Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album
Truly rarities is a rare album, it contains Frank's version of Wolverton Mountain, a great version of Just One Time and if you are a Frank Ifield fan, and who isn't to get some of the tracks from long out of print LPs and such is a true delight. I am sure that there would be enough for another double Cd set of rarities, and perhaps even seek the public's help in...
Published 17 months ago by Timothy Kingston

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so rare!
You get a lot of music for your money here, 59 tracks in all, and it took me a while to get round to actually appreciate them. First I must tell you that the linear notes, by Frank Ifield and Paul Hazell, are required reading for a better understanding of the recordings as I am sure, many of which you may never have heard before. I know I hadn't but they are...
Published 9 months ago by michael savage


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
Timothy Kingston "Topkat" (Hobart Tasmania Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rarities (Audio CD)
Truly rarities is a rare album, it contains Frank's version of Wolverton Mountain, a great version of Just One Time and if you are a Frank Ifield fan, and who isn't to get some of the tracks from long out of print LPs and such is a true delight. I am sure that there would be enough for another double Cd set of rarities, and perhaps even seek the public's help in determining what tracks to make it onto volume 2 of Rarities. Some tracks from Babes In Arms, we do have Nottingham fair, but not Lincoln Green and the fabulous "Tick Tock" song, and from Blue Moon we have a few tracks such as the Great Ned Miller song Dark Moon but we do not have Blue Skies.I am wanting too much I know but Frank has so many tracks out there it would be great to have a 10 CD set, we have the A sides and the B sides which is superb, but so many of his tracks appeared only on LP/Cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rarities Frank Ifield, 7 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Rarities (Audio CD)
i have had this double CD sometime now it has been available via Frank's website, it is a fantastic double cd crammed with delights, a must for anyone who enjoys good music from a great singer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value but frustrating, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
Sceptical old man (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rarities (Audio CD)
This is a fabulous value double CD, 59 tracks for under £6, and excellent sound quality. Absolutely no gripes on that front. Frank was a prolific recording artist in the 60s and unlike many singers there was clear distinction between his singles and his albums. Very few of his singles were included on subsequent albums other than those that were clearly [hit] compilations. Therefore this issue contains no hits. The majority of the tracks are country songs sung with Frank's distinctive vocal often produced by the legendary Norrie Paramor, a very easy on the ear easy listening experience that has stood the test of time. I loved listening to it.

So why have I docked one star? I have done so because the compilation is frankly [sorry!] an unstructured muddle. It is called a 'rarities' album and by and large the tracks are rare but not in all cases. Let me illustrate the point by reference to Frank's first UK album after he hit the big time with 'I remember you'. The album was called 'I'll remember you' and comprised 14 tracks. 5 were included in the 'Remembering the 60s' package over a decade ago, 6 are here but, of the 6, 4 were in the 60s package so between the 2 offerings just 7 tracks have been included. I know the earlier set came out years ago but I guess Frank's fanbase then and now is not much changed. This overlapping of songs applies throughout this latest set. [For purists, I must concede I am only looking at titles and not differentiating between mono, stereo or alternate versions]. Secondly there is no obvious logic in the track order. Songs from individual albums are not gathered together but scattered around amidst unreleased material.

I am sure that there is sufficient further material from his EMI albums to compile a 'Rarities, volume 2' set to ensure that all his album tracks get eventual CD release but it is a great frustration for me to find such a great value set compiled with so little apparent logic as to content and running order. I hope if EMI see fit to do another set that greater care is taken to ensure completeness rather than duplication. But still buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Stunning Release!, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
Adrian Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rarities (Audio CD)
Frank Ifield was a massive star here in the UK, and, in other parts of the world in the early 1960s. He had a unique voice and style of his own that set him apart from other singers and resulted in some big-selling singles, notably 'I Remember You', She Taught Me How To Yodel', 'Lovesick Blues' and 'Call Her Your Sweetheart' among others.

This album is called 'Rarities' as that's exactly what most of the songs on this compilation are. Some are being released in stereo for the first time, some are making their debut on cd and 4 are previously unreleased in any format.

Other reviewers have complained about the running order of the compilation, however, i think on the whole, the majority of people will be delighted to get the chance to hear these rare tracks and will not be bothered in which order they come.

The compilation is immaculately presented, with a good informative booklet, featuring notes from Frank himself and from the people behind this project.

If you are a Frank Ifield fan, go ahead and treat yourself to this- you will LOVE it. If you're not so familiar with Frank's music, but like Country music or the music of the early 1960s, it would also be worth you trying this- i think you might like it- and become a Frank Ifield fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a bargain, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
M. A. Dunnington (Stourbridge, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rarities (Audio CD)
59 tracks from albums long lost in the vaults. All in glorious stereo. And at a ridiculously low price.
Thank you Warner Music ...the new owners of the Parlaphone catalogue.......some great tracks, not all new to CD but all new to UK CD.....not everyone has been able to get the imports.
Great liner notes, including a detailed letter from Mr Ifield himself.
Superb reproduction on all the tracks.......a real bargain, and a treat for fans of Frank Ifield.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fabulous Frank Ifield release, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rarities (Audio CD)
Frank has such a rich beautiful voice and this 2CD set has just what the album title says - Rarities ! Didn't know he covered songs like "Take good care of her" , "Blue Bayou" amongst other rarities with his trademark yodeling I give it 5 stars for the track selection and the wonderful stereo sound reproduction........and at such a price for a 2CD set , you just can't go wrong. Buy and enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars missing track, 2 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Rarities (Audio CD)
This could have been a perfect release,except for the fact that they left out Frank's beautiful version of 'He'll have to go'
from the 'Born Free' LP.I think of it to be one of the best versions of this great song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money paid, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rarities (Audio CD)
Purchaced for my husband . Excellent value for money paid .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not so rare!, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rarities (Audio CD)
You get a lot of music for your money here, 59 tracks in all, and it took me a while to get round to actually appreciate them. First I must tell you that the linear notes, by Frank Ifield and Paul Hazell, are required reading for a better understanding of the recordings as I am sure, many of which you may never have heard before. I know I hadn't but they are representative of ten of Ifield's albums and for a little over six quid it's a steal. These are not the hits but like all albums, they are the gems that have been hidden away and not seen daylight until now. Here's what you are in for:
FIREBALL MAIL. COLD COLD HEART. I'M HURTING. DARK MOON. ROSES FROM A STRANGER. DEVOTED TO YOU. TAKE GOOD CARE OF HER. LONG GONE. LOVE SONG OF THE WATERFALL. WHO CARES. LIGHTS OF HOME. AFTER THE HEARTACHES. HERE COMES MY BABY. ROVIN' LOVER. WOLVERTON MOUNTAIN. JUST LET ME MAKE BELIEVE FOR A WHILE. I'M LEARNING CHILD. GIVE MYSELF A PARTY. BEFORE THIS DAY ENDS. GOOD MORNING DEAR. LONG GONE LONESOME BLUES. DON'T FORGET TO CRY. A LEGEND IN MY TIME. RAINBOWS AND ROSES. YOU'VE STILL GOT A PLACE IN M HEART. IN A MANSION STANDS MY LOVE. COOL WATER. ROVER NO MORE. STREETS OF LAREDO.
DISK 2]
MAURIE. WHEN MY BLUE MOON TURNS TO GOLD AGAIN. A STRANGER TO ME. CATTLE CALL. SWEET MEMORIES. RIDERS IN THE SKY. YOU AND ME AND HAPPINESS. JUST ONE TIME. I'M A FOOL TO CARE. HALF AS MUCH. LOOK WHAT THOUGHTS WILL DO. I FORGOT WHAT IT WAS LIKE. BLUE BAYOU. INNOCENT YEARS. FUNNY HOW TIME SLIPS AWAY. LOST LOVE. A HUNDRED DAYS. GONNA FIND ME A BLUEBIRD. LONESOME WHISTLE. SAN ANTONIO ROSE. HEY LITTLE BIRD. IF IT COMES TO THT. LOVE ME. HAPPY TRACKS. TUMBLING TUMBLEWEEDS. IT DON'T WORK THAT WAY. I JUST CAN'T LOSE THE BLUES. NOTTINGHAM FAIR. OLD MAN DUFF. PECOS BILL.
The recordings are very good and original, however of course modern technology can make mono a stereo without a loss of quality. This is Sunday music, to read the papers or eat eat lunch by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Australian Icon to be well remembered, 21 May 2014
By 
TK (Pattaya, Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rarities (Audio CD)
I was still living in England when Frank Ifield claimed the Number 1 spot on the charts with I Remember You and I have to confess I was hooked. Frank had everything going for him and it was a tragedy when collapsed lungs were to prematurely end his career as a singer. Fortunately for all of us, however, there is a treasure trove of recorded Frank Ifield Hits to be found as well as songs you may never have heard.

"Rareties" fits very well into Frank's discography as it contains some real gems that also give an insight into his personal preferences in styles, songs and artists he admires and respects. You can't really describe a musical treat in words so just go buy this because it's damned good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rarities
Rarities by Frank Ifield (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews