Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reminder, 3 Dec 2013
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
Despite the slightly different set list & guest performers to the show in Manchester this year this is a superb reminder of that night!! Every time I listen to it I grin like a Cheshire Cat & thank my lucky stars I saw the show. Excellent timeless music played by top class musicians. The dvds are brilliant too. All in all a great package and addition to my music collection. Buy it & enjoy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performance and great music!, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
This is a great concert and wonderful rendition of the great music that made Genesis and Steve Hackett so famous. The music performed live is true to it's origins and the studio album. Steve shows us what a wonderful guitar player he is and with the collaboration of talented musician has kept the best songs of the Genesis band of old alive.
This is an absolute must for any ardent Genesis and Steve Hackett fan, just like me! Thank you so much!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the Visit, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. S. Lane (U.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
Fantastic sound and brilliant vocalists/guest artists including the sound options of stereo, or 5:1 Surround sound, this can't get any better. I watched the 2nd DVD first "behind the scenes" just to get a little background on the concert. A nice personal interview with Steve, and some of the featured artists, also some short videos of outside the venue "the old Odeon"...
A Must for every Hackett fan, having brought the original Genesis Revisited & then Genesis Revisited 2 on vinyl, this package does it proud. Too many highlights to mention. (for me), though The Musical Box is brilliantly sang by Nad Sylvan.
Buy this, or miss out at your peril. !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph of music and memory, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
Genesis Revisited: Live at Hammersmith is nothing short of a triumph. I enjoyed his first outing with a Genesis Revisited back in the late 90's and I play it a lot. His latest output of the Genesis Revisited II is just stunning and should be a huge joy for the longer term Genesis fan. This live concert CD/DVD of the Genesis Revisited tour recorded at the Hammersmith Apollo is even better. Brilliant sound captures a band on top of its game. All of the selected tracks are just so good. The highlight for me is Supper's Ready. Steve's guitar work at the end of Supper's, (when he takes the listener to the "sunlit uplands") is just sublime and very emotional. It seems to be what this song needed to finish it off. It is everything he promised the fans and a lot more - see Steve's interviews on the second DVD. Nad Sylvan's vocals are perfect for the song and he provides strong vocals on other tracks. Overall, there is not a dud track on it. The DVD of the concert is very well put together and the 5.1 sound - boom! Wish I had been there.

As a small aside to some unintended humour on the DVD of the concert, one does not have to be a lip reader to see that Roger King did not really enjoy Rob Townsend's sax in his ear during one of the last songs of the concert. It is quite a funny scene but they made up at the end.

Also, a wee shame they had to go to three cd's to get the last two songs on disk. All that space.

Overall, 5 stars plus. You will just love this.

Mr Hackett, I take my hat off to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Concert with Excellent Genesis songs, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
Very good. Steve Hackett's singer, Nad Sylvan sings the songs very well indeed and could well be Peter Gabriel or Phil Collins! I normally do not like guest stars performing with bands, but these do not spoil the show at all. John Wetton and Jakko Jakszyk stand out. The songs are performed as they were originally recorded be Genesis. Unfortunately, the audience is not settled at the beginning of the show which is distracting and annoying but there is very little of the moronic screeching and whistling one gets at most concerts these days and most of the audience seem to be listening and watching the show rather than chatting as if they were at the local pub!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. P. W. Sanders "peterwsanders" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
The concert itself was excellent, and this is a very complete and accurate record of what happened. Lots of juicy music to get your teeth around. Highlights include an appearance by John Wetton and superb playing by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *5 STAR*5 STAR*5 STAR*, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
This CD/DVD is a must for any GENESIS/Hackett fan, audio and video are extremely good especially for a live performance.
Went to see 'Mr H' in Cardiff and Bristol, slightly different order of play but awesome on both occasions.
Steve Hackett is perfection as are the rest of the band especially the captivating Nad Sylvan on vocals.
This CD/DVD for me, is a reminder of one of the greatest guitarists ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Left me with goose bumps. Perfect song selection, performance and package., 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
Genesis and Selling England by the Pound were my personal entry point to the world of Progressive Rock, so for me this concert is simply thrilling. Listening to the piano solo opening of Firth of Fifth or the instrumental part towards the end of Supper's Ready simply left me with goose bumps.

This is probably as good as it gets for any Prog fan in general and early Genesis fans in particular.

On top of the 3 audio CD's there's a video DVD of the complete show that runs for 2 hours and 41 minutes and contains a song selection menu.
I also loved the Behind The Scenes on the second DVD, that is combined with an interview with Hackett. (37 Minutes)

Great package. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steve Hackett - Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
This box with three audio CDs and two DVDs of video that shows more good production of this excellent musician and formed band. A show with the same category the previous and always enjoyable to watch and listen. The repertoire is very good with valid interpretations. The second DVD that is small and could be something else, but it does not hurt the quality of the work. Note 8.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PURCHASE, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith (Audio CD)
I recently went to the concert at my local city hall and was blown away by the accuracy of the music and the uncanny sound of the lead singer, sounding sometimes like Peter Gabriel and others like Phil Collins. A real nostalic trip man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith
Genesis Revisited: Live At Hammersmith by Steve Hackett (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews