Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birgitte is back for the 3rd and final series
SKIP THIS REVIEW IF YOU HAVE NOT YET WATCHED SERIES 2

2 ½ years have passed since Birgitte Nyborg (Sidse Babett Knudsen) called an election in episode 20 of series 2. And we meet a very different woman - she has left politics and is now a well-paid keynote speaker as well as a board member of a number of businesses.

Katrine Fønsmark (Birgitte Hjort...
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Last and Lesser Borgen
This is a wonderful series whose final year was the weakest of the three. The story lines were not terribly interesting and the one dealing with Nyborg's illness went on far too long. The ending was bathed in an unattractive sentimentality.
Published 3 months ago by Isagoras


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birgitte is back for the 3rd and final series, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
SKIP THIS REVIEW IF YOU HAVE NOT YET WATCHED SERIES 2

2 ½ years have passed since Birgitte Nyborg (Sidse Babett Knudsen) called an election in episode 20 of series 2. And we meet a very different woman - she has left politics and is now a well-paid keynote speaker as well as a board member of a number of businesses.

Katrine Fønsmark (Birgitte Hjort Sørensen) is still a reporter and currently TV1's most popular presenter. She and Kasper Juul (Pilou Asbæk) have a little boy, Gustav. Kasper owns a communications agency and co-presents "Juul and Friis" on TV1 where he and TV1's political editor Torben Friis (Søren Malling) analyse and comment on the political situation in Denmark.

Although Birgitte has a good life, she can't help but miss politics and she still feels that she has something to give in that respect, so soon she starts working on getting back in - her way - and with some surprising helpers along the way.

This 3rd series is definitely my favourite and I thought it would be difficult to beat the second one! But there are so many sides to the story and so many interesting characters that the 10 episodes fly by and I was left with a sense of loss after the last episode - but also satisfied as I felt that once again the acting, storytelling, facts and fiction all blended in together beautifully and I guess sometimes you have to stop on a high, which I felt they did. I watched this online on DR's website, so I cannot comment on the DVD extras, but the series alone is well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final series to conclude the Borgen story, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the third and final set of episodes featuring the Prime Minister that we wish we had ourselves, Birgitte Nyborg, played by the wonderful Sidse Babett Knudsen. When we last saw Birgitte, she called an election. Where we find her now is two and a half years later and there have been numerous changes at Christiansborg Palace, particularly with a new leader for the Moderate Party.
Most of the familiar faces from series 1 and 2 are back along with some new faces. Popular Michael Birkkjær returns as Philip Christensen along with Pilou Asbæk as political analyst Kasper Juul in a lesser role than previously. Søren Malling is back as Torben Friis at TV1 but with a new boss. Fans of The Killing will be delighted to see Marie Askehave and Lars Mikkelsen (Rie and Troels from series 1) pop up during the series, and even on screen together!
But the start of the show has moved on from the election and is setting on a new project with the help of Katrine Fønsgard (Birgitte Hjort Sørensen). We also meet a new cast member - a UK actor who shares his scenes with Sidse. Don't expect much Danish to be heard in their scenes together.
The series was screened in Denmark on DR1 (equivalent of BBC1) from New Year's Day 2013 and then most Sundays at 8pm beating all other programmes in ratings on most weeks. Only when Denmark had an important handball game on the other side happening simultaneously to Borgen's screening did Borgen lose ground. This then caused DR to delay the screening of the next episode by a week as handball was now in Borgen's slot on DR1.
For anyone who enjoys something other than the usual UK/US material, Borgen is a joy to watch. As Sidse herself said in a recent interview, shows from Denmark can be considered as "exotic" as they are a change from the norm. If you're familiar with other DR series such as The Killing and The Bridge and Sweden's Arne Dahl, Wallander etc, you'll know that the Scandinavians are excellent at their attention to character detail, something which Borgen excels at.
Enjoy!
If you're going to miss Borgen and want a Danish replacement, why not try period drama Krøniken Complete Series (Better Times) Official Danish release with English subtitles which is a 22 hour long epic drama spanning the late 1940s until the early 1970s revolving around the wealthy Neilsen family and their acquaintances. With lots of familiar faces from popping up having had minor and main roles in The Killing and Borgen, Krøniken is an absolute treat! Or you may like to have a watch of Sidse's first ever film Let's Get Lost or Birgitte Hjort Sørensen's recent Marie Kroyer (Marie Krøyer) (2012) (Import) and Julie - en kamp om kærlighed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this series, sorry it ended, 17 April 2014
By 
K. Gill "In the Kitchen With" (Nashville) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the series, sorry it ended. Wished it had gone longer and played out a little more definitively and less predictably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third and last of three series of Borgen. I've enjoyed every one right from the beginning. Even reading the sub-titles does not detract from the enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see..., 5 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
My son and I got hooked on this and watched it over a week (2 series). The main woman is fabulous and you get sucked into her life. It is very political, which might put people off, but the human interest stories give it an emotional pull that will have you sitting on the edge of your seat (and occasionally crying). All the acting is superb, and the Danish is also quite interesting to hear, as every now and then they use an English phrase which makes you smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best series ever!, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a gripping story & difficult turn off, we thought every series was fantastic & we highly recommend it.
It's a welcome change from the many 'police dramas'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars borgen 3, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
good acting, serious plot,very down to earth,very enjoyable,down side ,the dvds have 2or3 glitches and wont restart apart from
going back to thebegining of the act and watching it all again a bit annoying,but i like the somber aura,no razamtaz as in american stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Borgen Season 3, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Another excellent but final season of Borgen. I enjoyed the storyline with new characters, the pressure of working in TV1, the formation of a new political party and all that it involved. However I did miss the interaction between Birgitte and Kasper in the PM's office and I preferred Katrine as a journalist and TV anchor. Adam Price did say it was going to be different! I am now in the middle of season 2 again before I decide whether to buy the box set of The Killing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Compelling, glamorous, clever and unexpected development of characters and plot, following on from previous series, and interesting insight into Scandinavian politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Must watch!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big fan of Nordic TV and was attracted to Borgen when I noticed it was by the same people who brought us The Killing. I started watching Borgen in January and got through all three seasons by the middle of February. Borgen is fantastically written and the acting is superb. All three seasons are excellent, although the first two are better than the third. You will fall in love with the characters. Who knew Danish politics could be so interesting! I can't wait to see what is next from this team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7cd9144)

This product

Borgen: Season 3 [DVD]
Borgen: Season 3 [DVD] by Sidse Babett Knudsen (DVD - 2013)
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews