Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasures - Renee Fleming, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guilty Pleasures (Audio CD)
I purchased my first CD of this singer early this year. Since then I have bought five others. I have been married for fifty years and am now in love again. Few singers have managed to make me misty eyed, but she succeeds effortlessly. The range of her voice and her delivery stuns. I am no expert technically, but she must be on of the best Sopranos in the world. I do not have a second language sadly, but I have typed the words to her songs in large type (kindly provided in her covers) and can thus drown myself in the luxury of her voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasures C.D., 22 Dec 2013
By 
N. M. Smith "book watch" (Scotland, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guilty Pleasures (Audio CD)
Absolutely first class. Beautifully recorded and even more beautiful performance by Rene'e Fleming. The information booklet has been excellently produced in Black printing on White -- no problems with reading ! Thumbs up to Decca!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasures., 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guilty Pleasures (Audio CD)
Renee Flemming voice is always `perfection`. And on this recording it is astonishing. I just wish that I could find some disappointing aspect or criticism of this diva`s voice. But can find none. It is just superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real charmer, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Richard Moore (WA Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guilty Pleasures (Audio CD)
Renee Fleming stays on the right side of kitsch and the result is a truly lovely compilation beautifully sung and recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just lie back and enjoy it, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Ralph Moore "Ralph operaphile" (Bishop's Stortford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guilty Pleasures (Audio CD)
Old hands will already know if they like Renée Fleming's smoky, lustrous soprano as I do, so I suggest that if you do you will find here everything to satisfy your desire to hear this glorious voice caress some of the most beautiful melodies in the classical repertoire.

Just the presence of that most stately yet affecting of arias, "Ombra di Nube", was enough to make me buy this disc. Does Fleming efface memories of the divine Claudia Muzio? No; the combination of incipient frailty and suppressed hysteria in Muzio's account is here replaced by a more measured mellowness but the glorious sound given to Fleming and her creamy legato afford their own pleasures.

This is a voice still in its prime because, now approaching her mid-fifties, Fleming has looked after it and paced her career very carefully. Fleming sings in seven languages and at no point seems to be stretched beyond her already ample vocal resources. I can hear no deterioration or even change in her voice since she burst upon the international scene twenty-five years ago. The trill is intact, the top notes floaty, the lower register trenchant. Her French diction is a bit mushy but that is a drawback inherent in a soprano which eschews Gallic brightness in favour of Latinate warmth; the slightly husky sound is ideally suited to the musky, Arabic melismata of Falla's songs or the erotic, languorous Songs of the Auvergne by Canteloube. She pays tribute to her long-standing partnership with mezzo Susan Graham by their singing together the Flower Duet from "Lakmé". The Dvorak song bears an uncanny but not unwelcome resemblance to the celebrated "Song to the Moon" from"Rusalka".

A thematic rag-bag this compilation may be, but her fans won't care and you won't hear a more seductive assemblage of vocal plums than this homage to the supremacy of pure melody - nor have we heard a plusher, more velvety sound since Leontyne Price in her glory years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not her best, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guilty Pleasures (Audio CD)
Renee Fleming has a beautiful voice. Some of the material was new to me and I found it a little heavy going. The flower Duet was a bit disappointing were the soprano was too strong. For all that a reasonable price for a reasonable CD. I am sure Renee followers and fans will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasures, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guilty Pleasures (Audio CD)
Renee Fleming is today's greatest soprano and this recording of Guilty Pleasures is amazing, First Class recording by a First Class artist. Carol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very fine voice indeed., 10 Nov 2013
This review is from: Guilty Pleasures (Audio CD)
Renee Fleming possesses a very fine voice indeed, as demonstrated on this disc. It does not have the depth and timbre of the voice that Te Kanawa possessed in her prime. It's just slightly thin. But Fleming uses what she possesses extraordinary well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 31 Oct 2013
By 
D. A. G. Charles "Notabanker" (Cambridge, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guilty Pleasures (Audio CD)
Renée Fleming is always wonderful. I was not familiar with many of the tracks this makes the CD much more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic album from Renee, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guilty Pleasures (Audio CD)
A unique voice and a superb album. A must for all conoisseurs of "the beautiful voice" after being disappointed with her last album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guilty Pleasures [+digital booklet]
Guilty Pleasures [+digital booklet] by Philharmonia Orchestra and Renée Fleming and Sebastian Lang-Lessing
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews