Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars plus, excellent stuff
Wow, from the opening guitar intro on 'Soul Station' through to the final track 'Going Home' this is an excellent album. Joanne has a mature raspy voice that is so good for singing the blues. Some of the tracks are recorded in London which is a bonus! 'Watch them burn' is from a previous album White Sugar please see my review on that one. This is though an eight minute...
Published 12 months ago by Simon Nixon

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strangulated
I've long been an admirer of JST right back to when she was 14 years old and playing tiny pubs in Birmingham and the West Midlands of England,but what has happened to her voice? What was once a distinctive,smokey,quite soft delivery has turned into this shouty,mid Atlantic version with horrible strangulated vowels.I don't like it one bit.Sorry.
Published 11 months ago by king-stumble


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars plus, excellent stuff, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
Wow, from the opening guitar intro on 'Soul Station' through to the final track 'Going Home' this is an excellent album. Joanne has a mature raspy voice that is so good for singing the blues. Some of the tracks are recorded in London which is a bonus! 'Watch them burn' is from a previous album White Sugar please see my review on that one. This is though an eight minute version with all that you would expect from a live track, guitar solo and that live edge which you get from a good audience. She does justice to a Jimi Hendrix classic ''Manic Depression' with her own excellent guitar work and support from the rest of the band. The track 'Jealousy' should also be highlighted, it in a more laid back style of blues, full of emotion and very soulful. Overall a very good album, it's a shame I can't award this five and a half stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like being there, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
I have seen Joanne a couple of times live and she is great live, this Cd really catches the atmosphere of her concerts. If you like good guitar blues get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at last., 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
We've been waiting for a Joanne Shaw Taylor live album, as she really let's rip with her guitar on stage. Not only do you get a live c.d., but a live d.v.d. as well, and watching her fingers on that fret board will leave you spellbound. Joanne is a talent that will go on. It's so great that such a true musician will never have to perform on a T.V. talent show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to add to your collection, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
JST is just a prolific guitarist and the dvd allows you to see how talented she is. To have a music format cd in the package too, allows her work to be listened anywhere. A must have for JST fans and blues rock fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
I was introduced to her by a friend and was at the gig this was recorded at. It was a good night apart from one person who spent the night holding his camera up. Who you can clearly see on the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic guitar player, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
An excellent CD and DVD set that captures Joanne at her best. Great live guitar player! Both the Telecaster and the Les Paul guitars sound great in her hands...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow . What a Treasure, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Stephen J. Green "Darwinian" (Darwin, NT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
Cannot believe I had never heard of this wonderful talented lady. I know I live in the deepest darkest tropics of Australia but a muso of such great talents should not have ben so hidden away. Perhaps the best album I have heard in the last two or three years. Loved the note perfect rendition of Manic Depression. reminds me of Stevie ray and Little Wing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Blues Rock, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs from the Road (MP3 Download)
Joanne Shaw Taylor is an unsung British rock star, and this performance is proof! Fast playing blues and great songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good bluesy album, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. R. Toft "SQLDoc" (SQLDoc) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
A great demonstration of the musical abilities of Joan Shaw Taylor and her band a good set list demonstrating a good deal of musical skill in the genre o blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The great musician., 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Road (CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
Great musician, great tone and fantastic songwriter. Joanne is always at his best as a singer and guitarist. Performance admirable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs From The Road (CD + DVD)
Songs From The Road (CD + DVD) by Joanne Shaw Taylor (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews