Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Unique Comedy in Years!
I wasn't exactly sure what to expect from this comedy, but within minutes I knew this would be an exceptionally brilliant programme and I was right. The very special thing about this programme is that the serious plot lines could make up series on it's own and be half decent (the same for the comedy elements), but both combined created something so brilliant I hope they...
Published 8 months ago by obi won kenobi

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Started well, but went off the rails
The series started brilliantly, but soon became overly complex and contrived. Although it is enjoyable, the last couple of episodes dragged because they became more and more far fetched, and towards the end I found myself wanting to skip sections just to end it all! A great shame, as it was a fantastic start.
Published 1 month ago by H. Haynes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our daughter loved it, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Bluedragon (Cardiff, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Mans [DVD] (DVD)
Living abroad, she misses some of the better TV shows, so we gave her this one for Xmas. She loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wrong Mans was the Right present!, 2 Jan 2014
By 
blodwyn "welshgirl" (F.O.D. Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Mans [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed be all over Christmas/New year
Will be "borrowing sometime to see again!
Great comedy and storyline

Thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best things on TV this year!, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Jersey Customer (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Mans [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not a great fan of James Corden's style of comedy, but like many comics whose style of comedy passes me by, he's much more bearable when playing it closer to 'straight' (e.g. when he played Craig in Dr Who) and it's the same in 'The Wrong Mans'. We've loved Mat Baynton for ages (we're huge Horrible History fans) so even with my reservations about James Corden we were always going to watch this!

Corden and Baynton have written the series too, and right from the start, with the slightly 'off' title (which parodies Hitchcock's 'The Wrong Man') they are parodying and mocking the cliches of spy and action films in a very clever way. A good example is when they jump from a bridge into the coal truck of a passing train to escape 'the baddies' - whereas in 'normal' action films, the jump would be made with no apparent pain or injury to the jumper, in The Wrong Mans they show that it actually hurts! Corden and Baynton's characters lie there for ages, clearly in agony, unable to move, just as we'd all be doing in real life! The story is simple enough - think North by Northwest, when innocent people inadvertently get caught up in something almost by accident and then can't get out of it, and every time they try to sort it out they just get deeper in - and it's cleverly woven together with drama and comedy in equal measure.

There are some big names in this too, many of them again written as parodies of the kind of character you find in spy/action films, but unlike many of those films, you can really believe that this is taking place in our world, a normal working environment, involving people who live normal lives but who have got caught up in something completely mad on the side. If you loved The Wrong Mans on TV, or if you heard about it and want to know what all the fuss was about, you could do worse than spending 10 on the DVD (which includes extras) to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great 'laugh out loud' dvd!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Mans [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this dvd because I missed the last couple of episodes on the TV and it was only available on catch up tv for about a week. My only complaint being that the dvd was not streamlined and had all the breaks in between the episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word, brilliant!, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Mans [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my sister for her birthday but she won't be able to watch it much more when I "borrow" it back after watching all back to back twice already with her !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Mans [DVD] (DVD)
After watching this on Tv we thought it was so good that had to buy it as a present for others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son in Law Christmas Gift, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Mans [DVD] (DVD)
This was a gift for my son in law and he loved it.It was the gift that he had asked for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Mans [DVD] (DVD)
Great story line. Lots of twists & turns to keep you glued to screen. Great acting & lots of laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent entertainment, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Mans [DVD] (DVD)
Best British comedy drama in years.Typical wrong place wrong time scenario but beautifully executed by the two protagonists.Matthew Baynton is the perfect foil for James Corden,hopefully they will write an act together again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far-fetched, ridiculous, love it!, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wrong Mans [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this on BBC when it came out and the story was so far-fetched it was unbelievable.
Couple that with the incredibly ordinary world of the main protagonists and I was dropping my jaw and bursting out with laughter at regular intervals.

I dont even buy discs anymore, what with Netflix, LoveFilm and every OnDemand TV service out there - but I just had to get this.

You wont be disappointed, especially if you like any of Corden's previous work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wrong Mans [DVD]
The Wrong Mans [DVD] by James Corden (DVD - 2013)
6.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews