Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best SAS book on the market
Robin Horsefall is a very down to earth man. He tells the story as it is with no bravado, and at times, he is even a little shameful of things he has done. He does not try to be a hero, and I firmly respect the way he has written this book with apparent utmost honesty and lack of arrogance.

Rest assured that this still remains the most exciting SAS book I have...
Published on 7 Oct 2007 by A. george

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fighting Scared - A review
I initially bought this book because my partner served in the Para's with Rob Horsfall and is on one of the photographs inside.
I started to read the book out of curiosity and found it extremely difficult to put down. Not just because of the the background it gives to the Paras and the SAS but also the portrayal of the character of Rob Horsfall. The author certainly...
Published on 25 Aug 2003 by Deborah J Rice


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best SAS book on the market, 7 Oct 2007
By 
A. george (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Robin Horsefall is a very down to earth man. He tells the story as it is with no bravado, and at times, he is even a little shameful of things he has done. He does not try to be a hero, and I firmly respect the way he has written this book with apparent utmost honesty and lack of arrogance.

Rest assured that this still remains the most exciting SAS book I have read, and holds itself head and shoulders above "Bravo two zero" and "the one that got away". Horseful is master at setting the atmosphere and at times in the book I felt as though I were laid on the ground next to him behind enemy lines (with my heart racing).

Once you start this book you will think of little else until it is finished and then you will wish there was more.

All in all an absolutely superb read, I reccommend it whole heartedly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A military classic in every sense, 10 Jun 2007
By 
I had the pleasure of meeting Robin when we were both featured as guests on a political discussion show. To say it was an honour would be an understatement - he has a military record and personal history that marks him out as a truly remarkable man. Having firstly met him, and secondly read his book, I can well understand how he's gained such a legendary reputation amongst the military community.

Robin became a boy soldier at the tender age of 15 on the famously robust `Junior Leaders course'. If you've ever wondered why the British Infantry has consistently produced the finest NCOs in the world then one need look no further than this course: in the 1970/80s most of our RSMs were graduates of this scheme. Following on from that Robin became an elite Para at just 17 (another outstanding feat), and even more impressively, a fully blown SAS trooper at just 21.

But Fighting Scared is much more than just another Special Forces memoir, and the author's moving personal story of a grim childhood, and consequent fears and self-doubt, resonates throughout the expertly written text. Robin's story has a profound humanity and self-awareness behind it, and he explains clearly, and demonstrates with graphic candour, why walking away from violence is often the hardest thing to do.

Most readers will undoubtedly relish the adrenaline packed descriptions of daily life within the SAS and the remorseless cycle of military op's; but for me the story of his struggle for acceptance and fight for respect and dignity, within the Para's and basic training, was equally valid. Robin teaches us that the greatest victory of all is to merely stand up and be counted, and that if a man ever desires to be exceptional, then he has to be prepared to sacrifice everything he has.

An outstanding story and a true military classic.

Steven McLaughlin

Author of Squaddie - a soldier's story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Horsfall Fghting Scared, 24 May 2005
If you like SAS books that ring true, then buy this one. Robin's fight is not just with the Paras or the SAS, but within himself, and never mind -Who Dares Wins-. This man dared and won some fights within his own life. If this book could be given 100 stars I would give it. Well done Robin..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cut above the norm, 1 Oct 2009
By 
D. Edwards (Dumfries) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very impressed with this book. Much more insightful and human than Andy Mcnab's SAS memoirs. I enjoyed AM's books and thought they were fine, until I read this one. The writing in this blows AM away. B20 was a fantastic book, but that was mainly becasue it was a fantastic, gripping story. Robin Horsfall can take normal human situations and write insightfully and thoughtfully about them. This book is as much a personal journey as a story of being in the SAS. It's clear that Robin, like most of us, is a flawed individual as he honestly and reflectively makes clear. Unlike most of us though, he's not afraid to bare himself to scrutiny and strive to improve himself. He's clearly very thoughtful and that has clearly caused some of the problems he had in the SAS: he was too questioning and analytical, by way of wanting things to be better. As a result, he didn't quite fit the gung-ho "what the hell" mentaility that otherwise seems to prevail. My wife, who normally wouldn't touch books like this with a barge-pole, got intrigued by some of the passages I read out, and read it when I'd finished it. She's NEVER read any of my books before. I'm not a great devourer of books by ex-soldiers, but this one is a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done Rob, 7 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It has been said,that this is one of the best books about the sas.Well it is the -best-.Not only is it about the fights that Rob took part in,for the call of duty,but it goes deeper than that,by showing us that,there was a much larger fight to win,and that was his own personal fight.He does not hide the fact,that,he was like all of us,and that is scared of the pit falls that life has to offer,to be able to live it to the full.But unlike some,he took all of his past disapointments,and turned them into a victory.
I once phoned Rob,for a chat,expecting him,not to have the time,but infact he had all the time in the world,and not only that,but he sent me a signed copy of the book.A book about a little boy,who became a man,a man we can be proud of,not only in this generation,but in generations,to come.
Well done Rob,and God bless you mate...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 21 April 2008
By 
T. Glover (watts,LA but now london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is without a doubt one of the best SAS books out their and needs to be read by anyone interestted in millitary history, theirs loads of great info on the SAS, loads of great battle's (iranien embassey,his time as a merceneary) yet behind this tough, battle hardend man is someone who has feelings and after he stabbed the man in the machine gun nest it showed just that, great read BUY IT is all i can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fighting Scared, 16 Sep 2004
By 
G. C. Blacklock "para_mutz" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is by far the best account of a soldiers life from when he was a young soldier operating in Northern Ireland, till he was a mercenary, bodyguard, Falklands war vet, and his part in the famous Iranian emmbassy siege, I would recomend this book to anyone not just people who are interested in the military. if there was a possible 10 stars it would have it. :), not only that ended up getting my book signed by Robin the author top bloke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very personal - very good read, 9 Feb 2007
By 
Rafal Gruszczynski (Warsaw Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a very personal aspect of this book that makes it that special. All the psychological change that happens over the years. The maturing process is a very unique and interesting side of this story. It creates a special bond between the reader and the author. It made me also review some points in my life. Unexpected, but very important result of having read the book.

The image of the Regiment is not all "we are the best by far". He shows that it is less than perfect and there are areas for improvement. But with his amount of criticism it is no wonder that at some point they wanted him out. As a side note, I hope that this attitude internally in SAS has changed and they do learn from the past (really - not like the debriefing described in the book).

On the other hand, you will laugh out loud from time to time. The story of the speech given by "RDB" was my favorite.

From all the SAS books - this one clearly stands out. A recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Excellent, 28 Aug 2003
This is probably the best SAS book around. It details the authors rise through the forces from his troubled and violent childhood, though operations with the Paras and SAS in places such as Northern Ireland, the Iranian Embassy siege and the Falklands, and even his love life. The author gives a very intimate account of his feelings and the attitudes of other towards him and the regiment as a whole. A very interesting but at the same time amusing read. You won't regret buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Mr. Alan S. Harris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fighting Scared
Fighting Scared by Robin Horsfall
5.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews