Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars110
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
98
4 star
12
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£21.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2013
Fantastic sound and brilliant vocalists/guest artists including the sound options of stereo, or 5:1 Surround sound, this can't get any better. I watched the 2nd DVD first "behind the scenes" just to get a little background on the concert. A nice personal interview with Steve, and some of the featured artists, also some short videos of outside the venue "the old Odeon"...
A Must for every Hackett fan, having brought the original Genesis Revisited & then Genesis Revisited 2 on vinyl, this package does it proud. Too many highlights to mention. (for me), though The Musical Box is brilliantly sang by Nad Sylvan.
Buy this, or miss out at your peril. !!
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Genesis Revisited: Live at Hammersmith is nothing short of a triumph. I enjoyed his first outing with a Genesis Revisited back in the late 90's and I play it a lot. His latest output of the Genesis Revisited II is just stunning and should be a huge joy for the longer term Genesis fan. This live concert CD/DVD of the Genesis Revisited tour recorded at the Hammersmith Apollo is even better. Brilliant sound captures a band on top of its game. All of the selected tracks are just so good. The highlight for me is Supper's Ready. Steve's guitar work at the end of Supper's, (when he takes the listener to the "sunlit uplands") is just sublime and very emotional. It seems to be what this song needed to finish it off. It is everything he promised the fans and a lot more - see Steve's interviews on the second DVD. Nad Sylvan's vocals are perfect for the song and he provides strong vocals on other tracks. Overall, there is not a dud track on it. The DVD of the concert is very well put together and the 5.1 sound - boom! Wish I had been there.

As a small aside to some unintended humour on the DVD of the concert, one does not have to be a lip reader to see that Roger King did not really enjoy Rob Townsend's sax in his ear during one of the last songs of the concert. It is quite a funny scene but they made up at the end.

Also, a wee shame they had to go to three cd's to get the last two songs on disk. All that space.

Overall, 5 stars plus. You will just love this.

Mr Hackett, I take my hat off to you.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Very good. Steve Hackett's singer, Nad Sylvan sings the songs very well indeed and could well be Peter Gabriel or Phil Collins! I normally do not like guest stars performing with bands, but these do not spoil the show at all. John Wetton and Jakko Jakszyk stand out. The songs are performed as they were originally recorded be Genesis. Unfortunately, the audience is not settled at the beginning of the show which is distracting and annoying but there is very little of the moronic screeching and whistling one gets at most concerts these days and most of the audience seem to be listening and watching the show rather than chatting as if they were at the local pub!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Despite the slightly different set list & guest performers to the show in Manchester this year this is a superb reminder of that night!! Every time I listen to it I grin like a Cheshire Cat & thank my lucky stars I saw the show. Excellent timeless music played by top class musicians. The dvds are brilliant too. All in all a great package and addition to my music collection. Buy it & enjoy....
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
This is a great concert and wonderful rendition of the great music that made Genesis and Steve Hackett so famous. The music performed live is true to it's origins and the studio album. Steve shows us what a wonderful guitar player he is and with the collaboration of talented musician has kept the best songs of the Genesis band of old alive.
This is an absolute must for any ardent Genesis and Steve Hackett fan, just like me! Thank you so much!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
The concert itself was excellent, and this is a very complete and accurate record of what happened. Lots of juicy music to get your teeth around. Highlights include an appearance by John Wetton and superb playing by all.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Steve Hackett is fixated with the time he was Genesis'lead guitarist (ie the early days) and a good thing too. This very faithful revisiting of the early back catalogue builds on his 2 Genesis Revisited CDs of previous years and is sensational. The quality of Hackett's guitar work is top rate, the band is tight, the guest singers (including John Wetton) are all good, and of course the source music is a prog rock fan's wet dream. This set is a 3 CD/ DVD combination and the DVD sound and video are brilliant.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
This is just brilliant from start to finish.

Whether you are fan of Genesis, a fan of progressive rock, or just a music lover, this is really a "must buy".

For the lover of music this showcases performers of real talent - bringing back great memories of an era where the focus was on interesting and complex lyrics (rather than today's predominance of "ooh baby, yeah, do it to me now, love you, want you ooh ooh yeah" ), played by musicians who could actually PLAY their intruments (no tapping keys on a PC and standing back miming to a backing track here).

For the Genesis fan this is as close as we are ever going to get to a "proper" Genesis reunion. Clearly Hackett has a great love of his old band, and the musicians he has enlisted for the concert so perfectly re-create that early Genesis sound that it makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up listening to it.

I could sit here typing all day eulogising about this album, but all the while you are reading this review you could be listening to it - so stop reading, and BUY IT !!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
I saw the "Genesis Revisited" show in Liverpool in May 2013. The band got a standing ovation for the first song alone, and the audience enthusiasm and performance of the band continued all evening.
Mr Hackett seems to have taken the Genesis material and revamped it to give it his own style, and what style it is.
I have seen this man in concert for his last three tours, and each time I think he has out-done his previous work; so, I am waiting to be staggered by whatever he does next. His bands down the years since he left "that other band" have also been a superb support for his music - especially in the last few years where there is almost an orchestral feel in the sense that they are playing with such unity, and Steve Hackett doesn't hog the limelight just because it's his band.
If you haven't seen this tour or you want to know how good Steve Hackett and his band can be, buy this set of discs, turn up the volume, and enjoy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
3 CD's and 2 DVD's of sheer musical magic. Performing songs from the halcyon period of Genesis, Steve Hackett and his band have produced an absolute masterpiece of work. Every song lovingly performed and updated just enough to sound contemporary, but not having lost the integrity and power of the original. Just magical and awe inspiring. If you love Genesis, you will sit there thinking "why didn't Genesis do it like this on their last tour, rather than sounding like a bunch of guys feathering their retirement fund nest, this is how Genesis music should sound, played by Genesis" On some tracks, I would defy you to think it wasn't the classic Genesis line up performing at their very best!!! And Amazon are selling this for such an amazingly good price, you would be daft even thinkinhg for a second "should I?" trust me, just buy it, it is truly an incredible album.........
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)