Customer Reviews


712 Reviews
5 star:
 (486)
4 star:
 (140)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the story of a family who didn't fit in
I always get very excited at the thought of a new novel by Jojo Moyes and thankfully I wasn’t disappointed in this one.

Jess’s life is a mess – her ex has left her with two kids (and a smelly dog) to bring up, cash is in very short supply and she’s juggling two jobs just to stay afloat. When her mathematical genius daughter Tanzie gets...
Published 5 months ago by Denise4891

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story a bit slow
I have read the authors previous books and enjoyed them. This book is good and gives the usual very real to life problems within a family but the story only gets going fron about half way through. A good read.
Published 4 months ago by Miss Sara Scott


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the story of a family who didn't fit in, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Denise4891 (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
I always get very excited at the thought of a new novel by Jojo Moyes and thankfully I wasn’t disappointed in this one.

Jess’s life is a mess – her ex has left her with two kids (and a smelly dog) to bring up, cash is in very short supply and she’s juggling two jobs just to stay afloat. When her mathematical genius daughter Tanzie gets a chance to enter a competition with a huge cash prize, Jess will stop at nothing to get her there. Meanwhile Ed Nicholls is also going through a bit of a rough time. Tricked into a spot of insider trading by a dodgy girlfriend, he faces losing the software business he built from scratch as well as the affluent lifestyle that went with it.

When Jess and Ed’s worlds collide, a very entertaining road trip ensues. Jojo Moyes writes with such warmth and empathy that you can’t help but like the characters she creates, even if their actions are infuriating and frustrating at times. She manages to infuse her storylines with some heartwarming moments and feel-good vibes, without them becoming sickly or over-sentimental. Although both Jess and Ed’s lifestyles are nothing like mine, I still believed in them and was rooting for them almost from the off. There are some very funny moments (mainly thanks to Norman the flatulent hound) but at times it’s also quite a poignant and thought-provoking read.

My favourite Jojo Moyes novel is still Me Before You (which would take some beating) but that said I was thoroughly entertained and amused by this very engaging tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully uplifting and take-you-out-of-yourself romantic family story from Moyes, 27 Feb 2014
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
There's 'chick lit' and then there's 'chick lit' (sorry - I dislike the term too). Some I wouldn't touch with a bargepole - I like a bit of 'meat' and depth which is often lacking. Since reading a World Book Night copy of 'Me Before You', I've mentally added Moyes to my list of 'willing to try more' writers. This sounded promising.

And it was. Even though at the heart of it is a basic boy-meets-girl, it's really a story about families. As with Me Before You, it starts with a rich, successful businessman and his life-changing problem - computer whizz-kid Ed is accused of insider trading and banished from his joint directorship while the case is investigated. A million miles away on a council estate, Jess is struggling with two jobs, two children and no child maintenance from her estranged husband. Working in a pub and running her own cleaning business, one of her customers one day rudely shuts a door in her face, having a bad day of his own.

It's a pure romantic-movie shuffle that get these two main characters into the same scene. And then another. It's the kind of story where you WANT certain things to happen, and the characters are well-enough written for you to feel you know who they are, you understand them, you want things to turn out well for them.

This applies to the other two main characters - just as important to the story are the children. Teenage Nicky is everything a typical teenager often is - withdrawn, sullen, introspective. Favouring gothic make-up, he becomes a target for a vicious local family. Younger Tanzie is also struggling in her surroundings, having an affinity for mathematics but no way of climbing out of the local school system in which Jess knows she'll also become a victim. Nicky's growth in particular through the book is one of the most enjoyable facets of the story. Tanzie adds a lot of the humour and heart to the story. As does the drooling, shedding and rather flatulent dog mountain, Norman.

And the story turns on Tanzie - a maths competition in Scotland forces Jess's story away from the council estate, it could raise the money to send Tanzie to a private school where she could thrive. But how can they get there?

Jess is impossible to dislike. She's hardworking and self-sacrificing, ever-optimistic, and just trying to make ends meet and scrape together a decent life for her small family. Her relationship with Ed is believable - he's shaken into awareness of those around him by her response to his rudeness and his growing admiration for her and her children allows him to see both his own personal problem and tense family situation in a clearer light. Ed is not a perfect hero, but with flaws and tics (wearing identical clothes every day to avoid the effort of planning an outfit) he's also hard to dislike.

We have a family drama, a road movie, a tentative romance, all bound up in a car with our four characters (and of course Norman), in which each of them go on their own little journey inside the slowly northbound car. At times you don't want the road trip to end. I really came to like the four of them, could see each of them clearly as I read, and knew just what I wanted to happen.

And at the end (no spoilers), I was pleased with how Moyes chose to bring the strands together and settle the story. Realistic and without sappiness.

If you're a fan already of Moyes, you'll continue to be pleased. If you've never tried her, I can recommend this if you are looking for something that isn't a difficult read, treads a well-worn path with style and humour, and entertains with a touching little family love story.

Review of a Netgalley advance copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greaf read, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
I discovered this author recently & have thoroughly enjoyed her writing style.
This is a lovely story of a very down to earth mum, struggling to keep afloat on her own, with 2 children & 2 jobs.
Meeting & doing good for a mere acquaintance, creates some new challenges in her life. None of them easy.
I really enjoyed this story & it's 'real life' scenarios.
Thoroughly enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVOURITE AUTHORS...SHE NEVER FAILS TO DELIVER, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
I first started reading Jojo Moyes' brilliant books a few years ago, and was hooked from the 1st one. I actually have every single one of her previous books as hard copies...yup real books! :), as I bought them pre-kindle purchase, and they're all keepers. Every single one has been unique, with a completely different vibe, setting and story line. Contrarily every single one has been exactly the same in that they are so realistic and touching, with such depth that other authors' efforts unfortunately pale in comparison every time.
This one is about life, pure and simple. The way it's told, from all of the character's points of view, makes it very real and honest. I won't waffle on about the story, as the synopses says enough and I don't want to spoil it. Suffice to say that I think that this author is as much of a genius with words as Tanzie is with numbers. I always feel like I know every single character when I finish one of her books and actually miss them...she really hits the mark for me...consistently outstanding ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 18 Aug 2014
By 
S. Goddard (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The One Plus One (Paperback)
This is the first book I've read by Jojo Moyes and I absolutely loved it! I've always enjoyed road trip films and books and this is such a good one. The characters especially the children came alive and now that I've finished the book I'm still thinking about them and finding it hard to move on to another book. I'll be reading more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, story where the children steal the limelight!, 25 July 2014
By 
Arkgirl (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
Having read and loved 'Me before You' and enjoyed, with reservations, 'The Girl you Left Behind' I was intrigued to see what I would make of her most recent offering. Overall I found it enjoyable, amusing and sweet, she has a very easy style to read and it would make a great holiday choice, but it does have some predictable elements and 'suspension of belief' plays a part!
Jess, a bright young woman, has ended up in two dead end jobs to try to keep her family together. Her family comprising her two children: her daughter, Tanzie, who is a mathematical genius; and Nicky, her step son, who she has been left to bring up by her ex husband and is struggling with a variety of issues.
Through her cleaning job and work at the pub she encounters Ed, a computer whizz kid has let pillow talk about a trading issue lead to major problems with the financial regulators, and this meeting leads to a very strange 'road trip' with some genuinely moving moments.
I did enjoy the growing relationship between Jess and Ed but I think the it is relationships between Jess and the two children that are actually the most interesting, to me. The pressures on Nicky and Tanzie have you rooting for them, this is what lifts this read from 3 to 4 stars!
I will certainly read more by JoJo Moyes as she creates flawed, credible characters woven into interesting plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
A perfectly lovely read. Highly recommend this book I just didn't want it to end, it is so well written. Very heart warming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic loved it!!, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic!! Couldn't put this book down.

Disappointed when I had finished this book.....it made me laugh and cry it was well written from beginning to end. Great story line.......I loved it. I would like to thank my friends for telling me about this book and look forward to reading more of her novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The One Plus One., 29 April 2014
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
This is the story of the Thomas family, an average sort of family who are on the verge of crises.Jess is a single mum to Nicky and Tanzie.Nicky is a teenage Goth who just doesn’t seem to fit in anywhere. The Fishers, the local bad family, make his life hell.Tanzie is an eleven year old Maths genius. Tanzie is so good at Maths that she has been offered a scholarship to the local private school.Ed is a young, handsome IT geek who has been accused of insider trading.Jess encounters Ed Nicholls first in her guise as a cleaner, and then in her role as a barmaid at the local pub. Jess has to work two jobs as she is struggling to make ends meet.Jess needs to get to Aberdeen so that Tanzie can win the Maths Olympiad to enable Jess to make up the remainder of Tanzie’s scholarship.Thus begins an extraordinary journey for the Thomas family, Ed and Norman the smelly family dog.Jo Jo Moyes is the queen of the higher end of the chick lit market along with Marian Keyes and Jane Green. This is another fantastic offering, which is compulsive reading. It is simultaneously heart breaking and funny. I loved “Me Before You”, but was a little disappointed by “The Girl You Left Behind”. I think that Moyes is definitely back on form with “The One Plus One”.The book isn’t fluffy or sugary. It is a hard hitting read about a family in trouble. Jess Thomas is only just managing financially and emotionally, and it doesn’t take very much for her to go under. Moyes writes well – her characters are beautifully formed and very believable. I really wanted things for Jess to work out well and the long journey in the literal and emotional sense is well worth reading.Real Readers provided me with a proof copy of this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Moyes, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One Plus One (Kindle Edition)
I find JoJo Moyes one of the easiest contemporary writers to read. Her observational powers and strong sense of humour make the reader engage to the full with the characters, warts and all. Whilst the One Plus One lacks the poignancy of some of her other works (Me before You) it is none the less compelling and pacey. Would definitely recommend and makes a particularly good holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The One Plus One
The One Plus One by Jojo Moyes
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews