Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birgitte is back for the 3rd and final series
SKIP THIS REVIEW IF YOU HAVE NOT YET WATCHED SERIES 2

2 ½ years have passed since Birgitte Nyborg (Sidse Babett Knudsen) called an election in episode 20 of series 2. And we meet a very different woman - she has left politics and is now a well-paid keynote speaker as well as a board member of a number of businesses.

Katrine Fønsmark (Birgitte Hjort...
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Last and Lesser Borgen
This is a wonderful series whose final year was the weakest of the three. The story lines were not terribly interesting and the one dealing with Nyborg's illness went on far too long. The ending was bathed in an unattractive sentimentality.
Published 6 months ago by Isagoras


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birgitte is back for the 3rd and final series, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
SKIP THIS REVIEW IF YOU HAVE NOT YET WATCHED SERIES 2

2 ½ years have passed since Birgitte Nyborg (Sidse Babett Knudsen) called an election in episode 20 of series 2. And we meet a very different woman - she has left politics and is now a well-paid keynote speaker as well as a board member of a number of businesses.

Katrine Fønsmark (Birgitte Hjort Sørensen) is still a reporter and currently TV1's most popular presenter. She and Kasper Juul (Pilou Asbæk) have a little boy, Gustav. Kasper owns a communications agency and co-presents "Juul and Friis" on TV1 where he and TV1's political editor Torben Friis (Søren Malling) analyse and comment on the political situation in Denmark.

Although Birgitte has a good life, she can't help but miss politics and she still feels that she has something to give in that respect, so soon she starts working on getting back in - her way - and with some surprising helpers along the way.

This 3rd series is definitely my favourite and I thought it would be difficult to beat the second one! But there are so many sides to the story and so many interesting characters that the 10 episodes fly by and I was left with a sense of loss after the last episode - but also satisfied as I felt that once again the acting, storytelling, facts and fiction all blended in together beautifully and I guess sometimes you have to stop on a high, which I felt they did. I watched this online on DR's website, so I cannot comment on the DVD extras, but the series alone is well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final series to conclude the Borgen story, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the third and final set of episodes featuring the Prime Minister that we wish we had ourselves, Birgitte Nyborg, played by the wonderful Sidse Babett Knudsen. When we last saw Birgitte, she called an election. Where we find her now is two and a half years later and there have been numerous changes at Christiansborg Palace, particularly with a new leader for the Moderate Party.
Most of the familiar faces from series 1 and 2 are back along with some new faces. Popular Michael Birkkjær returns as Philip Christensen along with Pilou Asbæk as political analyst Kasper Juul in a lesser role than previously. Søren Malling is back as Torben Friis at TV1 but with a new boss. Fans of The Killing will be delighted to see Marie Askehave and Lars Mikkelsen (Rie and Troels from series 1) pop up during the series, and even on screen together!
But the start of the show has moved on from the election and is setting on a new project with the help of Katrine Fønsgard (Birgitte Hjort Sørensen). We also meet a new cast member - a UK actor who shares his scenes with Sidse. Don't expect much Danish to be heard in their scenes together.
The series was screened in Denmark on DR1 (equivalent of BBC1) from New Year's Day 2013 and then most Sundays at 8pm beating all other programmes in ratings on most weeks. Only when Denmark had an important handball game on the other side happening simultaneously to Borgen's screening did Borgen lose ground. This then caused DR to delay the screening of the next episode by a week as handball was now in Borgen's slot on DR1.
For anyone who enjoys something other than the usual UK/US material, Borgen is a joy to watch. As Sidse herself said in a recent interview, shows from Denmark can be considered as "exotic" as they are a change from the norm. If you're familiar with other DR series such as The Killing and The Bridge and Sweden's Arne Dahl, Wallander etc, you'll know that the Scandinavians are excellent at their attention to character detail, something which Borgen excels at.
Enjoy!
If you're going to miss Borgen and want a Danish replacement, why not try period drama Krøniken Complete Series (Better Times) Official Danish release with English subtitles which is a 22 hour long epic drama spanning the late 1940s until the early 1970s revolving around the wealthy Neilsen family and their acquaintances. With lots of familiar faces from popping up having had minor and main roles in The Killing and Borgen, Krøniken is an absolute treat! Or you may like to have a watch of Sidse's first ever film Let's Get Lost or Birgitte Hjort Sørensen's recent Marie Kroyer (Marie Krøyer) (2012) (Import) and Julie - en kamp om kærlighed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Final Series, Could Have Been Perfect, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The third and final series of 'Borgen' brings to an end three years of high quality Scandinavian drama, headed by Sidse Babett Knudsen as Birgitte Nyborg, the Danish Primer Minister defeated in the polls (between season 2 and 3). Now, after a time, disillusioned by the direction her party is taking, forms a new party of her own to combat the established ones. She is also distracted by a life-threatening illness which affects her judgement in key issues.

This final series, as good as it is, is not up to the high level set by the first two seasons for a few reasons. I think we enjoyed seeing Birgitte as Prime Minister, solving international problems, rather than starting afresh. The reduction in roles for Birgitte's former spin doctor Kasper Juul and her friend Bent left some gaps. Kasper should have had a much bigger part in this story. Katrine Fonsmark ably is promoted to the Kaspar role; the former TV1 presenter, playerd by Birgitte Hjort Sorensen is excellent. Soren Malling has a greater role also as the tv news editor, competing with the new manager on policy and a fellow employee whom he is having an affair.

It would have been good if the Blu-Ray had included some sort of documentary about the making of the series, or an interview with the stars. Just putting the ten episodes with no extras is not really enough nowadays. For this reason, I only give it four stars, though in all, it is a five star series.

All in all, a highly memorable series, which I shall look forward to returning to.

Lastly, can anyone explain why the Blu-Ray version of this costs £7 less than the DVD one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winning Series from Denmark, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
It seems to me to be a Danish version of the unforgettable American series "The West Wing."
Nothing will compare to the American program or the saintly President Jed Bartlett. However, Sidse Babett Knudsen plays a not-very-flawed Danish Prime Minister who rises from lowly beginnings. This series brings a European (EEC) flavour to the screen and continues our current love affair with Scandinavian TV programs. The necessary sub-titles do not detract from the viewing experience.
The incidents are taken from real-life situations. Danish politics seems to be a lot more civilized than the American, British or Australian variety. If this is true I think Denmark would be a comfortable place to live despite the fact that it is a minor European nation. I believe some people found Series 3 to be below par. I thought them all eminently watchable. I agree that three series were sufficient. If you like behind-the-scenes political shenanigans with sensible situations but without the cut-throat attitudes then this series is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Both interesting in the plot and the way it is filmed.

Very solid serial dramas, especially if you are found of real politik.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I am now re-watching this for the second time... I love it so much. Gritty but never gruesome. Thrilling and challenging - I will never settle for junk TV again. Absolutely fantastic. Are they making another series??!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting end to a superb series, 3 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
All three of these have been brilliant, and I am not a fan of politics. A clever script, some surprises, and an insight into politics in a different country have created a high standard drama, without overpowering music, very little swearing and sex, unnecessary violence, and subtitles that did not detract from the plot, mood and atmosphere. I thought that the ending was very clever, and it would have been a chance for another series, but it ended on a high.
I cannot praise these Scandinavian series highly enough.
Well worth watching, but be warned - each episode's cliffhanger leaves you wanting more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Political drama, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fitting finale to Borgen. The acting is superb and the Copenhagen backdrop as ever brilliant. Highly recommended and a must see if you have followed series 1 and 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adult TV, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
A satisfying and happy end to three series depicting the political ups and downs of a political party in Denmark.

I would just add my name to the many who have extolled the virtues of this offering from Scandinavia. I have to confess that, even after avidly following the ins and outs of the plotting and the plot, i am still little wiser as to the system. Never mind, it has been an excuse for much enjoyment - of the actors and the production, in particular its star, always totally believable and interesting - and, unusually, making a politician always totally beautiful and desirable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this series, sorry it ended, 17 April 2014
By 
K. Gill "In the Kitchen With" (Nashville) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the series, sorry it ended. Wished it had gone longer and played out a little more definitively and less predictably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Borgen: Season 3 [DVD]
Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] by Sidse Babett Knudsen (DVD - 2013)
£17.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews