Customer Reviews


270 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks The Part,But Doesnt Sound It
With Christmas looming,you know there is going to be a new Top Gear DVD on offer,this time fronted by Jeremy and Richard,it serves up all the staples you would want and expect.A precession of exotic cars,Lamborghini,Ferrari,Bugatti,Pagani and Jaguar all get a look in,as,in typical loutish behaviour,the very gruesome twosome,set off on a road trip from Venice,across Italy...
Published 13 months ago by The Neon Weasel

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far from a 'Perfect Road Trip'...
Another Christmas, another exclusive Top Gear DVD to coincide with the Yuletide Season. After Apocalypse, At The Movies and The Worst Car in the History of the World, this year we have none other than Jeremy Clarkson and Richard Hammond hosting `The Perfect Road Trip'.

First, I must question the TITLE of this 2013 home video release. `The Perfect Road Trip?'...
Published 11 months ago by R. Wood


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far from a 'Perfect Road Trip'..., 29 Dec 2013
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Another Christmas, another exclusive Top Gear DVD to coincide with the Yuletide Season. After Apocalypse, At The Movies and The Worst Car in the History of the World, this year we have none other than Jeremy Clarkson and Richard Hammond hosting `The Perfect Road Trip'.

First, I must question the TITLE of this 2013 home video release. `The Perfect Road Trip?' We've ALREADY had that on Top Gear before! Everyone remember 2007's Great Adventure where the lads embarked on their unforgettable road trip across the US? Of course we do! It's unforgettable!

Anyway, the premise this time is that Jezza and Hamster are researching the best forms of transport for separate legs of their road trip from Venice, Italy to Pau, France. Immediately, the DVD scores points for its flashy showcase of cars, bikes & boats (old favourites the Bentley V8, Rolls Royce Phantom coupe and the almighty Bugatti Veyron return here), welcome appearances from the Stig, interactions between Jeremy & Richard, and the breathtaking photography/camerawork of all the stunning places they visit.

But sadly, the whole DVD is a letdown, especially after last year's BRILLIANT `The Worst Car in the History of the World'. The idea alone behind `The Perfect Road Trip' is somewhat lacking when compared to (say) `Apocalypse' and `At The Movies', and despite some mildly amusing banter/antics from Clarkson & Hammond here-and-there, too much of it feels forced. Like they're really struggling to entertain fans this time.

At eighty-five minutes, The Perfect Road Trip is also far too long for what it is. There's no special-features to speak of (on this DVD), and the absence of a third Top Gear presenter (this year it's James May, who's busy with Oz Clarke for the upcoming Toy Stories special) is a trend that continues to haunt these home-release exclusives. Until we have ALL THREE of the lads together presenting one of these Christmas-time DVDs, they'll never really be perfect (in my view).

Compared to regular Top Gear, `The Perfect Road Trip' feels like filler. Something to satiate fans until the show comes back for the next series. This year's DVD also feels inferior to previous exclusives (Apocalypse, At The Movies and The Worst Car in the History of the World) and that's disappointing. Other Top Gear fans may struggle to like this. Has some good moments, but nowhere near as much as there should be. For completists only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks The Part,But Doesnt Sound It, 19 Nov 2013
With Christmas looming,you know there is going to be a new Top Gear DVD on offer,this time fronted by Jeremy and Richard,it serves up all the staples you would want and expect.A precession of exotic cars,Lamborghini,Ferrari,Bugatti,Pagani and Jaguar all get a look in,as,in typical loutish behaviour,the very gruesome twosome,set off on a road trip from Venice,across Italy and into France.Along the way serving up some insane challenges,and deranged races,not to mention some truly stunning scenery.

However there is a problem,at least with the DVD (cant comment on the Blu Ray as I didnt buy that version)the sound quality isnt that good.Its got a hollow,echoy quality to it,from start to finish.I tried it on several players,I normally watch things with the aid of a sound bar,I even turned that off and went back to the TVs speakers,but it didnt improve the quality.It doesnt spoil your enjoyment of the programme,but its a bit much that it was passed for release with such an obvious defect.Perhaps there was a slightly faulty batch,and I just happened to buy one,I intend to return it and get a replacement.I will post the results in the comments section when I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth The Money!., 28 Mar 2014
By 
I found this very boring. I have to agree with the other reviewers who gave it one star. I have a number of other Top Gear DVD's but this is the first one I bought that has only two of the presenters in it. I only bought it as it said 'Never Seen on TV!'. I now know why. It's much better with the three presenters giving each other stick. This one didn't raise a giggle out of me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seems most of the people here who gave this more than 3 stars are not talking about the DVD content but speed of delivery etc, which is pretty useless.

So, a quick summary. If I'd paid more that the £7 this is up for, I'd be really disappointed. Love Top Gear but this has to easily been the dullest, most predicable piece of Christmas cash-in I've ever seen. Seen this once, and can't see me bothering to watch it again.

If you want one of these DVDs get last years which is more up to standard than this rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for the fella, he loved it, I'm happy it kept him quiet for an hour or so, quick delivery and good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My 9 year old son loves it !, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hello, if you're a Top Gear Fan then you'll love it. Excellent value for money and very entertaining as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good idea for gift, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband loves Top Gear and so this was a great idea for his birthday present. Great DVD, well recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must watch for any Top Gear fan! This DVD was absolutely hilarious! I would highly recommend it to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Usual T G frolics, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fun as usual but how much of this is down to self-indulgence ? Wish I`d thought of it first !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars always entertaining, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased as a present the quality very good but I missed James May on this caper the overall content very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gear - The Perfect Road Trip [Blu-ray]
Top Gear - The Perfect Road Trip [Blu-ray] by Jeremy Clarkson (Blu-ray - 2013)
£11.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews