Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive collection
When Mike Rutherford formed Mike and the Mechanics in the mid 1980's it was as a side project to keep himself occupied between Genesis albums. But a series of hits during the next decade or so meant that they became more successful than he was probably expecting - although he never matched the juggernaut success of Phil Collins' solo career of the time.

This...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too "loud"......
I always loved Mike & The Mechanics and picked this 2CD set up to get some (hopefully) newly remastered versions of all the old hits and a CD of rarities. First of fI was totally disappointed that the CD's were mastered so damn "loud" !!! Why do record companies feel compelled to do this now?? It totally ruins the sound.....

And secondly, why wasn't the...
Published 14 months ago by Richard Dudas


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive collection, 23 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singles: 1985-2014 (Audio CD)
When Mike Rutherford formed Mike and the Mechanics in the mid 1980's it was as a side project to keep himself occupied between Genesis albums. But a series of hits during the next decade or so meant that they became more successful than he was probably expecting - although he never matched the juggernaut success of Phil Collins' solo career of the time.

This means that Disc 1 (The Singles) has a generous collection of radio-friendly songs that still sound good today - Silent Running, All I Need Is A Miracle, The Living Years, Over My Shoulder and Nobody's Perfect, for example.

There's some filler on this disc too though as some of the other tracks are less engaging. And while the casual purchaser would probably be happy with the one disc release, for those who want to dig a little deeper there's a two CD set with a second disc featuring rarities and b-sides. Of these, the unreleased track One By One (featuring Paul Carrack and Paul Young) is worth a listen as is the acoustic My Crime Of Passion.

Although it's hard to imagine they were ever anyone's favourite band, these two CDs are a good reminder of their many strengths, although the lesser tracks do illustrate that at times their music could be somewhat workmanlike. But there's enough gems here to make this a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Double album for devoted fans, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Singles: 1985-2014 (Audio CD)
Mike and the Mechanics are a band that can be immediately associated with a few classic tracks, and they are all here on side one of this album. "Over My Shoulder", "The Living Years", "Word of Mouth" are just three of them. In among these classic pop-rock tunes, there are unfortunately some (in my opinion) average tracks that, even on a Singles album, are really just filler. In fact, the biggest selling, and most popular tracks all appear at the beginning of the album.

The addition of Roachford to the performing line up was a smart one, as he copies the soulful style of previous lead singers, and the new track When My Feet Don't Touch The Ground is very much in the mould of the biggest selling singles of the 80s and 90s.
Side two is crammed full of "rarities" and B sides. If you are a die hard fan, you probably own all of these, with the exception of One by One.

It seems something of a cheat to create a double album, but only have two new pieces of music on it. It is no coincidence that Living Years has been re-released, there's a tour AND a book all being released this month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles: 1985-2014 (Audio CD)
Great remastered versions of all of your favourites hits and the other singles that did not do so well in the charts but are still worthy of inclusion. The real bonus for any fans is disc 2 with the rarities and the new tracks - how or what some of these never made it onto albums is beyond me, all in all a worthwhile purchase and at a great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all time classic, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles: 1985-2014 (Audio CD)
Great album by a world class band songs from the last 25 years that we have all grown up listening to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original "All I Need Is a Miracle" absent & Uninformative booklet, 1 Feb. 2014
By 
Steve (Piscataway, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles: 1985-2014 (Audio CD)
This album has a number of interesting b-sides & rarities that I didn't own, so was a worthwhile purchase for me. A couple warnings:
1. Only the 1996 version of "All I Need Is a Miracle" is included, not the original 1985 version.
2. The booklet has almost no information for the tracks. For the singles, it would have been a nice touch to note the year of release, orignal album and peak chart position. For the b-sides & rarities, it would have been nice to mention the original single/album and year of release (or recording, for unreleased tracks).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too "loud"......, 26 Jan. 2014
By 
Richard Dudas (South River, New Jersey USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles: 1985-2014 (Audio CD)
I always loved Mike & The Mechanics and picked this 2CD set up to get some (hopefully) newly remastered versions of all the old hits and a CD of rarities. First of fI was totally disappointed that the CD's were mastered so damn "loud" !!! Why do record companies feel compelled to do this now?? It totally ruins the sound.....

And secondly, why wasn't the original version of "All I Need Is A Miracle" not used here??????????/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift!, 28 Feb. 2014
By 
K. Burns - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles: 1985-2014 (Audio CD)
My mum bought this as a gift for my dad's Christmas present and he hasn't stopped listening to it ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
Brian (Salford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles: 1985-2014 (Audio CD)
Mike + the Mechanics - fantastic band - gone through a few changes with the sad loss of Sad Cafe's Paul Young and Paul Carrack pursuing a Solo Career , but their replacements are more than up to the task - want all the hits without buying all the albums? - buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Listening, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles: 1985-2014 (Audio CD)
Really great as well as easy listening.
Some lovely memories attached to these tracks.
Overall thoroughly enjoyable and very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mike, Two Pauls & an Andrew, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles: 1985-2014 (Audio CD)
This Mike & The Mechanics singles compilation has some well crafted songs that have survived better than most from the same period and features the work of three very distinctive vocalists, Paul Carrack, Paul Young and Andrew Roachford. Say no more.
Paul and Andrew are still making music, but this CD has some of the last examples of the late Paul Young's vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singles: 1985-2014
The Singles: 1985-2014 by Mike & The Mechanics (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews