Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars15
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£10.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2013
Arrived today and very different from the previous Family Tree album. On the third listen now and improving every time.
Quality of the recording is excellent and makes for a detailed and very enjoyable album. Singing style varies throughout and is reminiscent of the Junkyard Chandelier on some tracks and Sleep well (Electric Presidents) or The Roots on others.
If your not familiar with his other albums and projects a quick trip to Ben Coopers website [...] is very much recommended.
Overall very much recommended.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Like 'The Family Tree: The Roots', it took me a while to shift into it from the previous album, 'The Branches' blew me away once i'd given it my full attention and.... Wow. It delivers as much as it's forerunner, it delves further into the core emotions that make it so evocative and touching. I think it's very important to give all Radical Face albums your full attention, they are so beautifully crafted and fully deserve the time to fully appreciate their beauty. If you listen to them while your cleaning or reading or doing anything to spread your focus you will miss the magic.

Put it on the turn table sit back with a cup of Horlicks and get right into this one!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
I read somewhere that this guy had almost completed two novels when his laptop blew up and he lost two years work. So, he decided to put it all to music instead. These are tales of love, life and loss put to haunting music. Its downbeat but beautiful.

Like his previous albums - its a grower and gets better after repeated plays. Some editions have the commentary for each song which helps the understanding of the song and where this chap is coming from. Another reviewer said he thinks Radical Face might be a genius - I'm getting that inkling as well.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
Incredible album, very well presented - song lyrics, one song per page, in a little book-style CD case.

First to last song, amazing. Followed up my purchase by seeing Radical Face live. Met Ben Cooper after the gig - a gentlemen. Had forgotten to take my copy to get signed so bought another one at the merch stall.

An album worth having two copies of.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Stunning. This moves on from The Roots keeping the same characters but with more layered songs. The characters might be fictitious but it comes across as a deeply personal album. One of the very few albums I've heard that has no filler whatsoever. Every song is a work of a very gifted songwriter and musician. There are no negatives, it's that good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
bought this along with the"roots" cd after loving the "ghost" cd which i picked up after hearing one of the tracks on it used in the nikon ad around the time of the 2012 olympics. not everyones cup of tea with very dark words, deep thoughts and heartfelt emotions. self penned,self played and self artwork...genious!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I've loved all of Radical Face's work, but I especially loved his last album "Family Tree: The Roots". This acts as a perfect sequel, both building on old motifs and ideas and creating entirely new ones. Also I'd recommend buying the CD instead of just downloading it as it is, yet again, presented so beautifully.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Took a little while to get into, but this is every bit as good as the previous Family Tree album. Striking lyrics and beautiful arrangements. Who could ask for more?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Branches is one step closer to heaven. This is the only constant on my car cd player. It is destined to be a classic, a hidden gem for now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Have all Radical Faces albums.. This is as usual excellent. Lyrics are brilliant, moody music, just a really good album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.10
£11.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.