Customer Reviews


1,109 Reviews
5 star:
 (853)
4 star:
 (147)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie For The Whole Family
DVD Info.
Format: PAL, Subtitled
Language: English
Subtitles: English, Portuguese
Dubbed: Hindi, Portuguese
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Region 2.
Rating : U.
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.78:1.
Running time 96 minutes.

Extras.
"Everything Is Awesome" Sing-Along
Fan Made Films: Top-Secret...
Published 14 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars irreverent fun
Surprised to read of so many kids enjoying this film. The dialogue is largely adult orientated, lots of in-jokes and linguistic puns. Subtitles required. Far too many mish-mash fighting sequences. And the doe-eyed love stuff is stupid.

The whole thing tries to underline the importance of self confidence. But it can't go down the road of personal independence...
Published 9 months ago by W. Rodick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun for the kids., 8 Jan. 2015
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I was super excited to finally see the "Lego Movie", and while I ended up singing "Everything is Awesome" for a couple of days, I was majorly unimpressed by the film. There are a lot of jokes, and a lot more pointless and slightly boring fighting, explosions every five minutes and many two-dimensional characters.

Don't get me wrong THE KIDS WILL LOVE IT. But it felt just a tiny bit dull and the end fizzled out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..AMAZING FUN FOR ALL THE FAMILY..", 19 Feb. 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lego Movie [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
No matter what age you are Lego is awesome! im surprised they waited this long to do this movie but I guess now the effects are up to their standards, its amazing how they captured the likeness of every brick and person that you have ever seen in Lego, amazing animation, great story that kids will love and there is plenty of stuff there for adults go chuckle at too, this is big bright and colourful fun from start to finish with a great voice cast and catchy dialogue and music, the 3D was pretty cool too not the best but still good to see, nothing bad to say really, I can certainly see plenty of sequels down the line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lego Movie 3D, 9 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Lego Movie [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The Lego Movie is something quite special indeed. For a film based entirely around a toy the story writers and directors could easily have taken the easy way out and just used it as a hour and a half advert for the product, but what the film provides is something much more akin to a Disney Pixar film...but crafted with our favourite plastic building blocks.
Emmet is a construction worker in Bricksburg, based off the Lego City range of toys. When he accidentally stumbles upon the key to stopping the evil Lord Business from taking over the world he is plunged into a madcap adventure starring both original and licensed characters from the Lego universe including Batman, Superman, the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Harry Potter and Shaquille O'Neal of NBA All-Stars fame.
Its a story that is outrageously funny, extremely well crafted and directed as well as surprisingly touching towards the latter part of the film.
The Lego Movie is an excellent film for the entire family...or even just the adults to relive their youth (because we all know you'll be watching it more than the kids will)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything IS Awesome!, 15 July 2014
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
In recent years Lego has become no stranger to mainstream success, evolving way beyond its original popular toy status and branching out into all sorts of media, so naturally a full motion picture was going to be inevitable.
One might be tempted to categorize this movie in the same sort of genre as the efforts made by Hasbro in recent years- that would be a mistake on your part, because the quality of this film is way above anything I would have expected. 

Going into this movie I really did struggle to figure out what it might be about, as Lego has got its fingers in so many different pies, it makes toys for dc and marvel as well as star wars, harry potter, lord of the rings and so many other amazing franchises. I assumed it might be a dc Lego movie, as the studio distributing the film is warner bros. I was wrong though, this film is about Lego, in every sense of the word, this is truly a Lego movie. 
For me, the great thing about Lego is that it is only limited by imagination and the Lego movie really plays to that, this film is kind of all over the place, it seems to have an attention span of a four year old that has just had a whole tub of coffee ice-cream, but that is not really a bad thing, as soon as one idea is done, and explored, its time to move onto the next one because that is what Lego is all about! Because of this we get to see all sorts of characters from Gandalf to Dumbledore, from green lantern to superman and of course the spaceman! The scenes of the story are constantly shifting as well we get to explore Lego cityscapes, the western frontier, utopias and dystopias, all of this eclectic story telling just makes the concept of the film better because Lego is just too versatile to be limited to one genre setting. 

The look of the film is great, adopting a YouTube Lego animated video type look, makes the whole thing just look brilliant, I really think avoiding the use of CGI for the most part was a great production decision. Adopting stop motion makes the film stand out as something a bit different as you very rarely see stop motion animation these days (or any traditional animation really!) But it also has the effect of taking you back to your childhood days where you would imagine what the little figures were saying and doing, this movie makes you feel like you are playing with Lego! 

The cast of this film is absolutely amazing with voices from the likes of Chris Pratt and Elizabeth Banks in lead and many amusing cameos such as Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum as Green Lantern and Superman respectively. The real gems are in the supporting cast with Morgan Freeman and Liam Neeson using their iconic voices to great effect and of course you have got to mention Will Arnett as Batman because HE'S BATMAN!

I went into this film thinking that it might be a bit of fun and good for a giggle or two, what I did not count on is coming out of the film thinking everything about this is awesome! (You'll get the reference if you've watch it) some might call this a 101-minute advert for a toy company, but I call it a reminder, a reminder of everything there is to love about Lego.
I can safely say that anybody that did not enjoy this film has obviously never played with Lego or have forgotten what is like to live in the magical world of your imagination. If that is the case I suggest you revisit your childhood and watch this film again because everything in the Lego movie IS AWESOME! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lego crazy, 24 Feb. 2014
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This very amusing and imaginative film from the makers of Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs absolutely delighted the children in our auditorium, to the point where one kid cried out, “This is the best film EVER!” I wouldn’t go that far, but in the afterglow of Pixar’s Golden Age, it’s definitely one of the better ones.

The plot concerns Emmet Brickowski, an everyman (voiced by Chris Pratt) – everyfigure? – thrust into the role of “Master Builder”, on a quest to vanquish the dastardly Lord Business (Will Ferrell). Business, president of Octan Corporation and the world, intends to glue everyone in their place. Emmet and his crew are out to stop him through the power of ideas – e.g. building and re-building stuff. It’s a modern American story, initially about individualism and entrepreneurism, and later about cooperation; sort of an anti-superhero film, with a light subversive streak.

The plot is fairly generic, but there are numerous surreal interludes throughout the film. Mostly these are enjoyable (I loved the visual allusion to 2001: A Space Odyssey), but there are certain ‘fourth wall’ scenes toward the end of the film that I found a bit sinister. I mean, obviously the film is an advert for Lego, but is there really a need to make the marketing so manipulative? The “Man Upstairs” scenes unashamedly employ soft-focus sentimentality to associate the product directly with parental love. Obviously young kids aren’t going to care much about the ideological use of marketing, but I think the otherwise perfectly laudable message of the film was enough without these overwrought scenes.

Now, back to the good stuff.

I don’t know what methods were used to create the look of The Lego Movie, and now I’ve seen it I don’t want to know. It may be all CG, but it has the look of stop-motion. It has a charming jerky grace which is unique in modern mainstream animation. The action scenes are frame-hoppingly chaotic, but I think this works nicely, capturing the way that children arrange their toys in tableaux (although they probably wouldn’t use the word “tableaux”).

In the main role, Pratt plays the part with dorky charm, while Ferrell channels his best Mugato as the villain. Morgan Freeman and Liam Neeson are on rare loose form as Vitruvius and Bad Cop/Good Cop respectively. My personal favourite is Batman, played by Will Arnett as a bitter, self-absorbed bully.

Product tie-ins could well be the shape of things to come, and if they can always be this smart and funny then I say bring them on. Manufacturers have made toys based on films for decades. This time it’s simply being done the other way around – and it proves that the result needn’t be Transformers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'CAN 'EMMET' - FULFILL THE PROPHECY' ?, 23 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lego Movie [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
'Emmet' is a regular guy, a construction worker, but not a master builder.....
'Lucy' believes 'Emmet' is the mini-figure of the prophecy, the guy that will
save the world from the 'Evil-Tyrant' 'Lord Business'
'Emmet' loves the idea of being important but seems to be out of his depth,
he is drafted into a fellowship of strangers (many well known characters from
an endless number of stories including 'Lucy's' boyfriend 'Batman' )
The 'Lego' characters must unite with unlikely hero 'Emmet' to stop the 'Tyrant'
from using the 'Kragle' to take over the World.
A cleverly constructed 'Lego' tale telling the age old story of 'Good' and 'Evil'
The story follows the imagination of Father and Son.
Many Well Known names voice the 'Lego' characters including -'Morgan Freeman'
'Will Ferrell' 'Elizabeth Banks' 'Liam Neeson' and 'Will Arnett' among many.
A great twist toward the end, a film for 'Kids' (of all ages)
A Great visual treat on both 2D and 3D. (Could say ....'AWESOME')
Special Features-
* Get a bricks-eye view of Emmets crazy adventures, then see how bricks were born
bringing LEGO to life !
* Have nonstop fun with a Director/Star Commentary, Outtakes, Everything is Awesome,
Sing-a-long and much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars over hyped, just watch the advert where its actually funny., 22 Aug. 2014
Watched this in the cinema in 3D.
I must say i found it very disappointing after watching the advert it seemed very funny.
Started to watch the film and found it very dull and ALL the good parts were in the advert.
Save yourself some money and just watch the advert.
It was so over hyped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars starts like panto, end is pants, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Starts well. Lots of energy action and humour. A bit like a panto the jokes are aimed more at the adults in the room whist the kids enjoy the visuals. Towards the end it seems to be confused about what kind of movie out wants to be and does not finish as well as it starts. Good fun overall though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Kids, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lego Movie [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Our children love this, and have watched it dozens of times already. However, they prefer to watch the 2D version, as they are young (7 & 5), and they prefer not to watch with the glasses on. This movie has inspired them to build lots of things out of lego. I would recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film for both Adults and children, 15 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Film: The film is fantastic and an excellent watch for both adults and children alike. Can't wait for the second film.

Blu-Ray: A good array of special feature. I know some people are critical of UV, but it's been a welcome addition which has been used a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lego Movie [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2014] [Region Free]
£13.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews