Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't I bought it earlier ?
Hence , the cover and the title "Northern Boys" was not much of a motivation to buy this compilation , however I am buying almost any new "northern soul" cd ..
But what a nice surprise ! Even quite a few of the tracks I do have already whether on vinyl or cd , this cd made me discover a few new tracks and what 's more important … most of the...
Published 5 months ago by Guy

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin
It's ok, but it's not what I had expected.

Maybe I went to the wrong clubs, although they all had plenty of talc on the dance floor, but they are hardly Northern classics
Published 5 months ago by R J M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Boys: Classics Gems & Treasures From Talcum-Coated Dancefloor (Audio CD)
It's ok, but it's not what I had expected.

Maybe I went to the wrong clubs, although they all had plenty of talc on the dance floor, but they are hardly Northern classics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be warned - this is not what it appears..., 17 Oct 2013
By 
katie frank (london england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Boys: Classics Gems & Treasures From Talcum-Coated Dancefloor (Audio CD)
I was under the impression this was a Northen Soul album with tracks I didn't have by the likes of Major Lance, Joe Simon etc.

It isn't. It's a collection of late fifties /very early sixties R 'n B sides.

The connection with Northern soul is tenuous, to say the least...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't I bought it earlier ?, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Boys: Classics Gems & Treasures From Talcum-Coated Dancefloor (Audio CD)
Hence , the cover and the title "Northern Boys" was not much of a motivation to buy this compilation , however I am buying almost any new "northern soul" cd ..
But what a nice surprise ! Even quite a few of the tracks I do have already whether on vinyl or cd , this cd made me discover a few new tracks and what 's more important … most of the tracks are not filed only under "northern soul" but also under "belgium popcorn" and quite a few discoveries here , all real fine tunes though this appreciation is personal . A few R&R tracks cannot get me down , my cd players have the magic "pitch control" once a magic for the vinyl turntables playing popcorn , now same effect on a cd …
Definitely a fine purchase , I do need to check this label cause this release cannot be a one of a time compilation , some similar releases must follow , just try a cover that is more convincing for northern & popcorn lovers . This one (so sorry , but my opinion) looked like it was a cover band .. But for sure I am going to investigate this label cause it's promising !
And in case you shouldn't know what Belgium Popcorn is , check Wikipedia PLSE , but do not start chasing for vinyl , you are rising the price for me as well …. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Northern Soul CD, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Boys: Classics Gems & Treasures From Talcum-Coated Dancefloor (Audio CD)
A few great tracks I wanted, but the rest I would not consider to be Northern Soul a bit disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories., 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Boys: Classics Gems & Treasures From Talcum-Coated Dancefloor (Audio CD)
Took me back to the dancefloor. Excellent track choices . Certainly worth buying for any soul collection especially if you lived through this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad cd but there are better, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Boys: Classics Gems & Treasures From Talcum-Coated Dancefloor (Audio CD)
Some good track on this cd. With a few that are not often played in the clubs but enjoyable any time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ebd6ba0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews