Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bunk beds
Arrived very fast and easy to put together have two boys in them they can take their madness and are very strong and stable would reccomend seller and beds and great value for money
Published on 10 Feb. 2013 by bernie

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete Waste of Money !!
Where do I start???

The complete item is a total joke, the bottom bed frame was damaged when it arrived, the paint was peeling off on one of the bed ends and it looked like it had come out of a skip !!

The welding was the worst I've seen for a long time, there was a hole burnt through the frame with welding wire left to the side of the hole as well...
Published 20 months ago by D West


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete Waste of Money !!, 26 Nov. 2013
Where do I start???

The complete item is a total joke, the bottom bed frame was damaged when it arrived, the paint was peeling off on one of the bed ends and it looked like it had come out of a skip !!

The welding was the worst I've seen for a long time, there was a hole burnt through the frame with welding wire left to the side of the hole as well as 4 other places over the item, which is very sharp!! (remember this is a child's bunk bed)

Once the bed was assembled it got worse !!

The bed did not fit together at all, the tubes to join the top and bottom bunks were out of shape, the top rear full length safety rail did not fit at all, the holes for the rail were measured to be over half an inch out of alignment.

The front safety rail did not fit either, the threaded insert came out of the tube when trying to tighten the bolt due to the extremely bad weld snapping.

The ladder did not fit, the top hangers were not welded on at the same height, so that made it impossible to hang level, it turned out they were to high and did not meet the top bunk to be attached anyway.

When i contacted Monkey Beds, i was refused a complete item exchange, despite all the problems and sending numerous photos of all the faults with the item.

I was told they could only send out certain parts, they replaced the 4 tubes to join the top and bottom beds, these were out of shape too.

They replaced the 2 top safety rails, the rear rail did not fit at all, just like the first one, the front safety rail could not be fixed into position because there was weld in the threaded insert blocking any bolt from entering !!

They replaced the ladder for one which is exactly the same, made extremely badly, this too did not fit !!

I contacted Monkey Beds again with another list of faults to which i was told a complete item refund would still not be given and more parts would be sent out, when i declined more parts and asked for a refund i was told i could not have one.

I now have a pile of potentially scrap metal which cost me a lot of money as I've now had to go else where and buy another bed which i have had no problems with.

This item is rubbish, cheap, nasty and dangerous, Monkey Beds do not seem to care about their customers, they just want to take their money. Please buy else where !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bunk beds, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived very fast and easy to put together have two boys in them they can take their madness and are very strong and stable would reccomend seller and beds and great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Follow the instructions!!!, 29 Jan. 2012
By 
John Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Working alone, I took about 2.5 hours to assemble the bunk bed, working steadily and methodically following the instructions. First, arrange the pieces carefully so you use the correct ones in the correct place. Some of them look very similar, but because of holes for fittings, they are not. These are all lettered, and the letters relate to the parts indicated on the instructions. Similarly, identify the bolts carefully, as these are different sizes, with some very similar.
I made one mistake in fitting the bottom bed frame the wrong way round, but it wasn't too difficult to remove it and turn round.
Minor quibbles, hence the loss of a star: first, the manufacturer's packaging was pretty good but not 100%. One of the pre welded brackets for the top bed rail was bent, though it wasn't difficult to straighten. Also there were one or two dents and marks in the paint work, enough to take the shine off a new product, but not enough to make a big deal and send it back.
Second, the bolts supporting the ladder were a tad too long, and a couple of them, even when tightened fully, were still loose. I solved the problem by adding washers to make up the difference, but of course I shouldn't have had to.

Once assembled it felt very solid, and is probably fine free standing, but not wanting to take any chances with my grand children I decided to secure it to the wall. This I did with a couple of water pipe brackets around the top safety frame. It's added that extra bit of stability so when I (68 kilos) climb the ladder, there's no movement. And they're hidden by the mattress.

All in all, I'm very pleased with the product, and actually, the instructions must have been pretty good, because there was not a single a blue air moment during assembly, probably a first for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing not to like......, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bunk beds easy to put together & very good price. Packaged well & no bits missing, delivered in fairly good time. Happy with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is very good and have saved alot of space.its strong and sturdy.i would recomed these bunkbeds to anyone ., 16 Jan. 2013
a very good and strong and surdy bunkbed..i would recomed these to anyone that is thinking of buying or looking for bunkbeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good customer service., 24 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ideal for my two pre-teens and good quality. Very easy to put together. I did it on my own with no problem. The instructions are a bit basic but I managed. Do make sure you get the bed bases the right way around so the holes for the ladder line up though! A missing bolt meant I couldn't finish attaching the ladder properly but I e-mailed the company and they were prompt in sending the bolt to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cheap & nasty, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very cheap, the bars on the top bunk bend with the greatest of ease, my children cannot sleep in the top bunk as the bars are not safe.
on the picture it shows you a bar going through the centre on the bars to give it strength and support but they are not on the beds i received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bunkbeds, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corfu Lynton Metal Bunk Frame Single 3FT Size, 3 ft, 200 x 98 x 160 cm, 2-Piece, Silver (Kitchen & Home)
These bunkbeds are very sturdy and easy to put together, They needed two people to help put them together but well worth it. Had to buy a bed guard for the bottom bunk as my 4 year old grandaughter kept falling out of bed. apart from that bunkbeds are brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Product ever, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had the worst experience ever with this company, the beds are very badly made and we had to return parts, also, the ladder isn't in the same place as in the picture so had to position them in a different place as you can't change this. the new parts that were sent didn't fit either so tried to get another set of beds, to be told that they had sold out, and they would need the beds back for "inspection" before issuing a refund, although i had sent pictures of the faulty parts, it took 2 weeks for a refund and my children had to sleep on the floor. Their customer service is appauling and i'm surprised that Amazon sell their product. My advice? DO NOT BUY THESE BEDS!!!

I gave 1 star because it wouldn't let me put no stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unsafe !, 21 April 2014
By 
Beverley Marshman (Hounslow middlesex uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corfu Lynton Metal Bunk Frame Single 3FT Size, 3 ft, 200 x 98 x 160 cm, 2-Piece, Silver (Kitchen & Home)
I have been very disappointed with this bunk bed , it is very unsafe , the top rails never screwed on because they were faulty and customer service were useless !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews