Customer Reviews


407 Reviews
5 star:
 (343)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 4.5 Star Debut
The debut album by London Grammar, If You Wait, has, no pun intended, been well worth the wait. The band spent 18 months writing and recording this album, and that patience really shows. It feels to me like there's a lot of bands that rush to get albums out on a wave of hype, then they're rather disappointing, but this is not the case here.
London Grammar's sound...
Published 10 months ago by Sprootie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fresh but needs more depth
London Grammar are clearly talented but they feel like a band that has come on the scene with just a tad too little material. The album feel like it was forced for commercial reasons rather than held back until there were better and more diverse selections to make in terms of tracks. Enjoyable - but I would like to see them take their time with the next album and surprise...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 4.5 Star Debut, 9 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
The debut album by London Grammar, If You Wait, has, no pun intended, been well worth the wait. The band spent 18 months writing and recording this album, and that patience really shows. It feels to me like there's a lot of bands that rush to get albums out on a wave of hype, then they're rather disappointing, but this is not the case here.
London Grammar's sound could be summed up as a cross between the XX and Florence Welch. They have the chilled minimalistic vibe of the XX, but then Hannah Reid's voice just takes it to a new level. She can do the softer pieces very well, almost whispering at times, but then when it's required, she soars up. She has a tone in her voice that just fits perfectly with the accompaniment.
The album opens with a gentle synth riff which the guitar gentle picks away over the top of. Reid then begins the album with a very gentle opening, 'Hey now, letters burning by my bed for you'. The track continues like this until a gentle crescendo builds and the sound swells up before gently fading away. 'Hey Now' is there best known track to date, and makes a great opening to the album.
'Stay Awake', the second track starts with a ethereal sound slowly flitting around before a piano and guitar play almost in unison. A driving drum beat is then added and Reid's distinctive vocals are then thrown in.
The beauty of this album is how little seems to be going on at any one point. Everything feels like it's been very carefully considered and honed. Nothing feels like it's redundant. But all of this just draws more attention to Reid's voice and allows it to truly take centre stage as it deserves.
'Wating My Young Years', is a gentle almost soulful ballad. Reid wrote the lyrics about an ex-boyfriend, and it shows with lyrics like 'I'm wasting my young years'. The piano accompaniment with occasional guitar flits is London Grammar summed up in a nut shell.
'Metal & Dust' is another great track. It starts with a brief distorted sample and piano before Reid starts singing. The tracks then gains momentum during the chorus with a drum providing a sharpness to punctuate the rest of the rounded, delicate sound. Toward the end of the track Reid's vocals are heavily distorted and modified as the track grows towards it's pinnacle before gentle fading back.
'Interlude' is a gentle track, but sadly made very little impact on me. It has just Reid singing accompanied by a piano for most of the track. It's probably the weakest point in the album in my opinion, but every album has to have one I suppose.
The final track also shares it's name with the album, 'If you wait'. It's slow and gentle. It swells slowly in the middle and then fades away until it's only the strings guiding you to the close of the album.
This album is a masterclass of the philosophy that less is more. It's beautifully worked and structured and produced brilliantly. However my main fault with this album is that the tracks that are a little bit more varied just end up sounding boring in comparison to the four and five better one's.
In short, this is an excellent debut, one of the best for a while. Perhaps not as good as the XX's debut but not too far away. I'm not quite sure it's a five star album, but definitely worth 4.5 stars. I look forward to see if they can take this sound forwards and produce more great albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic first album, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
I first heard London Grammar on the radio and her voice blew me way. I started telling my friends about them. It has an incredible resonance, a bit of Florence,a bit of Goldfrapp and a bit of originality. A beautiful beautiful album,every track is incredible, I hope they go on to make many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a debut!, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Steven Fouch "fouch26" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
Having heard an acoustic version of 'Strong' on Dermot O'Leary in August, I was quite taken with London Grammar, and sought them out on Soundcloud, and was totally blown away. The full album is superb, evocative, emotional, moody... takes me back to to my youth listening to moody art rock with Peel and Jensen on late night Radio 1. Hannah Reid's voice is rightly being touted as the standout feature of the band - she can hold it back and understate or let rip, shifting gears in a couple of bars sometimes, but she is not just technique, her voice has heart.

The arrangements and production are equally impressive, and underpinning it all is some very good song writing. 'Strong' is a great single,'Help', 'Hey Now' and 'Metal & Dust' are also really strong and evocative, and I am rather fond of the gentle build and climatic finale of 'Interlude', but the standout song is without a doubt 'Wasting my Young Years', with Hannah Reid evoking an early Judie Tzuke, but building to a Florence Welch-like crescendo without over doing it or losing the emotional core of the song; its theme of wasted love could equally speak of the wasted years of a generation stuck in a cycle of 80's style joblessness. It's one of those pieces that will become an anthem.

Definitely one to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't stop playing it!, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait (MP3 Download)
I love it and can't stop playing it! I couldn't leave home without putting Stay Awake with Me, Nightcall, Sights and If You Wait onto my phone and playing it really loudly and singing along in my car. I discovered London Grammar whilst being poorly and not being able to get out of bed for a day. I watched hours of footage from the Glastonbury festival on the BBC iplayer and was flicking the line up, learning about lots of new bands but couldn't tear myself away from London Grammar's hour set at Glastonbury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fresh but needs more depth, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
London Grammar are clearly talented but they feel like a band that has come on the scene with just a tad too little material. The album feel like it was forced for commercial reasons rather than held back until there were better and more diverse selections to make in terms of tracks. Enjoyable - but I would like to see them take their time with the next album and surprise us with a more diverse mix of sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really love this ... what a voice!, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait: Deluxe (Audio CD)
This isn't my usual "sort of thing", but having stumbled across them doing Strong on YouTube and also bought the two XX albums, I thought I'd give this a try.

And wow, I absolutely love it!

Particular favourites are: Wasting My Young Years, Strong, Metal & Dust and Flickers.

It's worth buying the Deluxe version, cos Darling Are You Gonna Leave Me and High Life are excellent too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait (MP3 Download)
London Grammar have one of the most refreshing and exciting sounds of 2013. The music speaks for itself - it is raw and spare, and so much more evocative and emotionally charged as a result. Hannah's voice is superbly arresting. This is a trio to watch, and a must have album of the year.

Best of luck to them at the BRIT Awards - it's a crowded scene this year, but they hands down deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
What can I say, until yesterday I had never heard of this band but am so glad I did..
There is so much rubbish out there that to hear some real talent is a breathe of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Expected, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Wait: Deluxe (Audio CD)
Bought this for my girlfriend as a Christmas present but really fallen in love with it myself!

The first track Hey Now is my favourite for sure.

Not an upbeat album but very melodic and enchanting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Wait ~ London Grammar, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: If You Wait (Audio CD)
Simply superb, listened to this so many times, IMO the best release this year. The girl can sing wonderfully, they can play, put the three all together and the magic happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

If You Wait
If You Wait by London Grammar
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews