Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WES CRAVEN'S 1991 FILM GETS A BLU-RAY RELEASE
THE PEOPLE UNDER THE STAIRS is more of a Comedy Thriller than a Horror there's only couple scenes of Blood and Gore
so most of the film is a Thriller with some comedic scenes in it mainly with Everett McGill that plays the brother in the film
acts like a clown most of the time whereis the sister played by Wendy robie is very Deranged and Psychotic sister...
Published 13 months ago by Ben30

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT HOME ALONE
A family in an inner city apartment building is at the mercy of evil landlords attempting to evict them so they can build an office building. They decide to turn the tables and rob their landlords who are supposed to be gold coin collectors. They enter the house, lead by a young Ving Rhames during the first Gulf War (on TV) through "the mother of all doors." Rhames...
Published 17 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WES CRAVEN'S 1991 FILM GETS A BLU-RAY RELEASE, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The People Under The Stairs [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
THE PEOPLE UNDER THE STAIRS is more of a Comedy Thriller than a Horror there's only couple scenes of Blood and Gore
so most of the film is a Thriller with some comedic scenes in it mainly with Everett McGill that plays the brother in the film
acts like a clown most of the time whereis the sister played by Wendy robie is very Deranged and Psychotic sister
the film is set in suburban L.A.
Wes craven's best film ever is A NIGHTMARE ON ELM ST
but this film PEOPLE UNDER THE STAIRS is somewhere on his list as one of his best
you either like it or you don't like it
if you want the plot go to wikipedia.com.

Arrowfilms has reissued this film on blu-ray with all new special features that have never been released until now
with this new blu-ray release you get an all new HD transfer done by universal pictures
picture and audio is pretty Good for a High Definition widescreen transfer better than the DVD release from years ago
there is also brand new special features as the DVD release had none
there's a new interview with Wes craven about the making of the film, he talks about the casting and the filming etc
a new interview with AJ Langer who plays the Young teen Girl in the film,
very interesting interview she talks about her casting and working with Wes craven etc
a new interview with Sean Whalen who plays Roach in the film
and also an interview with Jeffrey Reddick the creator of the Final Destination series
there's also a Audio commentary with Brandon adams who played the kid FOOL in the film
there's a new Collectors booklet about the film

this Blu-ray version of THE PEOPLE UNDER STAIRS is fantastic, better than the DVD release which has no extras at all
so if your a big fan of this film then buy the Blu-ray version definitely worth the money
i gave this blu-ray 5 stars cause of the new special features and the new HD transfer that looks and sounds excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, over-the-top horror, 25 July 2007
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I've always gotten a kick out of this movie. The story line is original (or at least it seems so to me). The gore is startling in a couple of scenes but isn't overpowering. The acting is outrageously over the top but also is endearing.

Thirteen-year-old Fool (Brandon Ames) finds himself in a large suburban house owned by the two slum lords who are about to evict his sick mother and others from a ghetto tenement. He's in the house because he agreed to help two burglars make a score on treasure they heard was hidden there. Unfortunately for Fool (and his two grown-up accomplices), the owners are a brother and sister who call each other Mommy and Daddy. The man (Everett McGill) is a homicidal maniac who goes in for head-to-toe, studded, black leather bondage suits and pump action, single barrel shotguns. His sister (Wendy Robie) is just as looney and just as murderous, a screaming dominatrix. They also have a large vicious dog you wouldn't want to hand feed...that is, unless you had a hand to feed it.

Fool finds hidden in the house a young girl, Alice, who he thinks is the pair's daughter. He also finds a number of boys, stolen when they were children and a few perhaps the product of Mommy and Daddy themselves. They've had their tongues cut off and ears chopped. Seems they were part of Mommy and Daddy's deep need for a perfect child...and when they didn't measure up, off with the tongues so they couldn't shout for help, and down they were put to the basement. They seem to have been fed by Daddy on the butchered parts of unfortunate salesmen and meter readers. It becomes a race for Fool to find a way out, rescue Alice and the people under the stairs, locate the treasure and see that Mommy and Daddy get what's coming to them. And after him is a relentless Daddy, with Mommy urging Daddy on.

What makes this movie work for me are three things. First, the set-up in which the hero is a kid, and the horror is what has happened to other kids. Second, Brandon Adams' performance as Fool. He does an excellent job playing a fast-thinking, brave, resourceful young boy. And last, there is the Grand Guignol performances of Everett McGill and Wendy Robie. They are so over the top, so demented and so murderous that I never know whether to laugh or sit stunned at their doings.

Once the premise is established and the characters are known, the movie does become one long set of narrow escapes through the house, and the house appears to have an infinite number of secret openings, narrow passages, sliding stair cases and slamming doors. Still, the movie works for me.

The DVD's picture is very good; so's the sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT HOME ALONE, 19 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A family in an inner city apartment building is at the mercy of evil landlords attempting to evict them so they can build an office building. They decide to turn the tables and rob their landlords who are supposed to be gold coin collectors. They enter the house, lead by a young Ving Rhames during the first Gulf War (on TV) through "the mother of all doors." Rhames remarks about all the locks on the cabinets, "This place is weird." Rhames and child actor Brandon Quintin Adams get trapped inside as the people under the stairs are only part of their worries as an attack dog roams the house and the owners return.

One of the things you may notice is that the make-up is not complete. The people under the stairs are pale because they don't see the sun. This was made possible with make-up which is missing from necks and chest. The area inside the walls and under the stairs was unbelievably huge. The numbers of the people who live under the stairs was too large to be possible. The idea these were all kids they had adopted is unfathomable. The skeleton prop hanging up was cliche and fake looking. There are numerous plot problems and film continuity issues, i.e. position of items and blood from scene to scene. This is not Wes Craven's finest film.

F-bomb, no sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The walls have ears!, 6 Jan 2006
People who have said this film is rubbish don't get the point of it. It's a classic 'ripping yarn' often bordering on the ridiculous, if you like 'An American Werewolf' or 'Evil Dead' type movies then you'll love it. If you are new to this genre then it's definately worth a watch. If you take yourself too seriously and look for meaning in everything then don't bother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 17 April 2006
By 
Ms. B. Williams "Beth" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've watched this film several times over the years and it is really one of the better of Wes Cravens films which can be especially of late pretty hit and miss. The premise of this film has been given before so I won't go over it again so I'll just give my opinion. This film is not really scary but I don't think being scary was it's main intention. There are some bits of the film that do make me laugh out loud and that is usually hard for me in a comedy let alone a horror film.

There are some slightly disturbing aspects of the film regarding child abuse that I thought may not have fitted in entirely well with the dark comedic aspects of it. One of my main problems with the film is the DVD didn't appear to be of that good in regard to picture quality but saying that it wasn't that bad that it detracted from the film itself. It just could have been better. Another problem is that the people who do actually live under the stairs didn't really look like real people. They were made to look like bad zombies. I don't really believe that the make up was needed to that extent. The film was very well cast and entertaining. Do not go into this film with the preconception that it's going to scare you because you're only going to be disappointed. It is a horror film but I would say that it is a comedy horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not so scarey, 26 Feb 2004
By 
A R Hartley "Monkey" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Before anyone reads on, if your a scare addict and gore lover then dont watch this film. This movie is a more surreal / disturbing film than a simple slash n dice movie which plague the market today. Its based around a boy who's roped into a robbery with his sisters boyfriend and mate. The house they pick just happens to be owned by a crazy couple who are also their land lords trying to evict them, the robbery goes pear shaped and the boy becomes trapped inside the dungeon like house. The rest i cant tell without spoiling the film. But its definately worth buying if you love the mind playing horrors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Not Craven's Best, 5 Nov 2008
By 
Claire Frances (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
'The Poeple Under The Stairs' is probably the least scary horror movie by Wes Craven I have ever seen.
Speaking of Wes Craven (who in my opinion's only truly great horror offering was 'A Nightmare On Elm Street'; his horror directing style is distinct, he makes his killers humourous & very eccentric (which I think makes them less scary), I mean Horror-Comedies are never scary, EVER.
So if you're a pure horror fan, you should probably give this a miss.

Presuming you've read the synopsis I'll go onto critique.
The lead character in the film is named 'Fool' which tells you exactly how scary this film is going to be!
On breaking into a decrepid house in the middle of an actual neighbourhood he finds the owners of the house are psycho's! The residents of the house are two middle-aged murderers, their timid daughter, Alice & 'the people under the stairs. More than a dozen zombie like beings (they appear that way at least) living in a cellar under the stairs. I think they were just supposed to be normal people who had been captured & imprisoned but the make-up artist/s of the film went way over board that results in them looking like bad zombies.
What I can say about the film is that it is funny (I found it particularly funny when 'Fool' say the F word!)
Its certainly not scary, just bizarre, but fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "..A WES CRAVEN MASTERPIECE..", 27 Sep 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is certainly one of was cravens best movies as a director and still one of the most original, a very dark creepy and frightening story, a young boy from a poor family decides to help rob a rich landlords home as they are sitting on a fortune in gold coins, only once they get inside they realise its the house from hell and nobody gets out because the owners have terrible dark secrets! This movie still is a standout horror classic even today, its not a gore movie it runs on fear and dread and the constant wanting for the characters to escape somehow, the cast is good, the soundtrack score is great too and adds to the suspense! This is certainly worth picking up if you don't already own it or have not seen it, a cult classic horror worth going back too.

The import Blu-ray has a good picture quality but no special features.
REGION FREE plays in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of craven's best film's..., 1 Dec 2007
By 
D. Agar "Shagginator" (Dublin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I first saw this in the shop I thought yes that looks scary nd surely it must be if it's wes craven but ive seen a lot of scary movies nd it takes a lot now to scare me nd this just didnt produce,unfortunately
it lacked in charisma and the people under the stairs werent as frightening as you would expect but apart from that acting was good script was decent I suppose but if youre like me and like wes craven then buy it see what you think yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proving once again that horror doesnt have to be heartless!, 13 July 2008
By 
This movie deals with child abuse of the worst kind to the point of turning in this case (stolen kids) into cannibalistic, tongue-less, black eyed (from lack of sun and constant confinment to the cellar) and full of hate. Wes Craven deals with all this in a heartwrenching way that will really have you cheering from those weird looking people under the stairs. Dont get me wrong this is horror and there are scares in it along with some very funny moments when a 7ft gimp dude gets beat up by a little kid who happens to be the hero of the flick. I advise that anyone own this especially Wes Craven fans. This movie has it all and a great ending to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The People Under The Stairs [Blu-ray]
The People Under The Stairs [Blu-ray] by Wes Craven (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews