Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad....its ok
Not bad at all...its not a masterpiece but its ok. Far away better then godzilla of 98. Good actors and good cgi effects. The story its not the best one but....was better then expected. Not a Oscar winner :) some Stuff its too much fantasy.. Overall i think 6,5 /10 Nice soundtrack
Published 3 days ago by Carlos

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money (and time) on this rip off movie!
What a ripoff - this has got to win the award for most misleading movie trailer ever. I thought I was going to get a watch a film with Bryan Cranston and Godzilla playing lead or major roles.
How wrong was I?
Bryan's character is dead after less than 15mins screen time and Godzilla probably has even less screen time - including the bits where all you see are the...
Published 15 hours ago by JLPicard


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money (and time) on this rip off movie!, 23 Sep 2014
By 
What a ripoff - this has got to win the award for most misleading movie trailer ever. I thought I was going to get a watch a film with Bryan Cranston and Godzilla playing lead or major roles.
How wrong was I?
Bryan's character is dead after less than 15mins screen time and Godzilla probably has even less screen time - including the bits where all you see are the spikes on his back sticking out of the water. I am just so glad I watched this on a free ticket and did not pay to watch this - I would have demanded my money back.

The story line is just dumb and full of plot holes and cliches, the monsters look like rejects from Pacific Rim and you only get one half decent monster fight near the end. Even then its too dark to see what is going on half the time.

Total ripoff and a waste of 2hrs of my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Godzzzzzzzzz sorry I must have nodded off then...oh yeah, zilla., 24 Sep 2014
Like many others, maybe, I was expecting a real monster punch from this movie by what the cover shows us as the old proper Godzilla from back in the day, resurrected to awesome modern day presentation...this movie should be titled 'Re Other Monsters' because you see and enjoy about 70% more of them than good old zilla who really does seem like he got the supporting role in this movie. You hardly see him, partly because the film is so dark (and I'm talking light here not 'dark' tone, probably to help push through the cgi without much effort, I almost wished I had a torch and movie binoculars to see him! Also because the other monsters are the ones who really steel the show, it just makes it seem like far more effort was was given to them, by graphics, sound and plot. This film had the potential to really stamp a major reboot after the last Godzilla movie that was, well I can't think of way to describe it, easier and more enjoyable visually. It rumbles along and has a pretty good plot from start to midway with amazing actors utilised so poorly. After the half way point and a stretch and yawn for it to get better, I can't believe Im going to say this...for anyone who watched lost and thought the end was a cheesy crap cop out! this was too. It seemed extremely rushed, when there's only one character and the rest cgi it really didn't have to be, then came the end that really made me wish I'd gone to see another film...it was so cheesy and so poor...the chance of ever Godzilla being redeemed in another reboot is slim to nothing. I won't be buying this film. It's a huge let down for me I'm afraid...but hey, if you have poor vision and excellent hearing you will really enjoy the first half. RIP Godzilla, you really did die with Mathew Broderick and company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Missing in Action 4: Godzilla - the absence of both Chuck Norris and Godzilla makes this sequel unwatchable..., 17 May 2014
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Godzilla [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I really, REALLY wanted to like this film (I saw and own EVERY single Godzilla movie, plus "Rodan", "Gappa", etc.), but leaving the cinema I was very disappointed. Not as much as 16 years ago, but still a lot... Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

Amongst the very few good things I can say about this film is that this time Godzilla looks almost as he should - he also can use a breathing fire attack and his famous roar is back in action. But on another hand he looks kind of heavy around waist and in some of his parts also soft, as if he was in fact a poorly inflated rubber suit (something that never happened in old movies in which Godzilla WAS in fact a guy in a rubber suit...). Also, instead of atomic fire, Godzilla breaths in this film a kind of burning gas - and it is definitely not the same thing as b@d@ss breathing attack in "classical" kaiju films...

Other than this improvement in Godzilla's aspect there is not much good I can say about this film. The WORST thing is that THERE IS NOT NEARLY ENOUGH GODZILLA!! He appears late in this 123 minutes long movie and then he is shown by glimpses of 5 second - and then we move to something else.

Almost as bad is the fact that the two other kaijus (I am not even certain what their names were and I DON'T CARE) appearing in this film are not really that great and especially they are NOT MATCH for Godzilla - once the monsters get into it, Godzilla dispatches them both rather quickly and easily. Do not expect anything even remotely comparable to awesome, epic fights against King Ghidorah, Gigan, Mechagodzilla, Kumonga or Destoroyah.

As I already said this film lasts 123 minutes and only a very small part shows Godzilla - and virtually everything else is completely forgettable! There is NO humour and in this one aspect this film is even WORSE than this 1998 calamity, in which we had at least some attempts to make some scenes funny. No such thing here. Message to the producers: guys, kaiju films are silly by nature and if you try to make them too serious, you will just make them boring...

This film is also indeed BORING! I completely couldn't relate to anybody, as the main "hero" (Lieutenant Brody, played by Aaron Taylor-Johnson) is pale and completely uninteresting. The character of his father (played by Bryan Cranston) was much better and this probably is precisely the reason why he was removed so fast from the film. Ken Watanabe, a very talented actor, is COMPLETELY wasted in this movie, as his character, supposedly a renowned scientist, is totally useless. Even worse is the character of Admiral Stenz (David Strathairn), possibly the less charismatic and palest military commander I saw in any action movie in years...

This film actually is not really about Godzilla - it is about Lieutenant Ford Brody traveling around the world: going to Tokyo, spending some time there, catching a flight to Hawaii, spending some time there, catching another flight to some place in USA, catching a train to San Francisco, not getting there, catching a helicopter flight to somewhere else, catching another plane to San Francisco, hiking through San Francisco, catching a boat from San Francisco and finally catching another helicopter flight to San Francisco... Between all this we have some short glimpses at Godzilla and two other kaijus.

Somewhere in the second half of this film I really wanted to have a conversation with Lieutenant Ford Brody. I think it would have gone something like that:

"Lieutenant, are you a giant monster?"

"Sir, no sir"

"Lieutenant, can you breathe atomic fire?"

"Sir, no sir"

"Lieutenant, can you roar?"

"Sir, no sir"

"Lieutenant, do you at least have a scaly reptilian tail?"

"Sir, no, I am afraid I don't have one"

"Then lieutenant, here is $3.55 for services already rendered, take them, then be a sweetie, go eff yourself and LET US WATCH A DARN GODZILLA MOVIE!"

That was somewhere around 1 hour 30 minutes into the film. 15 minutes later I didn't bother any more about any kind of conversations - I just wanted something big and unpleasant to step on this guy, so we can finally WATCH A DARN GODZILLA MOVIE!

We certainly see a lot of US Army in this film and by moments it really looks like a recruiting ad. But if you think you will see a grandiose battle against Godzilla or other kaijus, like in old Godzilla movies (the ones in which we see lot of plastic models burning...), you will be very disappointed... There is some limited shooting, but most of it involves M4 assault rifles...))) I am not kidding, there is hardly any other weaponry used in anger. Some missiles are shot and all miss and also a couple of Abrams tanks fire their 120 mm guns, but that latter scene lasts like 3 (three) seconds top...

Soundtrack is so lame it can hardly be noticed that there is any music in this film. Akira Ifukube probably laughed out loud watching this film from his imperial suit in Heaven...

During the great finale, I finally was INFURIATED by the fact that we can see Godzilla only in short sequences and all the rest of the time we watch some @-holes running through the ruins of San Francisco, carrying a huge and TOTALLY USELESS bomb... I also laughed out loud when the terrible threat of kaiju spawns, which was supposed to possibly exterminate humanity, was destroyed with some gas and a match...))) This was however a sad laughter...

I will certainly NOT buy this film on DVD - no way. The one thing me and my daughter are going to do is to watch tomorrow "Son of Godzilla", "Godzilla vs. Gigan" and especially "Godzilla vs. Mechagodzilla", to try to forget this film... Gareth Edwards certainly deserves the title of the greatest uber-macho in history - indeed, he managed to eff Godzilla to death... Gosh, what a let-down! Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad....its ok, 21 Sep 2014
This review is from: Godzilla [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Not bad at all...its not a masterpiece but its ok. Far away better then godzilla of 98. Good actors and good cgi effects. The story its not the best one but....was better then expected. Not a Oscar winner :) some Stuff its too much fantasy.. Overall i think 6,5 /10 Nice soundtrack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NAYSAYERS EXPECT TOO MUCH, 10 Jun 2014
This review is from: Godzilla [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Have just read some of the reviews for this film and can't understand all the negativity surrounding it. Its a giant lizard reptile type beast smashing the heck out of buildings and other things in a semi- realistic city backdrop. It was never going to be Breaking Bad 2 the emotional tribulations of a peed off reptile who turns to meth selling to try and halt his nuclear and prehistoric genes. For most of its history it was a bloke in a rubber suit and now they've finally given its appearance some credence people still aren't happy.
IT'S A FILM WITH A GIANT LIZARD HAS ITS STAR. GIVE IT A CHANCE I LOVED IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of people just wanted a simple movie and this film wanted to be more than that and succeeded at being a great blockbuster, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: Godzilla [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Naysayers complain because they wanted this film to be something its not. This is Godzilla and if you know the Godzilla films you know they are not just giant monsters destroying cities heck most of the films godzilla's not in them much and this film did it very well. A lot of people just wanted a simple movie and this film wanted to be more than that and succeeded at being a great blockbuster and a great godzilla film not just a giant monster film but a Godzilla film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars spoilers ahead, 21 Sep 2014
Top film. Even though bryan cranston isn't for the whole film i found it very entertaining and really enjoyed it. Glad it went back to the old godzilla and not the mess we had a good few years ago. Really don't listen to the negative reviews they just don't like godzilla
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its good watch it please, 21 Sep 2014
It is good watch it it is great watch it please watch watch it it is really good watch it please its much better than tha s**** one from 1998 cos that was s***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE KING IS BACK!!!, 16 Sep 2014
This review is from: Godzilla [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
At long last, the remake fans have wanted since 1998 is here.

Forget about Roland Emmeric's crap fest, this is the true Godzilla remake. Gareth Edwards said he was going to make Godzilla more faithful to the original and he delivered.

The new design of Godzilla himself is amazing, looking just like it should but also adds something new to that iconic look.
We're also treated to some new monsters named MUTOs who kind of resemble the creature from Cloverfield but make for some great fights.

Now, while the movie does have some great moments it's far from perfect. For instance, Godzilla himself doesn't really get a whole lot of screen time through out the movie and the MUTOs basicly get more exposure. Godzilla really should have been in it more. In fact after a really good reveal scene where one of the MUTOs attacks an airport in Hawaii the film cuts to another scene where the fight between the two is shown as a news broadcast on TV instead of being shown properly.

All in all, Godzilla 2014 is defiantly a much better effort the the 1998 remake. It's by no means perfect as there is alot they could have improved on which hopefully they'll do with the sequel.
That's right. A Godzilla 2 is currently in the works with a planned release for 2018 and will also see some familiar kaiju return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect westernised Godzilla film., 18 Sep 2014
Reading the reviews of this film have made me confused. It seems to be overrun by the misinformed and clueless masses astroturfing negative reviews because it's not the film they expected. It's a real shame because this film, at its core, is a perfect westernised version of Godzilla. It is strong enough to even stand on its own monstrous two feet as a fantastic film.

I think people expected Pacific Rim meets Godzilla. Why? It wasn't advertised to be. I hear complaints like "Not enough Godzilla screen time!" and "Slow and boring!" "More fights!" Had these requests been satisfied, the film would have been an utter disaster. All of the impact the title character has would be lost and wasted on non climactic and non exciting fight scenes, so that by the end you've had enough of huge fighting monsters thrown in you face. Godzilla actually managed to get the audience to cheer when he finally got his first hit in.

What do you really want? Dumb action? Watch Pacific Rim. Interesting and impactful storytelling? Watch Godzilla.

Those who have not seen the original 1954 Godzilla and have posted 1 star reviews preaching more action, need to think if their contribution is with anything at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godzilla [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free]
Godzilla [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] by Gareth Edwards (Blu-ray - 2014)
£20.00
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews