Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NAYSAYERS EXPECT TOO MUCH
Have just read some of the reviews for this film and can't understand all the negativity surrounding it. Its a giant lizard reptile type beast smashing the heck out of buildings and other things in a semi- realistic city backdrop. It was never going to be Breaking Bad 2 the emotional tribulations of a peed off reptile who turns to meth selling to try and halt his...
Published 1 month ago by Conrad Walker

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed-Bag
Godzilla is a 2014 American science fiction monster film directed by Gareth Edwards. The film is the second attempt at a Hollywood reboot of the Godzilla film franchise, following the disastrous attempt by Roland Emmerich in 1998. The film stars Aaron Taylor-Johnson and Bryan Cranston, alongside Ken Watanabe, Elizabeth Olsen, Juliette Binoche, Sally Hawkins and David...
Published 1 month ago by Josh Murphy


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GodZzzzzzilla, 18 May 2014
By 
This is a review of the film only.

Be aware - this is NOT a Godzilla film. It is an incredibly weak and poorly written family drama with Godzilla in the background.
His screentime from what I read is less than 17 minutes, and watching the film it felt like less.

Now I would quite happily have sit through a well acted and well written family story with Godzilla as an element of the story, BUT the acting is awful, the characters not existent and it is completely devoid of excitement, tension, drama or emotion.

Not since Ang Lee's Hulk have I felt so mislead. In fact, and I cant believe Im saying this, Pacific Rim is 1000 times more satisfying than this interpretation of Godzilla.

There are two instances of action starting, and the moment it does, it cuts to something else. Gareth Edwards, this is a GODZILLA movie. Give us Godzilla, If you want awards or critical praise go elsewhere.

Misleading, boring, visually dull and a rather infuriating experience - Although Godzilla himself's design is stunning.

****SPOILER****

If you plan on seeing a Bryan Cranston film based on his importance in the advertising campaign - DO NOT expect to see a big pile of him in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up from the depths 30 stories high breathing fire his head in the sky! Godzilla! Godzilla! Godzilla!, 16 May 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A scientist has been trying to prove for years that the earthquake that killed his wife was not a natural disaster. As it turns out something ancient and powerfull has awoken from the depths. A slow build up but tense film with excellent effects coming a long way from the Japanese Godzilla movies of men in rubber suits with good performances from a good cast including Aaron Taylor Johnson as a young soldier and lead character with Elizabeth Olsen as his young wife and Bryan Cranston as a supposed crackpot scientist and Ken Wantanabe as another scientist. Director Gareth Edwards reboot is a huge improvement on Roland Emmerich's daft but fun 90's film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great action film!, 3 July 2014
By 
Constant action and chaos throughout which is what you want from a good action film, there is still a lot of plot but it does not drag down the pacing of the film. It is great fun to watch but still has some deeper meaning about the devastation of nuclear weapons for those that want a moral message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed!!!!!, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Godzilla [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Watched at the cinema and it took so long to get going and when it did it was so predictable with nothing new, it reminded of the last Transformers film where the City was trashed and that's about it really, a real let down and waste of 20 going to the pictures with my 10 year old son who thought it was alright???, enough said!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master recreation of the classic godzilla films, 23 Jun 2014
This is nothing like the 1998 film. its better.
So many complained about the 1998 film (though it was the highlight of 1998 for me).
This new one is fantastic. Like all great monster films, you dont see alot of the monster. You get teasers and glimpses and noises and rumbles which generate the right atmosphere of fear, excitement, wonder, etc. So that when you finally see him in all his majestic splendour it's actually rewarding. The best films are about people and their interaction. This one has a great father-son relationship that is strained by his fathers work addiction, and yet once the son sees Godzilla first hand, realises his dad was right all these years, it's warming to see them draw closer again. The acting wont win any awards, but the sfx team should. Godzilla looks like the old 1950s Godzilla, just right. Enourmous. Doesnt look like a dinosaur. Big spinal fins. And then theres the roar. Wow. you have to experience it in a cinema. or a top end surround system with the biggest woofer you can buy. It's awesome. Plus the inclusion of other monsters that fans of the old B-movies will love, and the story of being top dog, then possibly losing his crown, then whether or not he can stage a comeback is edge of your seat stuff.Oh and just when you think theyve missed out a key feature of the monster, they save the best till last! Worth the anticipation! Like the 1950s masterpiece but with the sfx it deserves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well I loved it!!, 31 May 2014
This review is from: Godzilla [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I see the reviews for this film are quite mixed. I went to see this with my son and partner thinking it would be okay, but I was surprised by how much I liked it. This Godzilla is a real hero and you really feel for him in this movie. I love the fact that he looks like an "old -fashioned" Godzilla (and not an overgrown Iguana) and good old fashioned fights with his nemesis the MUTOS. The scene where Brody and other soldiers sky dives into the mayhem is awesome especially when you are kind of seeing it from their point of view. This Godzilla reminds me of the monster in the 1970s cartoon that I used to love, when he came to the rescue to fight his enemies. Hopefully this opens it up to more Godzilla films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure spectacle, 31 May 2014
The greatest spectacle i have ever seen in the cinema. Effects, action, sound and build up all top notch, cant wait for the second and third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Expected. Hopefully in the sequel Megalon and Gigan., 30 May 2014
This review is from: Godzilla [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
With so much negative hype and everyone saying how boring it was I wasn't expecting much.
But I actually really enjoyed it as my expectations weren't so high. Sometimes films turn out better not always.
but some of my favourite films got 1 star or 2 stars from critics like Grown ups and Happy Gilmore every sandler
film seems to get 1 or 2 stars but I like Adam Sandler and he's just making the type of comedies that his fans like him in.

Anyway enough about comedy I enjoyed this movie it was a little slow at the start but it builds tension has great special effects.
and some nice set pieces the two monsters Godzilla fought was a good surprise. At first on the advert I thought it was Rodan flying past the window. All in all yes the acting was a little wooden and the pace was a little slow. But when you look back at films like Jurrasic Park the first half of the film was just talking then we saw the Trex. But J Park is still a classic.
It could have been better at least another 10 minutes of Godzilla but this and captain America 2 have been the best films so far this year. Looking forward to seeing x men ,planet of the apes and Transformers.
Megalon and Gigan should be in Godzilla 2 Hopefully 2016 and Gareth Edwards should still direct but have
more monster battles in the sequel. was a good intro to the New Godzilla tho. Godzilla 2014 xxxx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let them fight, 30 May 2014
This review is from: Godzilla [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This film was amazing the effects were great although i would’ve liked to see more of Bryan Cranston and less of Aaron-Taylor Johnson but this film was epic there was a scene were Godzilla opened the mouth of a MUTO and fired his atomic breath straight into it . The fights were amazing with the MUTO and i would like to see them in the Godzilla franchise the cgi was amazing There was a scene were Aaron’s character jumped out of a plane and performed a halo jump and you get to see Godzilla and the male MUTO fighting from his perspective and it feels like you’re actually there I would’ve liked to see Godzilla but it was just like the 1954 original only showing him the second act and in the third act but the act is epic with him fighting the mutos so i definitely recommend it the best film this year for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GARETH EDWARDS DOES IT AGAIN!, 29 May 2014
This review is from: Godzilla [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Monsters is one of my favourite sci fi movies so when i heard that producers had enough faith to hand him the mantle of godzilla along with a massive budget i was very excited. Much has been said about Godzillas actual screen time but the movie sets the tone nicely and builds it up to the massive finale which is awesome. I thought it was excellent and cant wait to watch again on blu ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godzilla [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2014] [Region Free]
20.50
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews