Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good jacket for price
Really good jacket.... Only criticism is it tends to shed its feathers.... Makes me feel like I'm a chicken plucker!!!!
But for the sale price, I think I've got a result.....
Published 23 days ago by Rats

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Akim Feather distributor
Jacket has good cut, covers your backside and generally fits well (slim 6'). Good price and warm enough for being so light. So why only one star? Craghoppers ruined this jacket by compromising in their choice of outer fabric, it's fundamentally unsuited for a down jacket. Worn under a rainproof the Akim provided the warmth I needed but covered the inner mesh in feathers,...
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Akim Feather distributor, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craghoppers Men's Akim Jacket (Sports Apparel)
Jacket has good cut, covers your backside and generally fits well (slim 6'). Good price and warm enough for being so light. So why only one star? Craghoppers ruined this jacket by compromising in their choice of outer fabric, it's fundamentally unsuited for a down jacket. Worn under a rainproof the Akim provided the warmth I needed but covered the inner mesh in feathers, then did the same to the car seat and had dozens of the remaining white feathers protruding through the black fabric. Amazon CS replaced the original but the second one is no better.
I took it up with Craghoppers who "hadn't heard of this" but promised to investigate and get back to me, etc.
That was several weeks ago. Very disappointing so I gave up and bought a competitor's genuine down jacket instead.
As for Craghoppers being unaware of this problem, see another review here.

So, don't buy this, it's flawed and Craghoppers aren't interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but flawed, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craghoppers Men's Akim Jacket (Sports Apparel)
Had this jacket for about 6 months and used it quite a bit over winter. Comfy, great fit and surprisingly warm considering that for a down jacket, it's very thin. No hood though.

However, it'll be useless in a couple of years because it sheds feathers like you wouldn't believe. My car looks like someone's had a pillow fight in there. All breathable down jackets shed feathers to some extent but this is the worst I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warm, but not perfect, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craghoppers Men's Akim Jacket (Sports Apparel)
I got this in a Black Friday lightning deal on an impulse. The down is warm and light, but the synthetic shell leaks feathers quite badly. It's not a bad jacket for £50-£70, but in future I'd think hard about whether to buy a CH down product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good jacket for price, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craghoppers Men's Akim Jacket (Sports Apparel)
Really good jacket.... Only criticism is it tends to shed its feathers.... Makes me feel like I'm a chicken plucker!!!!
But for the sale price, I think I've got a result.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craghoppers Men's Akim Jacket (Sports Apparel)
Bought this for my husband - it was a little on the small side. We expected it to be a much fuller padded jacket. It is thin and can fit inside its own pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the jacket. Nice and warm and keeps its shape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Craghoppers Men's Akim Jacket - Black, Medium
£49.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews