Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She did it again - a page turner by the author of splendour
Be patient if
- the phone rings
- your kids want to play with you
- dinner is served or
- your dogs wants to go for a walk
and will stop you from reading this marvellous book! All this will be a nuissance as these activities will force one to drop for the time being the new book by Sharon K Penman which is a real page turner!
It is Penmman' s...
Published on 19 April 2005 by Amelrode

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prince fo Darkness
I enjoyed this book, but it was not as good as the previous books in this series. I will read the next book if and when it becomes available.
Published 10 months ago by Margaret Richmond


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

127 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She did it again - a page turner by the author of splendour, 19 April 2005
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince of Darkness (Hardcover)
Be patient if
- the phone rings
- your kids want to play with you
- dinner is served or
- your dogs wants to go for a walk
and will stop you from reading this marvellous book! All this will be a nuissance as these activities will force one to drop for the time being the new book by Sharon K Penman which is a real page turner!
It is Penmman' s tenth book and I have read them all - from the Sun in Splendour to the Dragon' s Lair.
The Prince of Darkness is the fourth mystery by Sharon K. Penman featuring Justin de Quincy as The Queen's Man solving the mysteries laying in the path of his Queen - the legendary Eleonor, Duchess of Aquitaine, Queen Dowager of England and once Queen of France. As in the previous novels the background is the power struggle between King Richard Lionheart and his younger brother John, the future King John Lackland. Justin founds himself serving suddenly Prince John as any unjust harm falling upon him would be against the wishes of his Queen.
By page 3 you will be in the plot, by page 15 you are hooked and latest by pages 50 you will absolutely absorbed in the story. I do not know how Penman does it but it is just fantastic. The story takes quite unexpected, but never unlogical turns and this is really good and intersting.
The story continues the Dragon' s Lair story as the personalities of the main characters (Justin, Durand, Claudine, John and Emma) develop. But for those who have read the Dragon Liar some time ago or even never have read it will no problem to understand the plot or the personalities and their story. Even in this repect very well done.
I finished my review on the Dragon's Lair with the line:"
I am already looking forward to the 4th mystery with Justin de Quincy" - well I just have to say now:
I am already looking forward to the 5th mystery with Justin de Quincy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and engaging, 20 July 2014
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
OK, this is the fourth book in the Queen’s Man series (originally released in 2005) and whilst I haven’t read the others, I did quickly become engrossed in the storyline. It takes off at an extraordinary pace and to be honest its one that really doesn’t let up from start to finish. Just thank the many deities out there that I decided to read this late at night when I was on my own as I think any disturbance would have been met with irritation.

The principle character is likeable, I loved spending time in his footsteps, seeing the emotional aspects intertwined with the intellect and when backed with a delicious plotline that has great prose and of course dialogue all round gave me a thoroughly enjoyable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fourth Book in the Justin de Quincey Series, 7 May 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Sharon K. Penman has written many historical novels, many of them large volumes of several hundred pages, all diligently researched and all of them highly acclaimed by the reading public. The novels featuring Justin de Quincey have been equally popular and take place in the late 12th century.

This is the fourth book in the Justin de Quincey series, a character we first came across in The Queen's Man, published in 1996. De Quincey can be likened to a modern day private detective, although he does his detecting work in the late 12th century. He is proud to call himself the Queen's man, the queen in question being Eleanor of Aquitaine, wife of the late Henry II and mother of Richard the Lionheart.

Bowing to an urgent summons from his former lover, Justin de Quincey races to Paris. On arrival he is more than a little annoyed to find that the Lady Claudine was acting on behalf of a man he dislikes intensely, Prince John. Because of his closeness with John's mother Justin has already seen what John is capable of doing and also his intense desire to take the throne of England.

When John tells him of a document implicating him in a plot to depose his brother Richard, Justin is not sure what to make of the fact. The document is in fact a forgery and John on this occasion is innocent of the charge but the prince needs the help of Justin to locate and destroy the document before Richards hears of it . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Sharon Penman, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince of Darkness (The Queen's Man Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
You will enjoy this book if you like your historical settings accurate, your characters realistic and your stories entertaining. This fictional mystery is seamlessly woven into real events. Sharon Penman never disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great book, 11 Sept. 2014
By 
Stan (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince of Darkness (The Queen's Man Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
After his sojourn in Wales, Justin is now despatched to France. The twist - this time he is working to help John, and is teamed with his arch-enemy Durand. As always the plot races you on and the historical setting is to Penmans normal high standard. What I really enjoyed was the development of a relationship between Justin and Durand. From outright hatred at the start, through being forced to work together they grow mutual respect and end, if not in liking, with more understanding of each other. John is still enigmatic and, though ruthless, attracts some sympathy. My only problem was that, as people travel around France, my geography was not up to locating the various places as you can in England or even Wales. Next book please Sharon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great storytelling, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince of Darkness (The Queen's Man Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished this book and was gripped the whole way through. Sharon Penman has developed a wonderful set of believable characters and mixed them into the history of the time. I really enjoyed the four books enormously and couldn't put them down surely the sign of a great author. For anyone who loves history and great storytelling these books are a must read. I now want more please......... Sharon Penman is one of my favourite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oooh who is afraid of the big bad prince ?, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
R. Moore "Ros Moore" (Wellingborough England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince of Darkness (The Queen's Man Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Now if you have read the previous 3 books in this series, this one is a must, Sharon Penman really know how to write a historical novel, that keeps you glued to the page! In this novel it is DeQuincy's bet noire who he has to trust , Prince John, he of ill repute, we have murder and mayhem and two timing Kings. Super read, but again do not take this book to read in bed, you will still be reading it at 4 in the morning !
Ros Moore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
But then I'm a great fan of Sharon Penman. This is her first mystery series, but it lives up to her other books - especially the Welsh/de Montfort series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent medieval murder mystery, 9 April 2015
By 
EleanorB - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of Sharon Penman's shorter novels and once again features the medieval sleuth, Justin de Quincey, who is devoted to the protection of Queen Eleanor of Aquitaine, as she seeks to ransom her captive son Richard the Lionheart, rightful King of England. The sly Prince John, who would happily inherit the throne in the event of his brother's death, seems to be involved in a plot to betray Richard and the finding of a missing and damaging document is at the heart of this well paced story.

There is a wide cast of believable characters: the good, the bad, the beautiful, the honourable and those who would slit a throat without mercy. Justin and his companions discover much that could put their lives at risk, and at one point it seems that a lingering death in a gruesome dungeon will be the sad end to his life.

This is a well plotted story featuring the people and events behind the lavish court and its ruthless Plantagenet jostling for ultimate power and a very good one it is. In particular, the beautiful pilgrimage destination, Mont St Michel, is wonderfully described. The further adventures of Justin de Quincey are not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prince of darkness, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the book,only one i did not have from this author,sharon penman is a great author and i enjoy all her books,cannot put them down once started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews