Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic
Katie Melua's velvet voice, combined with haunting melodies and deep lyrics which you just can't help but pay complete undivided attention to, makes this album one of the must-haves of the year.

"I Will Be There" has to be my favourite song of the entire year. Katie's voice sings this like no one else could.

My only criticism of this album...
Published 10 months ago by Kat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A touch of class
This album seems that Katie has grown up. It is let down by a couple of lightweight tracks, Idiot School and Shiver and Shake. However, Sailing Ships from Heaven and Where does the Ocean Go compensate and the other tracks still demonstrate her classy and unique voice. Hardened Melua fans will consider the whole album worthwhile. For me its like the Curates egg
Published 6 months ago by Jeremy Parkes


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 2 Dec 2013
This review is from: Ketevan (Audio CD)
Katie Melua's velvet voice, combined with haunting melodies and deep lyrics which you just can't help but pay complete undivided attention to, makes this album one of the must-haves of the year.

"I Will Be There" has to be my favourite song of the entire year. Katie's voice sings this like no one else could.

My only criticism of this album would be that the full orchestral version of 'I Will Be There' isn't featured on this album - such a shame! I would definitely suggest buying the mp3 along with this album. The full concert recording is utter perfection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Timeless, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ketevan (Audio CD)
The release of "Ketevan" (Katie's Georgian birthname)marks her sixth studio album since her multi platinum debut "Call Off The Search" in 2003.

There was always something warm and comforting about Katie's voice as she caressed the lyrics of Mike Batt's timeless songs in her previous albums and the delightful "Ketevan" continues that tradition. There is an effortless blend of pop and jazz - tinged with the blues - about her style and Mike Batt knows how to let her unique voice lift the songs and the music to a place where angels dwell. This elegance is captured in blue with the gorgeous ballads "Never Felt Less Like Dancing" and "Sailing Ships From Heaven".

In contrast I love the retro jazz sound of "Mad Mad Men" and "Idiot School" and the melancholy bluesy feel of "Love Is A Silent Thief". But the album's finest moment is the haunting Mike Batt song "I Will Be There" that he was commissioned to write for the 60th anniversary of the coronation of Her Majesty The Queen.

This beautiful song brings together melody, lyrics, orchestra and voice in a showcase for the glorious rapport that exists between Katie Melua and her mentor, Mike Batt. Long may it continue to flourish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal Clear Katie, 7 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ketevan (Audio CD)
Spent my Christmas gift money on this Katie Melua album, and what a great choice ! I have a fair few of her CD's now and have heard her perform live at Hampton Court Palace Summer Festival in 2012 - she is consistently good. This new album is no exception with her crystal cut diction and succinct sublime songs, all of which are brilliant, my very favourite is 'I Will Be There'. I agree with other reviewers, in so much as the fade out should be longer (after all you can't have too much of a good thing), and not having heard the full version with orchestra's final note, one can only imagine how divine this would sound.

Can highly recommend, if you are wondering how to best spend your Christmas money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 18 Oct 2013
By 
C. Boam (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ketevan (Audio CD)
Wasn't sure after the first play but now I suspect there's a danger that the laser in the CD player will be burning through the disc! Some great tracks written by Mike Batt, beautifully presented by Katie. I just can't get enough of the CD at the moment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ketevan album, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: Ketevan (MP3 Download)
This is a beautiful album from Katie Melua would highly recommend lovely songs with meaningful words. Go on and try the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars play more than once, play in parts, 10 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. B. P. Fitzpatrick "Music mellow" (Newry. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ketevan (Audio CD)
Had not purchased any recent stuff from Katie because I thought she had lost an edge or true distinction of what she wrote and would sing about!
This is a slow burner, it needs more than a few listens to begin to truly appreciate what is going on!
Stick with it because it does prove her calibre as a song writer and as a singer. Each song begins to have its own character so the listener begins to hear the more than what they may think is a sameness to previous material!
The last track is my favourite because i was humming the hook line after the first play and this really encouraged me to listen the album in parts as opposed to hearing it all complete! It was this approach that made me ponder and alter my first impression!
It is worth more that a few plays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ketevan (Audio CD)
Good CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ketevan (Audio CD)
cannot stop playing it brill songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
By 
David P. Ashurst (Barry. South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ketevan (Audio CD)
Typical Katie Melua
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful collection of songs, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ketevan (Audio CD)
........a wonderful collection of songs, must admit it took me a while to fully apreciate this albums collection but now this is a favourite CD and I would not be without it !

Have purchased an additional 3 now, todate, and sent them as presents to friends for their enjoyment, something I have never ever done before!

I hope you purchase this latest album from Katie Melua and find the same enjoyment in it as I have,.....hood down in the old MX5, warm wind in your hair and this compelation bouncing from the speakers !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ketevan
Ketevan by Katie Melua
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews