Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE FOLLOW UP AND NOT JUST LEFTOVERS
This outfit 'rockhistory.co.uk' are churning out some incredible stuff, and if you go to their site you'll find vast informative write-ups on their concepts -- not like some 'make a fast buck' music organizations, they're obviously dedicated staff/fans seem very knowledgeable and must be congratulated on their nostalgic output covering British pop history. Always a lover...
Published 9 months ago by STEVIE

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Early sixties Instro
Some good tracks but also some dross. Loved "The Eagles" but then always did. Nevertheless, good value for money with 66 tracks.
Published 2 months ago by Mr. T. Hatch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE FOLLOW UP AND NOT JUST LEFTOVERS, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstars Mexicans Manhunts & Wonderful Lands (Audio CD)
This outfit 'rockhistory.co.uk' are churning out some incredible stuff, and if you go to their site you'll find vast informative write-ups on their concepts -- not like some 'make a fast buck' music organizations, they're obviously dedicated staff/fans seem very knowledgeable and must be congratulated on their nostalgic output covering British pop history. Always a lover of beat instrumentals, especially the atmospheric sort, I purchased Volume 1 'Hank, Bruce, Bert, Joe, Big Jim & more' (for want of a better way of putting it!), which covered the period from 1956-61. This follow-up again starts at 1956, but goes on a year further, and I can quite see why, but let me stress that they are in no way the scrapings of the barrel or stuff they didn't think was good enough to put on Volume 1. Volume 2 stands in its own right and is equally great. If my fading memory serves me right, the bulk of the tracks on both these volumes are from 1961 -- just after the Shadows scored their huge success with chart topper 'Apache', and obviously there was a flood of groups all trying to emulate their style. Both Jet Harris and Tony Meehan left the Shads to follow a career as a duo, changing labels from EMI to the 'opposition', the desparate Decca label. After that, Hank's line up seem to soften with the addition of cascading strings by the somewhat dated producer at EMI hoping to give them wider family appeal. They were never quite the same. Jet and Tony immediately charted with 'Diamonds', and when yours truly joined the Decca art department in 1962 as a very 'unaware' sleeve designer, my very first task on a Monday morning at 9.30 sharp, was the EP cover simply entitled 'Jet Harris', and its nice to see it on display in the packaging for Volume 2. How wonderful is that! Anyway, even if just for those hard to come by successful singles and EPs made by groups who either backed a solo act or never had an album out in their own right, I recommend BOTH collections. The only downside is, and its only a personal thing, I still much prefer a conventional plastic jewel case to the booklet type format which these come in, but I suppose its all down to cost. Otherwise, this is top stuff and I wouldn't be without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redsicovered Insrumental Gems, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. CA SMITH (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstars Mexicans Manhunts & Wonderful Lands (Audio CD)
I initially bought this collection for one track "Outbreak of Murder" by Gordon Franks. An atmospheric TV theme from a forgotten TV crime drama shown on the BBC on Saturday nights in the early sixties. I had it on a single had was delighted that it has finally appeared on a CD. This collection contains some gems such as the original version of "Wonderful Land" by The Shadows but minus the strings. However it has also revealed another favourite for me, "Sioux Serenade" by The Outlaws, I had never heard this before and cannot understand why this melodic track was not a hit at the time. With an astonishing 66 tracks you will find some rarities along side the more familiar ones. Early sixties British tracks are often overshadowed by the American ones, thankfully the Rock History series of CD collections is finally putting the record straight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE RARE AND WELL KNOWN, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Aa James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstars Mexicans Manhunts & Wonderful Lands (Audio CD)
This is another great selection in this rock history set of cds
it covers the rare and the well known . so if your an early instrumental
devotee like myself this is well worth looking into and adding to your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more gems, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstars Mexicans Manhunts & Wonderful Lands (Audio CD)
another collection of very good BRITISH instrumentals.
some of these groups never made albums so its good to be able
to get these tracks. I am now waiting for volume three
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twangers, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstars Mexicans Manhunts & Wonderful Lands (Audio CD)
I have looked for ages for instrumentals from yesterday's lists,very glad to have this compilation.Would recommend this to evryone from 60's teenage years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Early sixties Instro, 31 May 2014
By 
Mr. T. Hatch (Darwen, Lancs, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstars Mexicans Manhunts & Wonderful Lands (Audio CD)
Some good tracks but also some dross. Loved "The Eagles" but then always did. Nevertheless, good value for money with 66 tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstars Mexicans Manhunts & Wonderful Lands (Audio CD)
Excellent compilation for anyone interested in the great rock bands of the 60s.My all time favourite instrumental of the time was Golden Earrings by the Hunters. had this on a 45 vinyl ,but got lost over the years Happily tracked here.Also some rare stuff from the Shads.Good fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Telstars Mexicans Manhunts and Wonderful Landsa, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstars Mexicans Manhunts & Wonderful Lands (Audio CD)
My husband thinks it is wonderful. It arrived promptly which I was pleased about as it was for a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Telstars Mexicans Manhunts & Wonderful Lands (Audio CD)
Good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Telstars Mexicans Manhunts & Wonderful Lands
Telstars Mexicans Manhunts & Wonderful Lands by various artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews