Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it, 9 April 2014
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
This is just brilliant from start to finish.

Whether you are fan of Genesis, a fan of progressive rock, or just a music lover, this is really a "must buy".

For the lover of music this showcases performers of real talent - bringing back great memories of an era where the focus was on interesting and complex lyrics (rather than today's predominance of "ooh baby, yeah, do it to me now, love you, want you ooh ooh yeah" ), played by musicians who could actually PLAY their intruments (no tapping keys on a PC and standing back miming to a backing track here).

For the Genesis fan this is as close as we are ever going to get to a "proper" Genesis reunion. Clearly Hackett has a great love of his old band, and the musicians he has enlisted for the concert so perfectly re-create that early Genesis sound that it makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up listening to it.

I could sit here typing all day eulogising about this album, but all the while you are reading this review you could be listening to it - so stop reading, and BUY IT !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Next!!, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
I saw the "Genesis Revisited" show in Liverpool in May 2013. The band got a standing ovation for the first song alone, and the audience enthusiasm and performance of the band continued all evening.
Mr Hackett seems to have taken the Genesis material and revamped it to give it his own style, and what style it is.
I have seen this man in concert for his last three tours, and each time I think he has out-done his previous work; so, I am waiting to be staggered by whatever he does next. His bands down the years since he left "that other band" have also been a superb support for his music - especially in the last few years where there is almost an orchestral feel in the sense that they are playing with such unity, and Steve Hackett doesn't hog the limelight just because it's his band.
If you haven't seen this tour or you want to know how good Steve Hackett and his band can be, buy this set of discs, turn up the volume, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute MUST HAVE for any Genesis fan, Steve Hackett fan, or just lovers of excellent music, excellently performed...., 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
3 CD's and 2 DVD's of sheer musical magic. Performing songs from the halcyon period of Genesis, Steve Hackett and his band have produced an absolute masterpiece of work. Every song lovingly performed and updated just enough to sound contemporary, but not having lost the integrity and power of the original. Just magical and awe inspiring. If you love Genesis, you will sit there thinking "why didn't Genesis do it like this on their last tour, rather than sounding like a bunch of guys feathering their retirement fund nest, this is how Genesis music should sound, played by Genesis" On some tracks, I would defy you to think it wasn't the classic Genesis line up performing at their very best!!! And Amazon are selling this for such an amazingly good price, you would be daft even thinkinhg for a second "should I?" trust me, just buy it, it is truly an incredible album.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steve Hackett - Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
This box with three audio CDs and two DVDs of video that shows more good production of this excellent musician and formed band. A show with the same category the previous and always enjoyable to watch and listen. The repertoire is very good with valid interpretations. The second DVD that is small and could be something else, but it does not hurt the quality of the work. Note 8.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flashback of The Hackett Era, 5 Jan. 2014
By 
yoga oetarto (Jakarta, DKI Jakarta Indonesia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
Purchased this item in early December. There was a time when this item, dropped as low as 9.16 quids :).

1. This set list could be considered as "Almost Greatest Hits Live from Genesis 71-77" era, which contains most of their beloved songs : Dancing with The Moonlit Knight, Afterglow, Suppers Ready. There are also surprise songs which is rarely performed live by Genesis ( CMIIW ): Eleventh Earl of Mar, The Lamia. There is also, Shadow of The Hierophant, beautifully sung by Amanda Lehman. The last one composed together with Mike Rutherford, so it is justifiably included. Hackett called Nad Sylvan as lead vocals on most songs, which he is up to the task, his vocals is between Collins and Gabriel. He is theatrical in his own. Hackett also invited Nik Kershaw ( remember him?) on The Lamia and John Wetton on Afterglow. Too bad Cinema Show, Lamb Lies Down and Squonk is not included, but the other classics make it to the list such as : Firth of Fifth, Musical Box, I Know What I Like, Entangled ( my fave !) and the ultimate closer: Los Endos.
2. The band did not try to give new drastic interpretations on these classic songs, but rather they play it close to the original arrangements, however, in some parts, Hackett give some nice touches through some improvisations.
3. This is not essential, but if you are a big fan of 71-77 Genesis era (lets call it, Hackett era, rather than Gabriel or Collins era ), do yourself a favor, buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Triumph!!, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
Just superb!! The musicians he chose are just fine and fitted in their own interpretations while keeping to the original songs, and Steve's in great form. The set list is just perfect, and Steve needn't have fretted about what to leave out. The production is spot-on, and the base pedal balance seems just right to me. An absolute must for any fan of the early/mid seventies variant of Genesis. You won't be disappointed!!!
Because "Seconds Out" was just that bit too early for a quality video, (a shame, as the recording is still awesome after nearly forty years!), songs from the Hackett era need to be filmed for a "Posterity DVD" before it's too late (I.e. Pink Floyd '94, Cream, Rush 30th, Led Zep), as it doesn't look as if the re-union gig is any nearer. This will do very nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overwhelming encounter..., 8 Dec. 2013
By 
Ron Unna "unna@ein-carmel.org.il" (Ein Carmel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
Interestingly (or not), I was never really aware of Genesis or their music, at least not during the early to mid 1970's, inspite having owned two ot three of their albums. For some reason they simply did not touch upon my musical sensibilities at the time... Then several months ago I happened to listen to one of the "Genesis Revisited" albums by Steve hackett and it dawned on me how incredibly good their music (was) - is. I purchased this "live at Hammersmith" set and was overwhelmed by the sheer excellence of the music, not to mention the incredible musicianship... absolutely fantastic! a musical discovery almost 35-40 years after the fact. This 4-cd/dvd set is an absolute wonder of good music combined with a compeling and highly enjoyable concert video of the highest quality...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like being there, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
What an excellent album and DVD set, all wrapped up in a very nice box. My only gripe is there is no addional booklet with more info included, just a basic package with track listing and a few pictures.
The CDs are excellently recorded and the sound is great. The playing is excellent and took me back quite a few years when seeing this stuff done originally at various locations around the UK.
The vocalists all work, with just a little dodgy bits here and there, but it's live and never will be perfect.
Buy this if you like either Genesis old style or Syeve Hackett, who let's face it drove the early Genesis sound anyway, and never were the same after he left.
Try out Steve Hackett's solo stuff if you haven't already, Spectral Mornings especially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hackett very much not to pieces, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
Wow!!!

Was at Birmingham in May, and also October to see this tour! Sadly not with Wetton and the rest of the guests, but man has Stevie baby become even better than he has ever been or what?

I've now seen him upwards of 60 times over the years, and I have never ever EVER been disappointed with a show.

This current tour, and I agree totally with his views, extols the incredible back catalogue of material that Banks, Collins and Rutherford effectively disown. Their loss, now we have music in a live set that we can truly revel in. I am not saying this is better than Steve's OWN work, but hey, why cut off access to such a great legacy.

Well done Steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
I went to this amazing show and was so pleased to see this box set come out, so that I could re-live the experience again. If you weren't there, this excellent set of disks is the next best thing, until next year's tour of course (I already have a ticket). Obviously the material is wonderful (Horizons was the only obvious omission), but Steve has assembled a fabulous set of musicians, guest singers and production team, to deliver an outstanding performance. I have seen some great early Genesis clone bands in the past, The Musical Box being my favorite, but seeing Steve play this music again, with his unique insight and virtuoso guitar playing, added a truly magical ingredient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith
Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith by Steve Hackett (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews