prior French album then this builds upon it's success. It's engaging whilst whispy. Sounds throwaway whilst thought provoking.
The album as a whole doesn't have a dud track. This is a future Classic Album.

Really really nice album.
RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars little french songs, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little French Songs (Audio CD)
I loved this album and would recommend it to fans of this type of genre. Hope there is another album to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THE DELUX EDITION, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little French Songs (Audio CD)
I love the CD but was very disappointed in this so called Delux edition where you receive a Blueray DVD and an ordinary DVD along with the audio CD. The Blueray and the DVD I thought would have shown a short clip of Carla singing or playing her music but infact its just the music again and a blue screen....very misleading and unnecessary....DO NO BUY THIS buy the ordinary cd and save yourself about £10.00.....Should be made clearer on the discription given....:-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same old Bruni, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little French Songs (Audio CD)
I love Carla Bruni's throaty voice and simple melodies. But after listening a few times you realise that there is very little to substance to the music and thus put it away and forget about it for six months, then start again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little French Songs, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little French Songs (Audio CD)
EVERY SINGLE song of this album is a little masterpiece! Listen them even 100 times is not enough... LOVE IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Carla, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little French Songs (Audio CD)
I love the understatedness of Carla's songs. Beautifully crafted & delivered. Need to see more from her back catalogue please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great soulful music, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little French Songs (Audio CD)
I like Carla's music and this is the second CD I have bought and would recommend this one for driving time or just for chilling out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars French songs from the wife of the ex-Pesident of France, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. P. A. Gomes "Musical Goan" (London & Goa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little French Songs (Audio CD)
Sex voice from French and other langauge songs from the wife of the ex-President of France. Good singer with some recognisable songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little French Songs [Blu-Ray]
Little French Songs [Blu-Ray] by Carla Bruni (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews