Customer Reviews


1,176 Reviews
5 star:
 (806)
4 star:
 (239)
3 star:
 (81)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the story of a family who didn't fit in
I always get very excited at the thought of a new novel by Jojo Moyes and thankfully I wasn’t disappointed in this one.

Jess’s life is a mess – her ex has left her with two kids (and a smelly dog) to bring up, cash is in very short supply and she’s juggling two jobs just to stay afloat. When her mathematical genius daughter Tanzie gets...
Published 10 months ago by Denise4891

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story a bit slow
I have read the authors previous books and enjoyed them. This book is good and gives the usual very real to life problems within a family but the story only gets going fron about half way through. A good read.
Published 8 months ago by Miss Sara Scott


‹ Previous | 159 60 61118 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Jojo Moyes Does It Again, 27 Feb 2014
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
So what is it about? The One Plus One is very different to both The Girl You Left Behind and Me Before You; although the storyline keeps you reading in exactly the same way, the underlying plot is in many ways less defined. This isn’t about war-time or living life as a quadriplegic, there is no ‘big issue’ instead The One Plus One looks at the more mundane, but perhaps because of that, the more significant issue of hope. At its root the story is that of Jess Thomas who is trying to improve the lives of two children, her daughter Tanzie and her step-son Nicky.

This book provides a social commentary on many issues covering the core subjects of low income families seemingly fruitless struggle to improve their lives and those of their children, blended families and the way that it isn’t uncommon to live in an unusual mix of relationships as well as the gap in perception between those better off members of society. It also packs fractured family relationships, parental illness and bullying, so there is plenty to get your teeth into!

Jess Thomas is one gutsy character, optimistic against seemingly impossible odds, a single mother since Marty left two years previously. She has a cleaning company with her friend, a second job in a pub and a paperback book addiction (all bought from charity shops) and although she adores the children, like so many mothers is so busy working she doesn’t always have time to enjoy them.

Ed Nicholls is having women problems, he is also the director of an up and coming software company has two homes and several cars. When Jess meets him while cleaning his home the enmity between them soon becomes apparent but in a strange twist of fate they are forced to spend quite a lot of time together….

This is very much a character based story and the characters Ed, Jess, Nicky and Tanzie all take turns in narrating events. This is one book where this device works well to give a rounded picture of each of their individual personalities. Jess and her family are instantly likeable the depiction of children of that age an authentic one, Moyes hasn’t fallen into the trap of making the teenage Nicky in the mould of the popular cliché, yes he is sullen at times but with good reason, but he is far more like the teenagers who came through the door of my house than many I come across in books.

I don’t want to say anything else as I don’t want to spoil the story for all of you who are going to pick it up, but I can’t conclude this review without saying that this is one author who has an unerring eye for detail. She perfectly captures the quirks of human nature and has the ability to tell a cracking story, one that will have you laughing one moment and fighting back the tears the next. I would thoroughly recommend this one.

I received a free copy of this book from Penguin Books UK in return for this review ahead of publication on 27 February 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
It was compulsive reading from page one with lots of twists and turns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I wanted more, 21 Sep 2014
By 
P. TURNER "DVD Diva" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The One Plus One (Paperback)
I haven't read such a splendid read for a long time. I loved the structure of the book and wondering what would happen next. All the characters came off the page and I really cared what was going to happen. When I reached the end of the book I have to say that I was sad!! Thank you Jojo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different again but just as good, 10 Aug 2014
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
This is my 4th JJM book. Amazing how she manages to write new content, New formula plot but just as brilliant as her other stories. Definitely worth a read. Lovely story. In order of preference,1st- the girl you left behind. Joint 2nd, me before you and the one plus one, 3rd last letter...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyed this one also, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
Second book read now from this author, really enjoyed this one also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book relevant to life in Britain today, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
A great story, avoiding a trite 'happy ending', very satisfying ! Loved the characters as they were believable, and it was easy to empathise with their experiences of life.Important themes were explored and resolved. Not a great literary masterpiece, but it achieved it's aims perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far fetched!, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
I've previously enjoyed some JoJo Moyes books such as The Last Letter from your Lover and Me Before You, both were real page turners and tear jerkers and thoroughly enjoyable.

I won’t go into the story line or minute biographic detail of the characters as it would echo a lot of other reviews. However if like me you've really enjoyed previous work by JoJo you may well be as disappointed as I was after reading this.

I didn’t warm to any of the characters, I found the story very tedious for about two thirds of the book. I struggled with the convoluted story of the road trip and the things that were conveniently shoe horned into the story to try and make it more dramatic but just made it seem absurd. The last part was just ridiculously far-fetched to the point where I wanted to completely give up on it altogether.

There were a few nice touches of humour at points but not enough to redeem this book... I will definitely think twice about purchasing JoJo’s next offering. It appears that her earlier work is a lot stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Characters so real you feel that you know them., 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book, the characters all have real personalities and make the same mistakes that real people do. There is humour and heart-ache and once you get into the book (which is very soon) you won't want to put it down. Great book, but Me before you, still gets the 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Paperback)
I adore Jojo Moyes books. I always feel satisfied after every book by Jojo and that is why I was so disappointed with The One Plus One. The story line was weak. It was all very predictable. It didn't have any oomph like all her other books do. Sad to give such a negative review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read !!, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
I did found this a very fascinating story. As J.M. herself says in the write up afterwards-- "how you approach a long car journey is a lot how you approach life..." So reading the story I can see what she is saying and why she chose this setting. It really is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 159 60 61118 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The One Plus One
The One Plus One by Jojo Moyes
£2.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews