Customer Reviews


897 Reviews
5 star:
 (620)
4 star:
 (177)
3 star:
 (64)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the story of a family who didn't fit in
I always get very excited at the thought of a new novel by Jojo Moyes and thankfully I wasn’t disappointed in this one.

Jess’s life is a mess – her ex has left her with two kids (and a smelly dog) to bring up, cash is in very short supply and she’s juggling two jobs just to stay afloat. When her mathematical genius daughter Tanzie gets...
Published 6 months ago by Denise4891

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story a bit slow
I have read the authors previous books and enjoyed them. This book is good and gives the usual very real to life problems within a family but the story only gets going fron about half way through. A good read.
Published 5 months ago by Miss Sara Scott


‹ Previous | 1 290 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the story of a family who didn't fit in, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Denise4891 (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
I always get very excited at the thought of a new novel by Jojo Moyes and thankfully I wasn’t disappointed in this one.

Jess’s life is a mess – her ex has left her with two kids (and a smelly dog) to bring up, cash is in very short supply and she’s juggling two jobs just to stay afloat. When her mathematical genius daughter Tanzie gets a chance to enter a competition with a huge cash prize, Jess will stop at nothing to get her there. Meanwhile Ed Nicholls is also going through a bit of a rough time. Tricked into a spot of insider trading by a dodgy girlfriend, he faces losing the software business he built from scratch as well as the affluent lifestyle that went with it.

When Jess and Ed’s worlds collide, a very entertaining road trip ensues. Jojo Moyes writes with such warmth and empathy that you can’t help but like the characters she creates, even if their actions are infuriating and frustrating at times. She manages to infuse her storylines with some heartwarming moments and feel-good vibes, without them becoming sickly or over-sentimental. Although both Jess and Ed’s lifestyles are nothing like mine, I still believed in them and was rooting for them almost from the off. There are some very funny moments (mainly thanks to Norman the flatulent hound) but at times it’s also quite a poignant and thought-provoking read.

My favourite Jojo Moyes novel is still Me Before You (which would take some beating) but that said I was thoroughly entertained and amused by this very engaging tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully uplifting and take-you-out-of-yourself romantic family story from Moyes, 27 Feb 2014
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
There's 'chick lit' and then there's 'chick lit' (sorry - I dislike the term too). Some I wouldn't touch with a bargepole - I like a bit of 'meat' and depth which is often lacking. Since reading a World Book Night copy of 'Me Before You', I've mentally added Moyes to my list of 'willing to try more' writers. This sounded promising.

And it was. Even though at the heart of it is a basic boy-meets-girl, it's really a story about families. As with Me Before You, it starts with a rich, successful businessman and his life-changing problem - computer whizz-kid Ed is accused of insider trading and banished from his joint directorship while the case is investigated. A million miles away on a council estate, Jess is struggling with two jobs, two children and no child maintenance from her estranged husband. Working in a pub and running her own cleaning business, one of her customers one day rudely shuts a door in her face, having a bad day of his own.

It's a pure romantic-movie shuffle that get these two main characters into the same scene. And then another. It's the kind of story where you WANT certain things to happen, and the characters are well-enough written for you to feel you know who they are, you understand them, you want things to turn out well for them.

This applies to the other two main characters - just as important to the story are the children. Teenage Nicky is everything a typical teenager often is - withdrawn, sullen, introspective. Favouring gothic make-up, he becomes a target for a vicious local family. Younger Tanzie is also struggling in her surroundings, having an affinity for mathematics but no way of climbing out of the local school system in which Jess knows she'll also become a victim. Nicky's growth in particular through the book is one of the most enjoyable facets of the story. Tanzie adds a lot of the humour and heart to the story. As does the drooling, shedding and rather flatulent dog mountain, Norman.

And the story turns on Tanzie - a maths competition in Scotland forces Jess's story away from the council estate, it could raise the money to send Tanzie to a private school where she could thrive. But how can they get there?

Jess is impossible to dislike. She's hardworking and self-sacrificing, ever-optimistic, and just trying to make ends meet and scrape together a decent life for her small family. Her relationship with Ed is believable - he's shaken into awareness of those around him by her response to his rudeness and his growing admiration for her and her children allows him to see both his own personal problem and tense family situation in a clearer light. Ed is not a perfect hero, but with flaws and tics (wearing identical clothes every day to avoid the effort of planning an outfit) he's also hard to dislike.

We have a family drama, a road movie, a tentative romance, all bound up in a car with our four characters (and of course Norman), in which each of them go on their own little journey inside the slowly northbound car. At times you don't want the road trip to end. I really came to like the four of them, could see each of them clearly as I read, and knew just what I wanted to happen.

And at the end (no spoilers), I was pleased with how Moyes chose to bring the strands together and settle the story. Realistic and without sappiness.

If you're a fan already of Moyes, you'll continue to be pleased. If you've never tried her, I can recommend this if you are looking for something that isn't a difficult read, treads a well-worn path with style and humour, and entertains with a touching little family love story.

Review of a Netgalley advance copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 18 Aug 2014
By 
S. Goddard (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The One Plus One (Paperback)
This is the first book I've read by Jojo Moyes and I absolutely loved it! I've always enjoyed road trip films and books and this is such a good one. The characters especially the children came alive and now that I've finished the book I'm still thinking about them and finding it hard to move on to another book. I'll be reading more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much more than chick lit, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Sandra Foy "Sandra" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
I have only read one book by Jojo Moyes before and that was Ship of Brides which I enjoyed, so when I saw this book and realised it was the same author I decided to give it a go. Am I ever glad I did. It is so enjoyable, full of wit and warmth but also in parts so very sad. If you can get through chapter 22 without your heart breaking I fear you may not have one.

The characters are so beautifully drawn that you just feel that you know them so well. Jess is mother to two children, her daughter Tanzie who is a mathematical genius and Nicky her step-son who is out of step with the rest of the world and being badly bullied for it. Jess is poverty stricken, trying to hold down two jobs that barely feed the family and trying to raise money to see Tanzie into a private school in the hope that she won't be bullied like Nicky.

Enter Mr Nicholls (Ed), he fortuitously finds himself in a position to take the family to Scotland where Tanzie hopes to win a maths competition. Ed's life is already in turmoil after finding himself unwittingly at the centre of an insider trading scandal and potentially facing jail. Ed is pre-occupied with his own problems but he's a good guy and Jess's warmth and optimism and over-riding love for her kids takes him out of himself.

The journey up to Scotland is both funny and tragic. Jess and Ed find themselves caught up in a budding romance which is lovely and warm but it's the children who steal the show. Nicky especially with his geeky goth ways, he grows so much throughout the book.

The last word has to go to Norman, the family's enormous, drooling, flatulent, loyal, loveable dog. This book wouldn't be the same without him.

I loved this book and I will probably read it again which I don't say very often.
****1\2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this author, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book I have read by Jojo Moyes, the first was Me Before You and I enjoyed this just as much.
I like the way she details characters, drip feeding information and keeps you hooked until the very last word. You think you're worked out where the story is going and then the unexpected happens.
A really good book to read, I can't decide which of her books to read next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic loved it!!, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic!! Couldn't put this book down.

Disappointed when I had finished this book.....it made me laugh and cry it was well written from beginning to end. Great story line.......I loved it. I would like to thank my friends for telling me about this book and look forward to reading more of her novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Your Average Family, 9 Sep 2014
This review is from: The One Plus One (Paperback)
Jess is a single Mum who lives on a tough estate and juggles numerous jobs to keep her family afloat. She and her children don't quite fit in and there are a lot of problems in everyday life. Ed is a computer whizz kid who said the wrong thing to the wrong person and is being investigated for fraud. The world is falling apart for both of these people but for entirely different reasons.

This is really a book about families and relationships. Jess has two children - Nicky who is the son of her estranged husband by a previous relationship and Tanzie who is her natural child and a bit of a maths whizz. The book explores Jess's feelings and relationships with both of these children as she tries to protect them in everyday life. On a lesser scale we also see the more distant relationship they have with their Father. These complex family relationships are not uncommon today and it is nice to see an author exploring these with an acceptance that families come in all shapes and sizes.

A vast majority of the people in this book are genuinely good people. They help each other out in small everyday ways and also in larger, more significant ways. There is a "feel good" feeling about this book - you know from the beginning that all is going to turn out well but aren't too sure how the story is going to get there. Ed helps Jess out by giving her a lift - an event which seems to take around a week of their life and which takes up about half of the book. The likelihood of someone going so far out of their way is a little unlikely so some belief does need to be suspended. This trip, however, is just the event on which the author hangs her more in depth study of people and their relationships.

This is an easy to read book with flowed well. There are sad moments as well as as amusing moments. This was an enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Two is Better than One, 9 Sep 2014
By 
Kate Hopkins (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The One Plus One (Paperback)
Jess is a poor, feisty and loving single mother, trying to bring up her mathematical prodigy daughter Costanza (Tanzie) and her stepson Nicky with no help from their absentee father and avoid debt. When her daughter is offered a generous scholarship to a school for gifted children, Jess is delighted - but even so can't afford it, unless Tanzie wins a competition taking place in Scotland. With no money to get there, Jess is in trouble - until she meets Ed Nicholls, one of the people that she cleans for in one of her multiple jobs. Ed is also in trouble - a computer genius, he's passed on secret information to a former girlfriend to get her off his back and is about to be investigated for insider trading. Plus his greedy ex-wife keeps ringing him demanding money. Plus his dad's dying. With all this on his plate, Ed has no idea why he agrees to drive Jess, Nicky, Tanzie and their enormous smelly dog Norman to Aberdeen - at forty miles an hour, as Tanzie gets carsick at faster speeds! But drive them he does - and on their long journey finds himself getting increasingly involved in the lives of Jess and her children, while Jess begins to realize that some men might possibly be trustworthy and kind. Soon Jess and Ed have to admit their attraction to each other - but it's not all straightforward. For Jess, there's an unbelievable revelation about her husband to come, for Tanzie some surprises at the mathematics competition. And Ed - well, how will he cope with the secret that Jess has been keeping from him all the way to Aberdeen and back?

This is the first Jojo Moyes book I've read, and I have to say in many ways I was very impressed. True, this is not the most subtle or complex fiction in the world. Moyes isn't really interested in analysing what it might be like to be a maths prodigy (or the mother of one) and how 'being different' in this way might make Tanzie feel. The family's half-Italian (I think?) background is also barely touched on, and nor does Moyes analyse what exactly it was that made Jess drop out of education to become a full-time mum at the age of 18, and why her mother hasn't helped her since. But all this matters less than it might because of the warmth and affection in Moyes's writing, and her sympathy for the characters. She really brings them all to life - Ed realizing that there's a whole world away from computing and the 'mousewheel' of making money that he's ignored for years, Jess determined to keep her family going and give her children a good future, and ever hopeful that things will improve, Nicky fighting a tendency to melancholy and a sense that he will always be 'on the outside of things' and Tanzie, just wanting to do her maths and care for her dog. The dialogue is good and believable, and the affection that Ed comes to feel for this truly original family movingly conveyed. There's also a great sense of atmosphere as the group travel up through England - and the final section, if slightly melodramatic at times, perhaps, is very moving. The whole book is extremely readable, and both funny and touching. It's made me keen to explore more of Moyes's novels - while this may not be high-brow literary fiction, it's undoubtably fiction of a very enjoyable kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, story where the children steal the limelight!, 25 July 2014
By 
Arkgirl (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
Having read and loved 'Me before You' and enjoyed, with reservations, 'The Girl you Left Behind' I was intrigued to see what I would make of her most recent offering. Overall I found it enjoyable, amusing and sweet, she has a very easy style to read and it would make a great holiday choice, but it does have some predictable elements and 'suspension of belief' plays a part!
Jess, a bright young woman, has ended up in two dead end jobs to try to keep her family together. Her family comprising her two children: her daughter, Tanzie, who is a mathematical genius; and Nicky, her step son, who she has been left to bring up by her ex husband and is struggling with a variety of issues.
Through her cleaning job and work at the pub she encounters Ed, a computer whizz kid has let pillow talk about a trading issue lead to major problems with the financial regulators, and this meeting leads to a very strange 'road trip' with some genuinely moving moments.
I did enjoy the growing relationship between Jess and Ed but I think the it is relationships between Jess and the two children that are actually the most interesting, to me. The pressures on Nicky and Tanzie have you rooting for them, this is what lifts this read from 3 to 4 stars!
I will certainly read more by JoJo Moyes as she creates flawed, credible characters woven into interesting plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
A perfectly lovely read. Highly recommend this book I just didn't want it to end, it is so well written. Very heart warming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 290 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The One Plus One
The One Plus One by Jojo Moyes
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews