Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars47
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2014
An interesting and enjoyable read in the Flashman style, exploring some of the unsavoury bits of Victoria's empire. Likeable, mostly believable, characters and a rollicking plot kept me reading and I would eagerly read this author's work again. However, it would benefit from a good editor to sort out issues such as the confusing timelines of some key events and a couple of plot devices that stretch credibility; without these I would have given it 4 stars. Also, as it's based on true events, I'd have appreciated a footnote or preface detailing the real historical facts behind the tale.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
This book was a little too simplistic for my taste.

I found that, having some knowledge of both Africa and India, the author had taken too many liberties with facts, but it was a good 'Boy's Own' ripping yarn
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Good but not quite great, ok start, decent build up hurried ending, but good potential, hopefully there will be a follow-up
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Excellent read, colourful and laced with historical detail. The scrapes and escapes of Harry Flashman with the heroics of Richard Sharpe. I hope for a second installment soon
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
I mostly enjoyed this book and would recommend it as a light holiday read. It was fast paced and switched from South Africa to India easily enough, but I'd have liked some more detail.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
A good read, well written and it maintains a good pace throughout, with limited historical knowledge on this period, it would appear to have been well researched too.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
An interesting and fast moving story about the former colonial Army. I would like to see any similar books, maybe by the same author.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Having read a number of books related to the period
the story covered, l enjoyed the historical background
to the adventure. Moreover, I found the main characters
to be most interesting and funny. This is a great read
that all readers of historical fiction should take the
opportunity to enjoy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
As previous reviewers have said, a very enjoyable read which is enhanced by the very authentic sounding soldiers dialogue and an eye for military detail.
Geoff Rouse has the mix just right. I finished this quickly and immediately bought others by him, all of the same high standard and a treat to read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Once started the book keeps you reading as the diverse plots unwind
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse