Customer Reviews


717 Reviews
5 star:
 (601)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely beautiful!
I never leave reviews but this is such a stirring unique album, I couldn't not. This woman is amazing.....people compare her to Florence Welch and I understand why, but this vocalist does heartbreakingly sad like Florence could never do (not being mean, it's just true). Very few albums manage to make a tear roll down my face, but this is one of them. It's not all sad and...
Published 7 months ago by kate Macaree

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Keep Waiting
Love the voice but like so many of our friends we would love to hear them widen their range of music. Do they have unrealised talent or is this it?
Published 8 months ago by billy whizz46


‹ Previous | 128 29 3072 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars gift for a friend, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
The packaging was neat and safe and my friend was delighted to receive this CD and was very pleased when he played it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very mellow, 20 Nov. 2013
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
Perfect album for a Lazy Sunday afternoon. The more you listen the better it gets. Highly recommended, best album in some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ethereal yet strong, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
This CD is simply beautiful. The singer's voice is powerful, delicate ad strong at the same time. At some songs she sounds like Annie Lennox, Tracy Chapman, Susan Vega or Tory Amos. A very particular and powerful voice in the most delicate and catching melodies. Subtle electronic. Sometimes less is more, like in this CD. Why do we need extra instruments or sound effects when someone sings this beautifully? Few singers these days can do a capella songs like this woman. I am loooking forward to their second work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
London Grammar are a British born Ambient/Electronica trio featuring Hannah Reid vocals, Dan Rothman Guitar and Major, multi instrumentalist.

"If you Leave" is their stunning debut album, featuring a young lady's vocals, I haven't heard the like of since the emergence of Judie Tzuke in the 70's. Hannagh Reid takes centre stage delivering bitter sweet songs in her smooth velvety tambre, hitting the high notes with shivering melancholic beauty, all the time accompanied by subtle textures of percussion, haunting keyboard and delicate guitar picks.

A more smoulderingly beautiful recording you would be hard pushed to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 18 Nov. 2013
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
I love this album its still being played over and over and ive had it for over a month I think its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 16 Nov. 2013
By 
J. L. Plumb (Ascot, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
Can't stop playing this album-haunting vocals and quite simple in it's production. Even my dad has commented about how much it sounds like Judy Tzuke but I'm just glad to hear something modern and current which isn't manufactured pop rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe edition definitely worth it., 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait: Deluxe (Audio CD)
Fantastic vocals and great musicianship mesh perfectly to create an incredible ambient and ethereal sound, and wonderful mixing makes this a fantastic debut album. If you like the singles then you won't be disappointed by the rest of the album, and nothing feels like it has been tacked on or added to pad it out. The singles represent the album fantastically, showing the huge range that Hannah Reid's voice can cover from an almost whisper to huge soaring vocals and back again. The rest of the album is just as impressive, if not more so in places, and 'Shyer' and 'Sights' especially have to be two of my favourite songs overall.

Hannah Reid's Florence-esque vocals definitely form the centre piece of the band, but the rest of their sound is equally as impressive. Every note and sound adds something more and seems carefully chosen and considered, and they've really mastered the 'less is more' philosophy, never seeming to over complicate anything or include anything that isn't needed. The extra time they put into writing and fine tuning this album really shows through in the final product.

Overall, I would highly recommend this album to anyone, especially if you've already heard a song or two and liked what you heard. I look forward to seeing what they produce in the future.

It is also worth noting that the couple of pounds extra for the Deluxe edition is definitely worth it, and the extra songs are equally as fantastic. 'Maybe' is probably one of my favourite songs on the whole cd, and some of the songs have a quite different, more upbeat sound to them than the rest of the album. Definitely worth a listen for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Condition..., 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
For a previously used cd it is in mint condition and if you are a fan of London Grammar you know it's a quality CD. The price was very good too. Would recommend this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant new music, 12 Nov. 2013
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
The album is a fantastic mix of haunting tunes and rocky beats...Deffinatly would recommend for a different kind of listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab album, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
This is a fabulous cd other friends have bought this after my recommendations!,,it's very reminiscent of Judie tzuke!
It gets better the more you hear it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 128 29 3072 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

If You Wait
If You Wait by London Grammar
Buy MP3 Album£7.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews