Customer Reviews


353 Reviews
5 star:
 (268)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An irresistibly charming family adventure!
I, like most, was skeptical when news came that a Lego Movie was being produced. Then I discovered that the writer/directors, Phil Lord and Chris Miller, has also created Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs and 21 Jump Street, two films that I thoroughly enjoy watching. Then the trailer hit, and my interest started to peak. I still had my reservations, but I went into the...
Published 6 months ago by G. Stephenson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Art of Pacing
The non-stop hyper-frenetic action just becomes a meaningless visual noise after a while - you literally can't see what's happening as there's so much happening.
Big disappointment after seeing such a high review on Rotten Tomatoes (which is pretty much always spot on).
Published 17 days ago by P. Healy


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An irresistibly charming family adventure!, 9 Feb 2014
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I, like most, was skeptical when news came that a Lego Movie was being produced. Then I discovered that the writer/directors, Phil Lord and Chris Miller, has also created Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs and 21 Jump Street, two films that I thoroughly enjoy watching. Then the trailer hit, and my interest started to peak. I still had my reservations, but I went into the movie with high hopes. I can't tell you how glad I am that I did.

Reviews have been nothing short of glowing, and while we often like to challenge their views, I completely agree with what they say. First of all, the animation. You may find it difficult to believe that you can watch a whole movie created with animated lego figures and not find it at least a little jarring. I thought that, even after five minutes of the movie had gone, but you soon get used to it and come to appreciate its unique style. I adored the sets, ranging from your stereotypical Western village to your stereotypical party resort. There was such attention to detail that you could practically look anywhere on the screen and be entertained by something (I saw Dumbledore showing off his dance skills in one scene). With regards to the 3D, it was very well done and perfectly enhanced every set and every action sequence, particularly one that involves a lego ocean.

The voice cast was utterly charming, starting with Chris Pratt, who has really come into his own as an actor. 2014 is sure to be a huge year for him. Supporting players such as Elizabeth Banks, a hilarious Morgan Freeman, Will Ferrell, Alison Brie and Will Arnett are each very strong additions to the movie. However, it is Liam Neeson who arguably steels the show. His change from Good Cop to Bad Cop is hilarious, and he isn't afraid to just go crazy and have fun with his character, which I liked seeing as he is normally quite a brooding actor.

The humour was not only flat out some of the funniest things I've heard in a while, it also came in rapid succession, and you may miss one or two jokes because you've been laughing for almost five minutes. I had a huge grin on my face throughout the entire film, especially the 'Everything is Awesome' sequence, which had the entire audience going wild. There truly is something for everyone in this movie; kids will love the sets and slapstick, while adults will relish the pop culture references and parodies of genre cliches.

Up until the last fifteen minutes or so, the movie is a hilarious, non-stop adventure that has everyone on the floor. However, Lord and Miller cleverly chose the final act to covey some touching messages that took me completely by surprise. It was like Toy Story 3 and How to Train Your Dragon all over again. Prepare yourself, this one's a tearjerker.

Overall, I simply can't recommend this movie enough. Yes, you could say the final third is somewhat 'controversial', and yes you could say the animation is distracting. But for me, this was the perfect family adventure that someone of any age can enjoy. It's also a movie that I would definitely be open to viewing multiple times; it's just that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome flick that captures the imagination of the toy itself!, 29 July 2014
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
When I first saw the initial trailer for The Lego Movie back in November, the first thing that went through my mind was, ‘HAVE to see this!’ Let’s be honest, Lego is the most imaginative, versatile and everlasting toy EVER created. It’s been that way for generations and its global appeal will doubtless continue to stand the test of time.

Now, previous Lego animations have either been stop-motion-based shorts (i.e. ‘Monty Python & the Holy Grail…in Lego!’) or CGI feature-lengths based on various Lego Franchises (i.e. Batman, Star Wars, Bionicle etc). The Lego Movie is the first true production to be released in cinemas…and it’s a REAL work of art.

Phil Lord and Christopher Miller are the masterminds behind it all, and they’ve produced a story that’s not only full of humour and excitement, but also heart. The protagonist is one generic Lego Minifigure; construction worker Emmet Brickowski, who just goes about his life until accidentally stumbling upon the legendary ‘Piece of Resistance’, the one thing that can thwart the evil Lord Business’ plan to end the world. Now a target from the forces of evil, and mistaken by the elite Masterbuilders (rebelling against the evil tyrant) for being the prophesized ‘Special’, Emmet finds himself unwillingly forced into the greatest adventure of all time.

The sheer imagination of The Lego Movie is worthy of the toy it’s based on. The multitude of endless creations, worlds and possibilities spawned by Lego is somehow captured brilliantly in these 96 minutes. And there’s all manner of cameos from Lego Minifigures galore, such as William Shakespeare, Abraham Lincoln, Milhouse (from The Simpsons), Michelangelo (from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles), Superman…the list is endless.

But the main-cast members themselves drive the story beautifully, loading the film with TONNES of charm to make you care about them individually. Emmet (Chris Pratt), Wyldstyle (Elizabeth Banks), Vitruvius (Morgan Freeman), Lord Business (Will Ferrell), Good Cop/Bad Cop (Liam Neeson), Princess Unikitty (Alison Brie), Benny (Charlie Day), Metal Beard (Nick Offerman) and of course, BATMAN (Will Arnett); ALL these characters have ample opportunity to steal your hearts, and the entire film is so full of surprises you’ll have a hard time keeping track!

Needless to say, it’s the animation that takes your breath away. Initially assuming this was all purely stop-motion, The Lego Move is actually computer animated, scanning endless Lego bricks to the point where it actually replicates textures, lighting and dirt-traces of the pieces themselves! I didn’t think computer animation could impress me anymore, but this shows how little I know. I don’t think there are any bounds for the future now. This animation is revolutionary!

So The Lego Movie is obviously recommended to kids of all ages, but the appeal of Lego is still carried on over to adulthood, so grown-ups will love it just as much. The DVD release has some nice features, such as the excellent selection of Fan-Made Films from the Lego Movie Competition itself, and the ‘Everything is Awesome’ Sing-Along (that song is just SO infectious!). However, if you’re after more, perhaps you’re better off turning to the Blu-Ray version for further special-features.

Quite possibly film of the year. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun Movie For The Whole Family, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
DVD Info.
Format: PAL, Subtitled
Language: English
Subtitles: English, Portuguese
Dubbed: Hindi, Portuguese
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Region 2.
Rating : U.
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.78:1.
Running time 96 minutes.

Extras.
"Everything Is Awesome" Sing-Along
Fan Made Films: Top-Secret Submissions

Trivia.
1)Robert Downey Jr & Emma Stone were considered for the leading voice roles.
2)This is Morgan Freemans fourth Batman tie-in & his first animated movie.
3)Liam Neesons 3rd Batman tie-in to Batman.
4)Star Wars characters feature in this Lego movie which franchise is now owned by Disney who also own Marvel which is Warner Bros & DC's biggest superhero franchise rival.

Review.

The wizard Vitruvius attempts to protect the super weapon the Kragle from the evil Lord Business but fails to do so but warn the tryant Lord Business of the prophecy of called the Special will will find the Piece of Resistance to stop the Kragle.

Eight & half year's later.

A ordinary Lego figure named Emmet Brickowski who is just your average Lego mini figure construction worker comes across a woman named Wyldstyle who is searching for something after hours on Emmets construction site.

Investigating this mystery Emmet falls down a hole & finds the Piece of Resistance which Emmet is compelled to touch & then Emmet has vivid images & flashbacks before passing out.

He awakens to find he is held by Lord Business lieutenant who is Good cop /Bad cop were Emmet learns of Lord Business evil plans to destroy the Lego universe with the Kragle, But then Emmet is rescued by Wyldstyle who takes Emmet to see the Wizard Vitruvius who tells Emmet the prophecy of the Master Builder who is capable of building anything he desires with great speed & is not in need any instruction manual to do so, Yet Wizard Vitruvius & Wyldstyle are shocked to discover Emmet doesn't possess any of these enduring qualities.

Has Emmet been mistaken for the extraordinary Master Builder & if so will he be even willing to try & stop a evil tyrant?

Emmet & his friends eventually decide to team up & go on a incredible journey of danger & adventure to stop the evil Lord Business from gluing the universe together as they are the Lego universe's last hope of bringing down Lord Business tyrannical rule.

Timelord Thoughts.

This is 100 minutes of pure joyful entertainment.

I came out the cinema after seeing this movie with a huge smile on my face as I had thoroughly enjoyed this very funny & exciting Lego Movie.

The plot is full of mystery & intrigue that features some hilariously funny moment's & what this movie has in its favour over similar films of this type is a cracking paced script with heart.

The voice cast do well especially Will Arnett as Batman & Morgan Freeman as Wizard Vitruvius & I was surprised by how good this voice cast was that also includes Channing Tatum, Will Ferrell, Elisabeth Banks, Jonah Hill & Anthony Daniel's voicing C-3PO.

This is a entertaining family movie thats suitable for all ages which contains great humourous adventure & storytelling.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emmet's odyssey, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Superheroes have been done movie wise. TV shows have been done. So what else can be turned into a movie? Toys and games!

GI Joe and Battleship happened. The Monopoly movie didn't. But a movie based on Lego has.

A movie based on a toy involving building blocks and toy figures.

Some of certain generations will have fond memories of using their imagination with Lego sets that allowed them to build whatever they wanted. Some more recent generations can get lego sets that let them build fantastic things. If they follow the instructions properly.

This movie could have been the latter. Safe and generic and corporate.

But instead the film makers have come up with something that uses lego firmly in the former category.

A work of imagination.

Bad guy lord Business wants to rule the Lego world and run everything his way. The forces that stand against him are seemingly crushed. But prophecy dictates that a special person will save the world.

Prophecy seems to indicate that person is Emmet. A very ordinary construction worker who is good at fitting in with the crowd. Caught up in the quest to save the day, can Emmet live up to expectations?

This is one of those movies that works on different levels for different generations. The stunning and very detailed animation will grab the attention right from the off. Things proceed at chaotic pace after that. But there's always so much going on that it hooks. From great character comedy between all the leads - Morgan Freeman and Liam Neeson in particular proving much more adept at this that you might have expected - to things happening in the background.

Of particular note as well is Will Arnett, who voices the best movie Batman ever. A Batman rather in love with his own image.

It may seem chaotic plot wise at times, and there may be times when it might not seem to make sense in that respect. But hang on in there, because it does know exactly what it's doing in regards to that. You'll see.

The central message of the movie, like lots of animations aimed at all ages, is about individuality and being yourself. It never hammers this home. And it's also smart enough to not get too sentimental. You'll see that as well.

It does feature a song that you will not be able to get off your mind for a long time afterwards. But it's an awesome and cheerful song, so it's a good mood lifter.

Do keep watching during the end credits for a full version of self penned Batman song that you only hear some of during the film.

A truly awesome movie, and a whole lot of fun.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, Hindi, Portugese.

Subtitles: English, Portugese.

The disc begins with an advert and a trailer, but you can skip both via the next button on the dvd remote.

There are two extras:

Everything is awesome sing along!: A three minute long video of the aforementioned song. Which also has karaoke lyrics for it. You won't be able to resist.

Fan made films-top secret submissions: a three minute long feature, introduced by Chris Pratt [who voiced Emmet] showing some fan made lego films that the directors asked people to make, some of which got to be seen in the movie. They're all absolutely awesome as well.

The box also contains a flyer with a code for downloading a copy of the movie to a digital device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURCHASE - IMMEDIATELY!, 29 July 2014
By 
Mr. Daniel Wood "Lord D.C. Wood" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
An amazingly good film that's every bit as appealing and imaginative as the toy itself. Following the reluctant Emmet (Chris Pratt) and his friends, The Lego Movie sees the most unlikely bunch of heroes trying to save the Lego universe from the evil Lord Business (Will Ferrell), who intends to destroy it by GLUING it all together (GENIUS!).

Packed with great humour, adventure, charm and heart, The Lego Movie boasts endless possibilities and the hope for future sequels. There's some really nice extras on this DVD also, like Fan-Made Lego films and a Sing-Along to Tegan & Sara's 'Everything is Awesome'! Highly recommended to kids and grown-ups alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lord & Miller pull out another surprise hit, 10 Aug 2014
By 
Version I saw: UK cinema release (2D)
Actors: 6/10
Plot/script: 8/10
Photography/visual style: 8/10
Music/score: 6/10
Overall: 7/10
While it didn't quite live up to the astonishing word-of-mouth support it got, The Lego Movie is a rip-roaring success. This is especially remarkable when you consider what it is. Whoever heard of a movie based on a toy (that has no actual story associated with it) being good?
Directors Phil Lord and Chris Miller have previous on this, though. Their first movie was Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs, which is as goofy a title as I can remember, and no more than a one-gag set-up to boot... and yet they imbued it with a surreal humour that attracted audiences. Then they revived 80s TV series 21 Jump Street, and the record for that kind of adaptation is very patchy at best, but they pulled that round too. Lord and Miller seem to have their finger on the pulse of the zeitgeist.
Supported by a genius idea for an underlying theme, The Lego Movie looks stunning too. The graphics are impressively composed entirely from Lego blocks genuinely available to the public, composed into whole scenes and settings. The animators took the opportunity to throw in a million blink-and-miss-it sight gags, in a remarkable show of attention detail.
I have to say that, in contradiction to other views I have heard, I found the song 'Everything is Awesome' by Tegan and Sara, which is a prominent part of the film, to be annoying but catchy rather than actually good, although that is still a credit to T&S because that is the role of the song in the film. It is improved by the comedic rapping of The Lonely Island in the full extended version, heard over the end credits.
A host of star names, both playing their most famous characters and playing other characters of note, enliven the proceedings. This is appropriate, given that the Lego franchise's recent revival has been built on adapting iconic series such as Star Wars, Harry Potter and Batman into games using the Lego block style.
A sequel seems inevitable, and I hope it is still this good, now that they have the weight of expectation on them.
For my full review, see my independent film blog on Blogspot, Cinema Inferno: http://cinemainferno-blog.blogspot.co.uk/2014/08/the-lego-movie-2014.html
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A glorious slice of charm and fun, 3 Aug 2014
By 
Richard Hammond (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A glorious slice of family fun. We've watched the Lego Movie together three times now and the whole family, from three-year-old, through teenagers and up to us 40-somethings love it. The basic premise is simple: the world is made of Lego, not a cartoon of Lego but rather a world that conforms to the strict dot and click Lego principles. In that world lives everyman Emmett, who may or may not turn out to be 'the Chosen One' who will save the world from the strict rule of Lord Business.

The journey we go on charts Emmett's own ride from nondescript building site to the weird and fantastical outer limits of Lego building imagination. Along the way there are lots of laughs for everyone in the audience: prat falls and toy comedy for the toddlers, knowing current satire for the kids and big 'I used to have that set!' laughs for the adults.

The film has the feel of stop-motion but I understand is mostly CG, I view that as a plus in the Lego Movie because it affords the action a degree more fluidity than might otherwise be the case. The world built, however achieved, is gigantic in scale and ambition and works consistently throughout. You'll grin a wide childish smile at the ways in which the limitations and conventions of your days playing with Lego are liberally scattered throughout that world and even brought into the story, including a gloriously nostalgic thread around 1980s Space Lego that had my partner nearly cheering with childish glee.

Chris Pratt's performance as Emmett is wonderful: delivered with bags of charm, as is the movie itself, and a real commitment to believe in and be part of a convincing world. Around Pratt its a fun game of spot the cameo with a particular highlight being that of Arrested Development's Will Arnett as a less than knightly Batman.

We loved The Lego Movie and can see it becoming a traditional family favorite for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Film Sure Is Awesome!!!, 3 Aug 2014
By 
D. W. Bissett "dave_bissett" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
It shouldn't have work. It really shouldn't. You can imagine how everyone must have reacted when it was announced there was going to be a Lego movie. They must have moaned in despair, wondering what has become of films. So it's something of a surprise that THE LEGO MOVIE has ended up being one of the best movies of the year. I just wanted to see what the fuss is all about. Yes, THE LEGO MOVIE is for children, but it's also for adults to enjoy as well.

The film centers on an ordinary Lego figure, Emmet, who soon finds himself to believe to be the prophecy that will save the Lego universe from the tyrannical Lord Business. He then embarks on a journey accompanied by the likes of Wyldstyle, Virtuvius, Benny, Princess Unikitty, and last, but definitely not least, Batman (Batman? AWESOME!!!).

As well as having a great story, THE LEGO MOVIE has so many memorable characters. You forget that they're just toy figures and are characters who the audiences can easily identify with. The voice acting is terrific, the best ones being Will Ferrell as Lord Business, Liam Nesson as Good Cop/Bad Cop (his best role in a while) and Will Arnett as Batman. I was really impress of how they build these worlds and sets that appear in this film. It was must have been such hard work getting all done to bring it to life on camera, but it certainly was worth it! If the film's song, 'Everything's Awesome', doesn't win the Best Original Song award at the next year's Oscars, I will be a monkey's uncle. Also, I thought the plot twist towards the end of the film was really clever and it does can of work in the story.

Children will enjoy THE LEGO MOVIE for it's story, characters and animation, and the adults will enjoy it for it's humor, attention to detail, culture references and heart-warming message. Believe the hype, it's AWESOME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..AMAZING FUN FOR ALL THE FAMILY..", 19 Feb 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No matter what age you are Lego is awesome! im surprised they waited this long to do this movie but I guess now the effects are up to their standards, its amazing how they captured the likeness of every brick and person that you have ever seen in Lego, amazing animation, great story that kids will love and there is plenty of stuff there for adults go chuckle at too, this is big bright and colourful fun from start to finish with a great voice cast and catchy dialogue and music, the 3D was pretty cool too not the best but still good to see, nothing bad to say really, I can certainly see plenty of sequels down the line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lego Movie 3D, 9 Aug 2014
The Lego Movie is something quite special indeed. For a film based entirely around a toy the story writers and directors could easily have taken the easy way out and just used it as a hour and a half advert for the product, but what the film provides is something much more akin to a Disney Pixar film...but crafted with our favourite plastic building blocks.
Emmet is a construction worker in Bricksburg, based off the Lego City range of toys. When he accidentally stumbles upon the key to stopping the evil Lord Business from taking over the world he is plunged into a madcap adventure starring both original and licensed characters from the Lego universe including Batman, Superman, the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Harry Potter and Shaquille O'Neal of NBA All-Stars fame.
Its a story that is outrageously funny, extremely well crafted and directed as well as surprisingly touching towards the latter part of the film.
The Lego Movie is an excellent film for the entire family...or even just the adults to relive their youth (because we all know you'll be watching it more than the kids will)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014]
The Lego Movie [DVD] [2014] by Chris McKay (DVD - 2014)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews