Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value EP inc 5 b-sides and some strong remixes
As per the format of last single from HOM album, the upbeat "Night Cafe" is released as a CD EP/mini album collating all b-sides (+1 new one) from previous singles, and a selection of remixes. Whilst there is no OMD extended mix, the Metroland remix is excellent as it keeps a lot of the original track, with their extra elements. All 4 remixes are full vocals, and are very...
Published 12 months ago by M. B. Wilson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Why? This has to be the loudest over-mastered cd I ever purchased! I do own all of the b-sides on vinyl and they sound fine on wax. Someone was a bit heavy handed on the cd mastering. The remixes? Well, I'll leave that up to someone else. OMD make fine music. Other people destroy their tracks.
Published 11 months ago by elektrolad


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value EP inc 5 b-sides and some strong remixes, 20 Sep 2013
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night Cafe (Audio CD)
As per the format of last single from HOM album, the upbeat "Night Cafe" is released as a CD EP/mini album collating all b-sides (+1 new one) from previous singles, and a selection of remixes. Whilst there is no OMD extended mix, the Metroland remix is excellent as it keeps a lot of the original track, with their extra elements. All 4 remixes are full vocals, and are very listenable, which is not always the case these days (as demonstrated by some remixes of recent Depeche Mode singles)! The b-sides are a wee bit solemn when batched up like this, particularly "Kill Me", but there is some interesting material amongst them nonetheless. Very good value, and for the OMD collector/completist this is a 'must have' item. Comes in standard card digipack sleeve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only downloaded 'Kill Me', 4 stars for that, 28 Sep 2013
This review is from: Night Café (MP3 Download)
I only downloaded 'Kill Me' and my four stars is for that, Night Cafe' is a good song but I have that on 'English Electric'. Not really interested that much in the Night Cafe' remixes. Kill Me is a beautiful haunting song that was sadly left of the English Electric, sacrilege really. It moves along the same lines as their classic and beautiful ballad 'Sealand'. Gorgeous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Cafe (Audio CD)
Been a big OMD fan for 30 odd years and I thought the new album was OK. I thought Night Cafe sounded a little bit too 90s Europop and I think there were better choices for single from the album. But, I suppose it doesn't really matter as it won't get any real airplay anyway.

On the face of it this is a good value CD single as the amount of tracks and play time add up, but really the extra tracks (particularly the remixes) are pretty superfluous but the price of admission alone is worth "The Great White Silence" which was the b-side of "Metroland"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMD fans plus anyone, 20 April 2014
By 
R. Nicklin (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Cafe (Audio CD)
Bought the LP - old bloke speak for CD - when it was first released and while waiting for the next fantastic output bought this jem.

Well worth the pennies as even the remixes are brill - enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, A+, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Cafe (Audio CD)
Really good to finally have this item, been waiting for it for a long time. Very glad to finally have it at last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Man`s Land, 11 Feb 2014
This review is from: Night Cafe (Audio CD)
I can take Night Café in small doses - nothing great, but listenable. The highlight of this package is No Man`s Land. McCluskey at his best. Kill Me is also a wonderful track, well worth parting with a couple of quid for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic OMD and great value., 8 Jan 2014
By 
Alan Kyle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Cafe (Audio CD)
This is like a sister album to "English Electric" it has all the B sides from the singles from EE, and all the remixes of "Night Cafe" it is a must have to compliment EE so just buy it and enjoy the extra unheard tracks if you didnt buy the singles from EE. The world is a better place with OMD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a stellar EP, 16 Nov 2013
By 
John Belvedere "theBelvedere" (Toronto, ON. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Cafe (Audio CD)
can't thank OMD enough for this, a fine supplement to the album - hope there's another to come from the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift for my son, he loves it, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Cafe (Audio CD)
all i can say is it was a gift and my son loves it. He has been a fan for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars just like there old stuff, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Cafe (Audio CD)
back to the eighties,just like there old stuff.very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Café
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews