Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
61
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2014
I heard avant gardener on the radio and thought it was a great song, so decided to buy the album. It didn't disappoint. Played it a number of times and each time I do a different track stands out, well worth buying if its your kind of music, some great lyrics as well.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
bought this after her i sit and think album .i was expecting a mediocre debut style album ,but in honesty its just as amazing .that ausralian accent singing just melts me and courtneys lyrics are poignant and interesting .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
heard this on the huey Morgan(?) show on 6 music. loved it. bought the album instantly. reminds me of the kind of
music that was played on the evening session on radio 1. years back. This is that kind of album. Really rate this girls voice.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
It's been a while since I enjoyed a new record, by a new artist, so much. Good melodies, very witty lyrics, atmospheric, and some superb guitar work.

One thing - her deadpan delivery works well, mostly, but I wonder if it might actually hold her voice back sometimes? It would be nice to hear her really let rip vocally, as I think her voice is lovely - delicate rather than powerful, but it fits her music perfectly. That's why 'Anonymous Club' is my favourite - it's a beautiful, poignant track in which she gives herself more vocal freedom than in some of the other songs.

Can't wait for the next album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
A cd made up of 2 previously released ep's, the first 6 tracks which are from the newer one are to my mind much stronger all round. Although there is no lyric sheet enclosed the words are interesting and in most cases can be clearly heard. They tell stories with a twist (see particularly avant gardener). Courtney Barnett has a kind of particular laid back way of singing and the delivery fits the style of the songs perfectly none more so than on the fine opener Out of the woodwork. The track David utilises a guitar riff similar to that in Bowie's Jean Genie and Anonymous club showcases her more gentle vocal prowess bringing to a close a thoroughly enjoyable first half of the cd. After tracks 1-6 I feel the standard drops a bit with a couple of the songs dragging on too long (probably like my review!)- Are you looking after yourself and Porcelain- but that is not to say they are not worth a listen. However I think the progression of this artist is plain to see with the comparison of the older and newer material. The next release should be well worth keeping an eye out for but in the meantime this is well worth getting.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Great new indie music is a rarity these days, especially that which is released to the masses (there are loads of brilliant unsigned artists to be found all over the internet). I only recently read about Courtney in the NME and checked her out on YouTube. Had to buy this CD immediately and will get her latest release when I get paid next. She is both lyrically and musically refreshing and her influences are not hard to spot. If you like Nirvana, The Dandy Warhols, Husker Du, The Breeders and REM then check this double EP out. Not sure if she listens to Graham Coxon of Blur but there are many similarities here also. Brilliant. Can't wait for her next UK tour....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
A show case of class for a great talent that is Courtney Barnett - just like the predecessor has a great collection of tunes that are varies in their humour and pathos. Great tunes with varying massages within the story like songs sung by a lovely melodic Australian talent that is Courtney Barnett - well worth giving a try if you want some thing poppy with a grunge side to it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
If you like PJ Harvey or melodic song writing: check this out.

Nice lyrics, good recording, very musical and melodic. Makes the days already a bit longer. Will be watching out for new stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Great EP from an emerging talent. Cracking tunes . Definitely one to play with windows firmly down during the summertime.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Great album. Don't usually buy albums but I had to get this one. Great witty lyrics and sombre music. I approve
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)