Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reasoned and persuasive, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. J. R. Larner "JetBlack" (Rayleigh, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III - A Small Guide to the Great Debate (Kindle Edition)
This little book endeavours to sort out the myths and spin from the actual facts and first hand accounts of Richard III's life and reputation. It is well researched and convincing but, as a Ricardian, perhaps I'm biased! There will never be any "proof" of whether Richard deserved his reputation of murdering tyrant but this book tried to be objective and consider all the evidence, giving sources for the reader to explore by themselves if they wish. I recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting For Those who wish a Synopsis, 3 Nov 2013
By 
I. Buchan "antiquarian" (SHROPSHIRE ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III - A Small Guide to the Great Debate (Kindle Edition)
This is as is stated by the author and as concise as she could make it. I would recommend this as a starter for those who are interested in Richard III and why he has been so maligned. It is wrong to say that Richard must have been a usurper he most certainly wasn't. He has been maligned and without going into the great debate here others had more to gain-simple logic shows that -if you have an open mind. People still after all these centuries see the Shakespeare and Tudor Characterisation . The Tudor dynasty has the bloodiest record of all England's Dynasties and Shakespeare was certainly no Historian in fact one of the worst for inaccuracies -he was a playwright and wrote during the Tudor dynasty therefore he was most likely fond of keeping his head firmly on his shoulders. As I have said this is a very good introduction to the debate on this King, it is a global debate and no other King has created such interest and argument. Worth the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small - but perfectly formed, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. D. J. Smith "eowyngreenleaf" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III - A Small Guide to the Great Debate (Kindle Edition)
This is brief, but it does do exactly what it sets out to do, and give a short, straight forward accounts of the facts in the so-called 'Great Debate'. It works well as a guide for a beginner to the subject, but also as a lucid summary for anyone with an interest in the subject.

Carson is quite up-front in that she has Ricardian sympathies herself (see her longer book, The Maligned King), but she does an excellent job of teasing out the few solid facts and looking at what contemporary sources there are and what sort of bias we may be looking for. It doesn't give you any answers - and I hope no one is expecting a miracle solution! - but hopefully it will open your mind and give you something worth thinking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III - A Small Guide to the Great Debate (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant, now need to read the bigger book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good starting book, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III - A Small Guide to the Great Debate (Kindle Edition)
Great book if you are looking to get into this subject as it gives a good overview of the events in his life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written summary, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III - A Small Guide to the Great Debate (Kindle Edition)
I wanted factual information about Richard III and this easy, quick read provided just that. When I moved on to Paul Murray Kendal's weighty tome it was particularly helpful that I had previously read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From my Perspective., 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III - A Small Guide to the Great Debate (Kindle Edition)
There is much in this account that was either new to me or I had not considered. For instance why did the Woodvilles not revile Richard once he was dead and openly accuse him of the murder of his nephews? Another would be the thought that he had nothing to gain by the murder as long as the young princes' sisters were alive and thus contenders for the throne.
A very well thought out timeline and conclusion. I also like the efforts to remain neutral in the 'Debate' although I suspect, like myself. Annette has a great deal of sympathy for a much maligned king.

Tom Moss.

see the post on my blog about Richard 111 and the Border Reivers at:
wwwborderreiverstories-neblessclem.blogspot.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for starters who wish to study Richard III, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III - A Small Guide to the Great Debate (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book well researched and well written. Annette Carson knows what she is talking about. This book gives the main details of the debate about Richard, it is concise and when you have read this go on to read Annette's The maligned King. I consider these two books to be the best written about Richard and along side Kendal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well pleased, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III - A Small Guide to the Great Debate (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the book a lot,It was easy to read,I would recommend it to anyone interested in history . Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III - A Small Guide to the Great Debate (Kindle Edition)
A very useful guide for those who know little about Richard III, or are used to the Shakespeare version of his personality. I recommend it to everyone who is looking for more information about the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews