Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars18
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2013
This is as is stated by the author and as concise as she could make it. I would recommend this as a starter for those who are interested in Richard III and why he has been so maligned. It is wrong to say that Richard must have been a usurper he most certainly wasn't. He has been maligned and without going into the great debate here others had more to gain-simple logic shows that -if you have an open mind. People still after all these centuries see the Shakespeare and Tudor Characterisation . The Tudor dynasty has the bloodiest record of all England's Dynasties and Shakespeare was certainly no Historian in fact one of the worst for inaccuracies -he was a playwright and wrote during the Tudor dynasty therefore he was most likely fond of keeping his head firmly on his shoulders. As I have said this is a very good introduction to the debate on this King, it is a global debate and no other King has created such interest and argument. Worth the purchase!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
This little book endeavours to sort out the myths and spin from the actual facts and first hand accounts of Richard III's life and reputation. It is well researched and convincing but, as a Ricardian, perhaps I'm biased! There will never be any "proof" of whether Richard deserved his reputation of murdering tyrant but this book tried to be objective and consider all the evidence, giving sources for the reader to explore by themselves if they wish. I recommend it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 December 2013
This is brief, but it does do exactly what it sets out to do, and give a short, straight forward accounts of the facts in the so-called 'Great Debate'. It works well as a guide for a beginner to the subject, but also as a lucid summary for anyone with an interest in the subject.

Carson is quite up-front in that she has Ricardian sympathies herself (see her longer book, The Maligned King), but she does an excellent job of teasing out the few solid facts and looking at what contemporary sources there are and what sort of bias we may be looking for. It doesn't give you any answers - and I hope no one is expecting a miracle solution! - but hopefully it will open your mind and give you something worth thinking about.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
I wanted factual information about Richard III and this easy, quick read provided just that. When I moved on to Paul Murray Kendal's weighty tome it was particularly helpful that I had previously read this one.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
There is much in this account that was either new to me or I had not considered. For instance why did the Woodvilles not revile Richard once he was dead and openly accuse him of the murder of his nephews? Another would be the thought that he had nothing to gain by the murder as long as the young princes' sisters were alive and thus contenders for the throne.
A very well thought out timeline and conclusion. I also like the efforts to remain neutral in the 'Debate' although I suspect, like myself. Annette has a great deal of sympathy for a much maligned king.

Tom Moss.

see the post on my blog about Richard 111 and the Border Reivers at:
wwwborderreiverstories-neblessclem.blogspot.co.uk
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Annette Carson is very quickly becoming one of my favourite authors on Richard III. I have also read both her Maligned King and Richard, Duke of Gloucester as Lord Protector and Lord High Constable of England, and find her to be clear and concise on her assessment of the facts and her ability to separate fact from fiction. The Tudor versions of those turbulent times have instructed 500 year's worth of school children to view Richard as a tyrant and serial murderer, but are so full of obvious holes that are so easy to spot if you know where to look. Both Annette Carson and John Ashdown-Hill have provided all the necessary pointers and I shall certainly make sure that my grandchildren will learn both sides of this debate and perhaps see Richard III in a slightly kinder and more balanced light than I was taught...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Excellent book well researched and well written. Annette Carson knows what she is talking about. This book gives the main details of the debate about Richard, it is concise and when you have read this go on to read Annette's The maligned King. I consider these two books to be the best written about Richard and along side Kendal.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Straight forward, Excellent justifications and analysis of Richard's behoviour in the matter of the Princes. Goes a long way to providing evidience/argument that he was innocent and badly treated by history. Very thought provoking.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
A very useful guide for those who know little about Richard III, or are used to the Shakespeare version of his personality. I recommend it to everyone who is looking for more information about the man.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
Thoughtful book examining all the possible reasons for why we think we know Richard , lies and truth all mixed by historians, and we shall never know what is the Real truth now..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)