Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth renting
I almost didn't watch this due to negative feedback, but glad I did. I enjoy films based on true life and especially those that fall in the biography category. i found it a great watch, perhaps because I don't know much about princess Grace's life, die hard modern historians will no doubt pick it apart, but I found it a moving watch.

I may even watch a second...
Published 4 months ago by Charlotte

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Graceless of Monaco
Once upon a time, there was a girl who became a Hollywood superstar, and then she married a handsome prince from a faraway land. Okay, "handsome" is pushing it... he wasn't horribly unattractive. And now being a beautiful princess, she was the most important person in this land's history, and everything revolved around her.

Or at least, that is what "Grace of...
Published 1 month ago by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth renting, 15 Oct. 2014
By 
Charlotte (Dalgety bay, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I almost didn't watch this due to negative feedback, but glad I did. I enjoy films based on true life and especially those that fall in the biography category. i found it a great watch, perhaps because I don't know much about princess Grace's life, die hard modern historians will no doubt pick it apart, but I found it a moving watch.

I may even watch a second time but perhaps not a keeper. At least rent it for a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Graceless of Monaco, 19 Jan. 2015
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grace Of Monaco [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Once upon a time, there was a girl who became a Hollywood superstar, and then she married a handsome prince from a faraway land. Okay, "handsome" is pushing it... he wasn't horribly unattractive. And now being a beautiful princess, she was the most important person in this land's history, and everything revolved around her.

Or at least, that is what "Grace of Monaco" would have you believe. This movie is almost a hypnotic experience -- it's filmed like a very long perfume commercial, with bizarrely precious acting from Nicole Kidman and a story that tries to combine international politics with a Disney Princess plot. It's a glossy, glazed experience with nothing at its center -- like a creampuff that someone forgot to inject cream into.

In 1956, Hollywood actress Grace Kelly (Kidman) retired from a successful film career -- including three movies with Alfred Hitchcock -- to marry Prince Rainier of Monaco (Tim Roth). It's a glamorous, glitzy life, hobnobbing with the wealthy and highly-placed. But six years later, France's Charles de Gaulle is puts pressure on Rainier, and without a military, Monaco doesn't have a real chance of defying the French.

And for... some reason, the presence of an "outspoken" (meaning she occasionally offers an opinion) American princess is suddenly a problem, both for the French and the people of Monaco. And no, apparently Grace NEVER realized this before or took any measures to fit in.

At the same time, Grace is considering a return to Hollywood after Hitchcock (Roger Ashton-Griffiths) offer her the lead role in "Marnie," which would give her some freedom from the "princess" role (and a much-needed cash injection). But as the situation becomes more tense, Grace finds that being the perfect Monegasque princess might change her country's destiny.

One of the first things that one notices about "Grace of Monaco" is the way it's filmed -- soft-focus and full of gauzy, blurry light, like an expensive perfume commercial that drags on for two hours. It adds an extra layer of unreality to a movie that only vaguely resembles what actually happened, and whose main character is as ridiculously perfect and saintly as an early Disney princess.

How perfect was Grace? She was super smart and honest, an amazingly talented actress and a perfect mom; she wanted to build hospitals for the sick children; she figured out a treacherous plot against Monaco, and she saved Monaco by being the Perfectly Perfect Princess Whom Everybody Rightfully Worshipped, and making a hideous speech about believing in fairy tales that de Gaulle just can't resist. I was just waiting for the part where she turned water to wine and learned how to fly like Superman.

And how did this paragon of perfection cause everyone to worship the ground she walked on? Obvious photo ops, pretty clothes, and being taught how to waltz by Derek Jacobi. Yeah, it's really that shallow. And yet the final shots of the movie show Grace surrounded by light, while an angelic choir sings.

The sad fact is that Grace's whole subplot makes no sense, because it's set six years and two children into her marriage. Her "oh noes, I don't know how to princess!" dilemma might have worked if it came soon after marrying Rainier, or if the story stretched over those six years. Instead, it makes her "shocking" outspokenness and social gaffes seem rather ridiculous. Even the "getting dressed for a reception" scene is handled with such melodramatic seriousness that you would think Grace had never worn a pretty dress and a tiara before.

The reason it's set in the early sixties is... well, to be perfectly honest, it's probably because Nicole Kidman is fifteen years older than Grace was at this stage in her life, and the soft-focused cinematography can only hide so much. Kidman's performance is also quite bizarre -- very precious and girlish, with countless silly cheesy lines (such as bleating "I can't do this without you!" over swelling violins).

But Tim Roth deserves some credit for actually making Rainier a somewhat three-dimensional character -- a man oppressed by his duty and France's empire-making agenda. You actually feel very sorry for this man's struggles, and I really wished we would focus more on the political intrigue and the remaking of a nation... than on Grace floating around smiling at the commonfolk.

"Grace of Monaco" fails by making its center a contrived, silly drama about a former actress learning how to wear pretty clothes and smile, instead of the more interesting international drama. It seems more like an attempt to show Grace as a fairytale princess than as a human being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it's simply terrible. Avoid at all costs & rent at your ..., 22 Oct. 2014
By 
Lil Troll (West Midlands England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grace Of Monaco [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I'm sorry but not even the Monaco backdrop, soft focus & fabulous couture can mask this film for what it is .. and it's utterly awful. I've no idea how an actor of Tim Roth's calibre was even persuaded to come on board.... it's simply terrible. Avoid at all costs & rent at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Once is enough, 10 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Grace Of Monaco [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Despite the negative reviews this film had received I thought I would give it a go as I have always had a soft spot for Nicole Kidman. It had some good moments and is very well shot but overall it was a bit dull and irritating. I can see where the critics where coming from when they said it it hard to feel sorry or sympathies for people from Monaco. The acting was okay. Kidman and Roth are believable enough but you never really get the feeling that they love each other. Also the up close shots of her face were unnecessary. One performance however that I will praise in Roger Ashton-Griffiths as Alfred Hitchcock. The look almost identical!

The political parts where okay but maybe could have had more punch. The film was dragged out a little and by the end I was waiting for it to finish. I will go as far to say that if I had watched it at home with adverts to interrupt I may have struggled to get to the end.

Not as big of a disaster as the critics would have you believe but still a poor film. I predict a Razzie nomination or two but there are worse films out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Directing, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Strange movie, mostly close up's of Nicole Kidman's over botoxed face,which just didn't move. Couldn't understand why or
what they were trying to get across about Princess Grace's life, I think they should have started from the beginning of her film career, not just somewhere in the middle of it and her marriage. Bad directing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A snap shot, 15 Oct. 2014
A beautifully shot film that didn't really live up to my expectations. Good performances from a great cast, but let down by the script,which didn't really do justice to it's subject matter and dramatic event.
Still worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A really bad movie, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the worst movies of the year. Kidman is so badly directed and looks harsh and like she has overdone it with plastic surgery. She has nothing of Grace Kelly's elegance and natural charm. Possibly in the top 10 of worst movies ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Have the grace to at least see it before you slate it!, 6 Jun. 2014
By 
Matthew J. Parker "the legend writes:" (Todmorden, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grace Of Monaco [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
It's difficult to know where to begin to review 'Grace of Monaco'. The critically derided biopic of the actress Grace Kelly currently has just a 3% rating on 'rottentomatoes' and is being compared to the equally slated 'Diana'. Personally I didn't find it to be just as bad as 'Diana' but there's still a lot at fault here.

The story basically revolves around Grace being coaxed back to Hollywood by Alfred Hitchcock after marrying Prince Rainier of Monaco a few years before, whilst at the same time Monaco is under threat of having to pay taxes or face the threat of bombing by France led by Charles DeGaulle. When you see the lifestyle on display here you cannot actually feel sorry for their predicament and feel that a bit of taxation would probably not be much of a loss.

The main faults of the film lay largely in the direction and the writing. Ill advised long lasting extreme close ups of Nicole Kidman's eyes and nose whilst she's talking are just irritating, and there's quite a lot of noticeable camera shake - though this seems to be a constant in may films today. Also, at no time do we feel that we are in 1961 instead of 2014, but that again my be because of the wealth on display. It's easy to see why the people of Monaco didn't look favourably on Grace because of this lavish lifestyle.

Cast wise all the principals are actually fine but they never go above that because of the overblown and melodramatic script they have to deliver, however one exception is Geraldine Somerville as Rainiers sister who is completely shocking throughout. It's good to spy the odd British character actor too like Robert Lindsay and Derek Jacobi.

Unlike Diana this film could well turn into a bit of a cult classic, thanks to characters like Hitchcock and the boo hissable Charles DeGaulle. His line 'I will send Monaco back to the dark ages' should have been finished off with manic laughter to round off the pantomine caricatures.

Proof that sometimes critics follow each other like sheep to end up destroying a film, Grace of Monaco deserves some recognition for what it is rather than what we are told to believe, though that still doesn't mean it's very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time... Kidman's expression stays the same throughout the entire movie., 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a bad film. I love Nicole Kidman but well, two things stand out about her performance here. One, she is sadly too old to portray Grace Kelly and two, she is not beautiful enough. Grace Kelly was was a classical American beauty with very regular facial features (small straight nose, perfectly carved lips), she aged very gracefully too. Nicole Kidman could have been her maybe 10-15 years ago but still wouldn't be able to match her good looks or skin colour being more of a strawberry blonde herself. These days we can make anyone look younger on screen with cgi but I think the final effect is that the actors appear line-free and expressionless, not actually youthful-looking. The acting seems strained and constrained; this is probably Kidman trying to appear princess-like. Looking at films and pictures of the real Grace Kelly it's striking just how natural and un-posed they are, with Kidman it's the exact opposite. And those rabbit red eyes... Can't the producers give her some eye drops to clear that? It bothers me in many of her films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars but I thorougly enjoyed it as an old fashioned piece of story telling, 13 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Grace of Monaco (DVD)
No problems for me with this film. Was a little wooden in parts and a few unlikeable characters, but I thorougly enjoyed it as an old fashioned piece of story telling, inaccuracies aside. I went to Prince's Palace of Monaco as a child as was facinated by this story as told by my Grandmother, so it was great to recapture some of these memories through film. Nicely shot, good acting, interesting story and politics. Many may be disappointed by the film, but I found it perfectly entertaining to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grace Of Monaco [DVD] [2014]
Grace Of Monaco [DVD] [2014] by Olivier Dahan (DVD - 2014)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews