Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars140
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

James Corden and Matthew Baynton instantly spark as a pair of losers in a small town in Berkshire, who are unwittingly (as the title suggests) caught up in the machinations of greedy councilors, Russian mobsters, and bent coppers. This series oozes British comedy from every pore, with the juxtaposition of the hapless duo and their mundane lives set against the wider world and the apparently glamourous world of hitmen, secret service agents, and gangsters’ molls. From the moment Baynton’s lovelorn town planner Sam witnesses what appears to be a spectacular car accident and is subsequently mistaken for someone else, things never let up, and when Corden’s oafish fantasist – office mail boy Phil, gets himself involved due to Sam’s innate ‘niceness’, a new classic comedy pairing is born. Quality support is provided by Dawn French as Phil’s overbearing mum, and Dougray Scott as an undercover officer sent to help the boys – David Calder, Emilia Fox, and Benedict Wong also appear in what is an excellent cast.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This has been the viewing event of the week for the last couple of months, the partnership of the deadpan Baynton and the frenetic Corden being a very happy one. Some great one-liners and the physical comedy is accentuated by the differing statures of the hapless pair. There's enough light and dark to this show to appeal to a wide audience.

Little references to great films and television shows are there to be spotted - I'm hoping that someone will list them all so that I can see how many I got. A good story and a satisfying ending with enough left open for the possibility of a second series.

Loved it.

Regarding the DVD release, there are disappointingly few extras. An audio commentary and a short "behind the scenes" feature reusing some promotional material. That's it. There was so much else that could have been included - for example Noel's video diaries. And I think outtakes should be a mandatory part of any DVD release.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
Funny, crazy and unpredictable action-comedy miniseries. As usual for the Brits, it wonderfully mixes great writing, realism and a great sense of entertainment. Some memorable lines like the one about Jurassic Park
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 November 2013
Our reluctant heroes are forced into thriller type situations which they somehow manage to get through. They're not your typical leading men, not by a long shot but their heart and guile is sufficient to keep you rooting for them. The tale involves spies, corruption, the triads and a particularly tricky project for the council planning department. The production values are top notch, the clever script never stops and also manages to turn these two bunglers into actual heroes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
brilliant....great original story. the acting is great and the pace never lets up. The 2 main characters are so believable that you really find yourself caring what happens to them.....some great gags and very funny set pieces
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
Brilliant clever script, Corden triumphs again: excellent character-study of people who work for the Local authority, plot gets more and more ridiculous, but absolutely addictive.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Have been watching BBC2's latest comedy serving and as one reviewer has said already said "one of the greatest English comedy's ever made". Although this may be hamming this up ever so slightly, it certainly is a comedy made with direction and chemistry and will keep you on your toes from the outset.

James Cordon and Matthew Baynton really are a duo to watch and one for which the future holds a glittering prize. I've watched the penultimate episode and am now eagerly awaiting the finale, I was always told never to wish my life away, but Tuesday can't come to soon.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
I wasn't exactly sure what to expect from this comedy, but within minutes I knew this would be an exceptionally brilliant programme and I was right. The very special thing about this programme is that the serious plot lines could make up series on it's own and be half decent (the same for the comedy elements), but both combined created something so brilliant I hope they make an even better second series (if they decide to). I won't go into detail about the plot as I'm sure somebody else will do that, but I highly reccommend that you buy this dvd.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
This is an original comedy thriller with twists and turns which will constantly keep you guessing what is coming next. You'll think the final episode is THE END, but it isn't! See Series 2 for that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I loved this series. Engrossing and refreshingly different to anything else on TV at the moment, it has the perfect balance of action and comedy, accompanied by a pulsating soundtrack.

With a distinguished cast including Dougray Scott, Rebecca Front and Emilia Fox, it is nonetheless the two leads who drive the show.

James Corden is his usual entertaining self, playing the childlike, lovable oaf Phil with gusto, whilst Mathew Baynton - as thoughtful, sensitive Sam - is undoubtedly the star of the show, thoroughly deserving of his nomination as Radio Times "Breakthrough Actor" of 2013. Already known and beloved to millions as one of the principal performers in the smash-hit children's comedy series "Horrible Histories" (check out his turns as King Charles II and Charles Darwin as examples), this doe-eyed, uber-talented 'beautiful boy' (as aptly described in Wrong Mans by a smitten Russian gangster), Mr Baynton demonstrates his vast range with some terrific dramatic, and genuinely moving, scenes. This is a man whom we need to see more of on TV, especially as his career is surely about to go stratospheric.

The only thing I didn't like about The Wrong Mans was the curious title (a nod to Hitchcock?), but then I'm a stickler for grammar! It has become less of a bugbear for me, though, because of my fondness for the series - so much so that I have now bought the DVD and eagerly await Series Two... (happily for us viewers the BBC and Hulu have had the good sense to recommission it).

More Mat Baynton (and James Corden) soon please!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)