Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait ?
Give most children a pile of assorted Lego pieces and they will be able to build something, with a little imagination, as being recognisable. OK it may not look like one of the sets with instructions but that has always been the joy of LEGO.

This computer animated story follows Emmet, an ordinary, rules-following, perfectly average LEGO minifigure...
Published 9 months ago by Dragon Heart

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars irreverent fun
Surprised to read of so many kids enjoying this film. The dialogue is largely adult orientated, lots of in-jokes and linguistic puns. Subtitles required. Far too many mish-mash fighting sequences. And the doe-eyed love stuff is stupid.

The whole thing tries to underline the importance of self confidence. But it can't go down the road of personal independence...
Published 11 months ago by W. Rodick


‹ Previous | 1 2117 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait ?, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Give most children a pile of assorted Lego pieces and they will be able to build something, with a little imagination, as being recognisable. OK it may not look like one of the sets with instructions but that has always been the joy of LEGO.

This computer animated story follows Emmet, an ordinary, rules-following, perfectly average LEGO minifigure construction worker who is mistaken as the prophesied 'Special' and the key to saving the LEGO world. He is recruited into a group of strangers ( including Batman, Green Lantern, Wonder Woman & Lucy, Emmets new found friend, in fact she found him ) on an epic quest to stop an evil tyrant from gluing the Lego universe into an eternal stasis , a quest for which Emmet is totally unprepared.

It is funny from start to end but it is not until near the end that you fully under4stand the 'true' story behind the story.

With the voice talents of stars like Liam Neeson ( good cop / bad cop ), Morgan Freeman ( Vitruvius ), Will Ferrell ( President Business ) and Shaquille O'Neal ( Shaq )

Well was it worth the wait ? .... yet it was

'U' rated 100 minutes long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An irresistibly charming family adventure!, 9 Feb. 2014
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I, like most, was skeptical when news came that a Lego Movie was being produced. Then I discovered that the writer/directors, Phil Lord and Chris Miller, has also created Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs and 21 Jump Street, two films that I thoroughly enjoy watching. Then the trailer hit, and my interest started to peak. I still had my reservations, but I went into the movie with high hopes. I can't tell you how glad I am that I did.

Reviews have been nothing short of glowing, and while we often like to challenge their views, I completely agree with what they say. First of all, the animation. You may find it difficult to believe that you can watch a whole movie created with animated lego figures and not find it at least a little jarring. I thought that, even after five minutes of the movie had gone, but you soon get used to it and come to appreciate its unique style. I adored the sets, ranging from your stereotypical Western village to your stereotypical party resort. There was such attention to detail that you could practically look anywhere on the screen and be entertained by something (I saw Dumbledore showing off his dance skills in one scene). With regards to the 3D, it was very well done and perfectly enhanced every set and every action sequence, particularly one that involves a lego ocean.

The voice cast was utterly charming, starting with Chris Pratt, who has really come into his own as an actor. 2014 is sure to be a huge year for him. Supporting players such as Elizabeth Banks, a hilarious Morgan Freeman, Will Ferrell, Alison Brie and Will Arnett are each very strong additions to the movie. However, it is Liam Neeson who arguably steels the show. His change from Good Cop to Bad Cop is hilarious, and he isn't afraid to just go crazy and have fun with his character, which I liked seeing as he is normally quite a brooding actor.

The humour was not only flat out some of the funniest things I've heard in a while, it also came in rapid succession, and you may miss one or two jokes because you've been laughing for almost five minutes. I had a huge grin on my face throughout the entire film, especially the 'Everything is Awesome' sequence, which had the entire audience going wild. There truly is something for everyone in this movie; kids will love the sets and slapstick, while adults will relish the pop culture references and parodies of genre cliches.

Up until the last fifteen minutes or so, the movie is a hilarious, non-stop adventure that has everyone on the floor. However, Lord and Miller cleverly chose the final act to covey some touching messages that took me completely by surprise. It was like Toy Story 3 and How to Train Your Dragon all over again. Prepare yourself, this one's a tearjerker.

Overall, I simply can't recommend this movie enough. Yes, you could say the final third is somewhat 'controversial', and yes you could say the animation is distracting. But for me, this was the perfect family adventure that someone of any age can enjoy. It's also a movie that I would definitely be open to viewing multiple times; it's just that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emmet's odyssey, 1 Aug. 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Superheroes have been done movie wise. TV shows have been done. So what else can be turned into a movie? Toys and games!

GI Joe and Battleship happened. The Monopoly movie didn't. But a movie based on Lego has.

A movie based on a toy involving building blocks and toy figures.

Some of certain generations will have fond memories of using their imagination with Lego sets that allowed them to build whatever they wanted. Some more recent generations can get lego sets that let them build fantastic things. If they follow the instructions properly.

This movie could have been the latter. Safe and generic and corporate.

But instead the film makers have come up with something that uses lego firmly in the former category.

A work of imagination.

Bad guy lord Business wants to rule the Lego world and run everything his way. The forces that stand against him are seemingly crushed. But prophecy dictates that a special person will save the world.

Prophecy seems to indicate that person is Emmet. A very ordinary construction worker who is good at fitting in with the crowd. Caught up in the quest to save the day, can Emmet live up to expectations?

This is one of those movies that works on different levels for different generations. The stunning and very detailed animation will grab the attention right from the off. Things proceed at chaotic pace after that. But there's always so much going on that it hooks. From great character comedy between all the leads - Morgan Freeman and Liam Neeson in particular proving much more adept at this that you might have expected - to things happening in the background.

Of particular note as well is Will Arnett, who voices the best movie Batman ever. A Batman rather in love with his own image.

It may seem chaotic plot wise at times, and there may be times when it might not seem to make sense in that respect. But hang on in there, because it does know exactly what it's doing in regards to that. You'll see.

The central message of the movie, like lots of animations aimed at all ages, is about individuality and being yourself. It never hammers this home. And it's also smart enough to not get too sentimental. You'll see that as well.

It does feature a song that you will not be able to get off your mind for a long time afterwards. But it's an awesome and cheerful song, so it's a good mood lifter.

Do keep watching during the end credits for a full version of self penned Batman song that you only hear some of during the film.

A truly awesome movie, and a whole lot of fun.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, Hindi, Portugese.

Subtitles: English, Portugese.

The disc begins with an advert and a trailer, but you can skip both via the next button on the dvd remote.

There are two extras:

Everything is awesome sing along!: A three minute long video of the aforementioned song. Which also has karaoke lyrics for it. You won't be able to resist.

Fan made films-top secret submissions: a three minute long feature, introduced by Chris Pratt [who voiced Emmet] showing some fan made lego films that the directors asked people to make, some of which got to be seen in the movie. They're all absolutely awesome as well.

The box also contains a flyer with a code for downloading a copy of the movie to a digital device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome flick that captures the imagination of the toy itself!, 29 July 2014
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
When I first saw the initial trailer for The Lego Movie back in November, the first thing that went through my mind was, ‘HAVE to see this!’ Let’s be honest, Lego is the most imaginative, versatile and everlasting toy EVER created. It’s been that way for generations and its global appeal will doubtless continue to stand the test of time.

Now, previous Lego animations have either been stop-motion-based shorts (i.e. ‘Monty Python & the Holy Grail…in Lego!’) or CGI feature-lengths based on various Lego Franchises (i.e. Batman, Star Wars, Bionicle etc). The Lego Movie is the first true production to be released in cinemas…and it’s a REAL work of art.

Phil Lord and Christopher Miller are the masterminds behind it all, and they’ve produced a story that’s not only full of humour and excitement, but also heart. The protagonist is one generic Lego Minifigure; construction worker Emmet Brickowski, who just goes about his life until accidentally stumbling upon the legendary ‘Piece of Resistance’, the one thing that can thwart the evil Lord Business’ plan to end the world. Now a target from the forces of evil, and mistaken by the elite Masterbuilders (rebelling against the evil tyrant) for being the prophesized ‘Special’, Emmet finds himself unwillingly forced into the greatest adventure of all time.

The sheer imagination of The Lego Movie is worthy of the toy it’s based on. The multitude of endless creations, worlds and possibilities spawned by Lego is somehow captured brilliantly in these 96 minutes. And there’s all manner of cameos from Lego Minifigures galore, such as William Shakespeare, Abraham Lincoln, Milhouse (from The Simpsons), Michelangelo (from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles), Superman…the list is endless.

But the main-cast members themselves drive the story beautifully, loading the film with TONNES of charm to make you care about them individually. Emmet (Chris Pratt), Wyldstyle (Elizabeth Banks), Vitruvius (Morgan Freeman), Lord Business (Will Ferrell), Good Cop/Bad Cop (Liam Neeson), Princess Unikitty (Alison Brie), Benny (Charlie Day), Metal Beard (Nick Offerman) and of course, BATMAN (Will Arnett); ALL these characters have ample opportunity to steal your hearts, and the entire film is so full of surprises you’ll have a hard time keeping track!

Needless to say, it’s the animation that takes your breath away. Initially assuming this was all purely stop-motion, The Lego Move is actually computer animated, scanning endless Lego bricks to the point where it actually replicates textures, lighting and dirt-traces of the pieces themselves! I didn’t think computer animation could impress me anymore, but this shows how little I know. I don’t think there are any bounds for the future now. This animation is revolutionary!

So The Lego Movie is obviously recommended to kids of all ages, but the appeal of Lego is still carried on over to adulthood, so grown-ups will love it just as much. The DVD release has some nice features, such as the excellent selection of Fan-Made Films from the Lego Movie Competition itself, and the ‘Everything is Awesome’ Sing-Along (that song is just SO infectious!). However, if you’re after more, perhaps you’re better off turning to the Blu-Ray version for further special-features.

Quite possibly film of the year. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Film Sure Is Awesome!!!, 3 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
It shouldn't have work. It really shouldn't. You can imagine how everyone must have reacted when it was announced there was going to be a Lego movie. They must have moaned in despair, wondering what has become of films. So it's something of a surprise that THE LEGO MOVIE has ended up being one of the best movies of the year. I just wanted to see what the fuss is all about. Yes, THE LEGO MOVIE is for children, but it's also for adults to enjoy as well.

The film centers on an ordinary Lego figure, Emmet, who soon finds himself to believe to be the prophecy that will save the Lego universe from the tyrannical Lord Business. He then embarks on a journey accompanied by the likes of Wyldstyle, Virtuvius, Benny, Princess Unikitty, and last, but definitely not least, Batman (Batman? AWESOME!!!).

As well as having a great story, THE LEGO MOVIE has so many memorable characters. You forget that they're just toy figures and are characters who the audiences can easily identify with. The voice acting is terrific, the best ones being Will Ferrell as Lord Business, Liam Nesson as Good Cop/Bad Cop (his best role in a while) and Will Arnett as Batman. I was really impress of how they build these worlds and sets that appear in this film. It was must have been such hard work getting all done to bring it to life on camera, but it certainly was worth it! If the film's song, 'Everything's Awesome', doesn't win the Best Original Song award at the next year's Oscars, I will be a monkey's uncle. Also, I thought the plot twist towards the end of the film was really clever and it does can of work in the story.

Children will enjoy THE LEGO MOVIE for it's story, characters and animation, and the adults will enjoy it for it's humor, attention to detail, culture references and heart-warming message. Believe the hype, it's AWESOME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spaceshiiip!!!...., 8 Feb. 2014
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
The idea of a Lego movie really didn't entice my enthusiasm one Iota, and the trailer was even more discouraging.

But i'm here to say that this is one of the funniest, sweetest, family films I've seen in a while.

The premise is simple, a prophecy is held stating that a special master builder will find a piece that will defeat lord business, and stop him from destroying the world.

Jump eight and a half years later, we meet Emmet, an ordinary man who follows the instructions by the book, and goes unnoticed by his work colleagues and pretty much everyone in general.

That is until he spots a stranger around the building site, and he discovers the sacred piece, and a policeman who's less than friendly....

Suddenly his life changes forever....

First and foremost its a kids movie, but its a film for everyone. Not one of those movies that has separate jokes for adults, but one that the whole family can laugh at/with.

And the reason why the film works, is because it's just so bonkers that you cannot help but love it. One minute we have a wonderful Batman being cocky toward everybody, or Superman trying to avoid The Green Lantern, or Han Solo trying to find a party, to Milhouse.

There's something here for everyone. The voice work is brilliant, and even though the leads are brilliant Neeson steals the movie from everyone as his bad cop/good cop hybrid.

The adventure goes from world to different world, and each world carries a vast array of colour and character, but that's not the joker up the movies sleeve.

The final third spins the whole film on its head, and turns it into a totally different film that you were watching for seventy five minutes.

Its clever, funny, and most of all, touching.

Well worth seeing with the whole family, and see it before people tell you the secret....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars irreverent fun, 2 Aug. 2014
By 
W. Rodick (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Surprised to read of so many kids enjoying this film. The dialogue is largely adult orientated, lots of in-jokes and linguistic puns. Subtitles required. Far too many mish-mash fighting sequences. And the doe-eyed love stuff is stupid.

The whole thing tries to underline the importance of self confidence. But it can't go down the road of personal independence. It knocks big business quite well but can not show a lone figure working things out for itself. So it pulls its punches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant movie, appealing to Lego fans past and present, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed watching this movie with my daughter.

Most of the way through, I was reasonably content to sit back and let the plot (good vs evil, chosen one, magic artifact yada-yada) pass me by, and simply enjoy the low level jokes, the attention to detail, the fun characters, the hilarious parodies, and the shameless mocking of all manner of pop culture clichés and western life in general.

Only in the last half hour or so of the movie, when the underlying plot is really exposed, do you realise the absolute genius of the story; the amazing parallel between the Lego world's fight against "oppression" and what we've all experienced in real life as kids - when we've gone from diligently making kits from instructions, to letting our imagination run riot.

It means in the end the movie wins on every level - and I thoroughly recommend buying it because I genuinely think you could watch this many times in short succession and still spot new details to be amazed by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURCHASE - IMMEDIATELY!, 29 July 2014
By 
Mr. Daniel Wood "Lord D.C. Wood" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
An amazingly good film that's every bit as appealing and imaginative as the toy itself. Following the reluctant Emmet (Chris Pratt) and his friends, The Lego Movie sees the most unlikely bunch of heroes trying to save the Lego universe from the evil Lord Business (Will Ferrell), who intends to destroy it by GLUING it all together (GENIUS!).

Packed with great humour, adventure, charm and heart, The Lego Movie boasts endless possibilities and the hope for future sequels. There's some really nice extras on this DVD also, like Fan-Made Lego films and a Sing-Along to Tegan & Sara's 'Everything is Awesome'! Highly recommended to kids and grown-ups alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for kids, grown ups...even if you've never touched a Lego..., 25 Jun. 2015
By 
Long-Suffering Technology Consumer (Mid Atlantic, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I am old enough that Legos had not yet grown to the ubiquitous force in American toy chests that we've recognized for two generations. Just like a world without the Interwebz, where phones are attached to cords and where TV programming arrived only via antennas: yes, Virginia, there was once a world where the play of children did not include colorful plastic interlocking blocks (but don't worry kids, we still had toys with small parts to inflict pain on the bare feet of parents).

When the release of the Lego movie was announced, I gave a cynical eye roll, lowered my expectations and expected to never watch it. All I could imagine was that it would --like so many movies that clearly target a younger audience-- be an end to end marketing tool for Lego products. Since the action takes place almost universally in scenes that are Lego-constructed or Lego-inspired, the most cynical watchers of this movie could think that. But if they did, it means they would lose out on a movie that is entertaining, witty, though-provoking, visually dramatic and more fun that I could have ever imagined. And it does all this with a message that at its heart suggests (to me, anyway) in self-deprecating, anti-marketing way that using Lego blocks in ways not described in their kits may be better for us that precisely following those instructions.

As we learn at the movie's end, the tension between the movie's stifled protagonist (Emmet) and his principal foil, control freak Lord Business (aka President Business) is a metaphor for the tension between the order adults want to impose on kids and the freedom to explore that kids seek. Interspersed in the tale are wonderful, MMA-style takedowns of popular culture, movie memes, relationships, personal identity challenges, religion and politics. These are executed through tropes of "real" (yes, Batman has a big role) figures from art, and tropes (such as President Business himself, Good Cop/Bad Cop and others who advance the story).

Like many toy-centric movies that preceded the Lego movie, the interactions between the toy characters are being driven by the reality of the human world they exist in. The Lego movie foreshadows this nicely with the presence of non-Lego objects from the non-Lego world ("artifacts") that gain prominence in the iconography of Lord Business. The resolution takes place with live action human actors at the center (The Man Upstairs, Will Farrell and Finn, Jadon Sand). They are a father and son with different views on how to interact with the Legos in their basement.

Whether you've ever assembled a Lego structure or not: watch this movie. You'll be entertained (and you'll want to watch again to discover the non-strop stream of visual and narrative Easter eggs that populate this delightful flick).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2117 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lego Movie [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2014] [Region Free]
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews