Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: Kilimanjaro - Tips for the Top (Kindle Edition)
Very entertaining and informative. Plenty of detail without being boring. It gave a good insight into the experience and would be a useful guide for anyone as crazy enough as Sarah who wanted to climb Kili.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An honest review of a great challenge, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro - Tips for the Top (Kindle Edition)
An easy read that gives a great insight to what is needed mentally as well as physically to get to the top of Kilimanjaro. It highlights the difficulties and gives practical advice on how to overcome them as well as encouragement if you can't! The addition of cheeky photos completes it-great memoir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kilimanjaro - Tips for the Top, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro - Tips for the Top (Kindle Edition)
I thought it was excellent and it seemed to cover everything for going on this wonderful trip. In fact you felt as though you were with her all the way. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quick, easy to read and gave a couple of handy tips., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro - Tips for the Top (Kindle Edition)
Nothing profound here but if you are going up the Rongai route and especially with exodus then a perfect half an hour read to get you in the right zone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful read., 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro - Tips for the Top (Kindle Edition)
I really liked the writing style. Very informal, easy to read.

Some great photos in the book.

A useful packing list and some basic Swahili. Both are really useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read! We'll worth the money., 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro - Tips for the Top (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book. I could relate to the author and was really inspired by what she wrote. I could imagine myself climbing Kili and reaching the top. If you are thinking of climbing Kilimanjaro. I would recommend you get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic little read, 1 Jun 2014
By 
LadyAB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro - Tips for the Top (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed reading about her journey up the Rongai route! Great to read if your thinking about climbing Kilimanjaro.

Gives useful tips and a good packing list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having trekked some mountains myself this book gave me a real good insight into what to expect for my next challenge, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro - Tips for the Top (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly enjoyable read. Having trekked some mountains myself this book gave me a real good insight into what to expect for my next challenge, I could imagine myself climbing Kili and reaching the top. If you are thinking of climbing Kilimanjaro. I would recommend you get this book. A very inspiring writer and adventurer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tips but also a really good read, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kilimanjaro - Tips for the Top (Kindle Edition)
I am really pleased I found this little gem of a book. I am a little older than the author and wanted to try an expedition but felt too old. This book really turned that idea on its head and inspired me to give the same journey a try. The book cannot only be read as a journal of an expedition with great hints and tips it is also a fantastic read in it's own right. the writer is really likeable and her prose is good, she really makes you feel a part of the adventure and you are carried along with her enthusiasm. When we set out next year this book will certainly be in my backpack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and fun!, 21 Jun 2014
This review is from: Kilimanjaro - Tips for the Top (Kindle Edition)
‘Kilimanjaro: Tips for the Top’ is an inspirational account of one writer’s quest to push herself to the limit and get the most out of life. Filled with fun facts about one of the highest peaks in the world, this book is a must-read for anyone wishing to partake on an incredible storybook-esque adventure.

What I liked most about this book was the prose. The writing was excellent: Sarah Williams employs a beautiful, conversational tone that ensures the readers are rooting for her every step of the climb. This book managed to be both entertaining and jam-packed with information. The various details about what to pack and English to Swahili translations added to the in-depth nature of this magical account. I was also enamoured by the sense of adventure that came with reading this book. Climbing a mountain in the dry heat of a far-away land is like something out of a fairytale; Williams fills her story with photographs and cultural details to bring her incredible journey to life.

I would recommend ‘Tips for the Top’ to anyone wishing to embark on the trek up to the summit of Mount Kilimanjaro. This book certainly doesn’t skimp on the details; providing a day by day account of the journey so that anyone willing to do the same trip will feel completely and utterly prepared. But I would also recommend it to anyone who wants to be inspired by the sheer strength of will of the author. This is truly a story of perseverance and strength of character. Climbing Mount Kilimanjaro is no small feat – and the book acts as a tribute to this accomplishment. Strewn amongst the helpful tips and factual information is a story that will inspire even the laziest of couch-potatoes to get up off the sofa and make something of their lives.

‘Tips for the Top’ is a truly inspirational tale about the importance of setting goals and overcoming personal challenges. It is a thoroughly entertaining read that also serves to inform and encourage. Tip of the hat to Sarah Williams!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kilimanjaro - Tips for the Top
2.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews