Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars112
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2011
Play it cool is a fantastic film I am a Billy Fury fan from the 60s so this was a must to own with lot's of Rock & Roll music From Billy Fury & The Satellites, Bobby Vee, Shane Fenton,Helen Shapiro and Danny Williams.

If you are a Billy Fury Fan or you like the 60s era this is a Great film to buy, if your like me trying to find Great Old Films on DVD instead of Video I found Play It Cool from [...] As I've been looking for hard to find films on dvd for a while.

Mr A Nicholls.
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2009
A good film, Just like it was in the early days,
Some great artist appearances, Helen Shapiro, Jess Conrad And many more,
If you are a Billy fan you need to watch this.
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
This is exactly how we churned out pop films in the sixties, so I rate it 5-star as it compares favourably with all and better than some. What in heavens name is the problem with the current 3-star reviewer, I don't know. One bland comment suggests that, and I quote: "Dennis Price actually looks quite embarrassed". Duh! I am guessing that the reviewer hasn't seen many films featuring Dennis Price (spelt with an i, not y). Just look at Dennis Price in the 1949 film: Kind Hearts And Coronets thirteen years earlier - same Dennis Price and pretty much identical acting - that's Dennis Price folks!

Anyway, let's not detract too much from Billy Fury, who's acting and 'stage presence' in the film were impeccable, and the voice and style - superb! So it was a weak plot, so it might seem a little corny or dated to modern audiences (not me!). This was one well-acted and well-directed 1960's film. Billy was great. The supporting cast was great (including Dennis Price). Richard Wattis was a little troublesome to watch - but hey, that's showbiz. Highly recommended!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
Just wanted to say this new release today 12 February 2014, a new transfer from original cleaned film stock, is much better quality both in sound and picture, and it makes it much more enjoyable to watch.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
About time Billy's the greatest Ive waited a long time for this to come out can we also have Ive Gotta Horse on DVD please.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was a very popular film when originally released and I well remember going along to the cinema to see it. This new release by network is from an excellent original and is in all respects everything I had hoped for. A strong central performance from Billy Fury and many musical guests. Plenty of well known actors take part and keep the pace moving nicely. Great value.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
Contrary to M.W.Salter's review, I've always enjoyed watching this film. The soundtrack IS good with great songs all of which can be found on various CDs but which came out in the early 60's on an E.P. (Extended Play record - the size of the old 45s for the modern reader). Yes, Billy was not in the same league as Elvis acting wise but he does give the film it's punch and Michael Winner wisely turned it into a happy go lucky search for a lost girl. If you like the early 60's era, you'll love this inoffensive little gem. When it first came out, audiences were queuing round the block to get in to see the film.
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
Finally after all these years Play It Cool Britain's first twist film starring the legendary Billy Fury is going to be released for the first time on DVD. Before Beatlemania was even born Britain was in the grip of Billymania, and this film played a huge part in it. In 1962 a large audience of teenagers flock to their nearest cinema to see the movie, and within the first week it was a box office hit! Sadly the film slipped under the radar over the years, but the fans have never forgotten it. It's been a long wait, but somethings are worth waiting for. Hopefully the film will be remastered so it can shine once again. If your a fan of Billy Fury or rock n' roll this is a must have for your collection!

5/5 stars.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
A perfect slice of pre Beatle Britain. Billy Fury - admittedly not the greatest of actors - but without any doubt the most exciting UK singing star of the generation. A film not to be taken seriously but enjoyed for what it is - a musical romp around 1960's London in an age of relative innocence. Steam trains, pop stars,a deserted looking Gatwick Airport and Billy Fury ! - what more could you ask for?

The Network DVD is a gem - unlike previous inferior releases. Great picture, sound and extras! - and at a very good price.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Fun 1960s Billy Fury Musical. Anglo Amalgamated's Play it Cool still has it's charm today. Lovely to see Helen Shapiro singing a couple of numbers. The widescreen B&W photography comes across sharp & good sound quality. Network DVD are doing a good job in releasing these vintage films. Still waiting for Billy Fury's other musical (I've Gotta Horse) to be released.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)