Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Special One for the Haters
This book held me absolutely gripped. I now know that Real Madrid, who had lost four out of four matches in the previous two years to 'the greatest team in history' (Barca, but their dominance is omitted as is their dismal recent record), then won la Liga without the help of their manager (who had won domestic leagues in three major footballing nations) because they...
Published 1 month ago by Matthew Bakewell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Greatly exaggerated with a large pinch of fiction
As a Real Madrid fan (and someone who is a huge critic of Mou) I find much of this book is bordering on fiction. The stories are greatly exaggerated, although there is a basis of truth.

This is really just a 268 page attack on Jose Mourinho.

What's striking is the amount of stories that simply weren't reported at the time, or even rumoured to have...
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Special One for the Haters, 11 May 2015
By 
Matthew Bakewell "MattyB" (Moray) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Special One (Paperback)
This book held me absolutely gripped. I now know that Real Madrid, who had lost four out of four matches in the previous two years to 'the greatest team in history' (Barca, but their dominance is omitted as is their dismal recent record), then won la Liga without the help of their manager (who had won domestic leagues in three major footballing nations) because they ignored him - his tactics were idiotic and only when they lost was it down to the coach. This is because Mourinho only knows how to defend and hasn't got a clue how to break down defences; yet, amazingly, 'his' Liga-winning side scored more goals in a season than any Spanish team in history and accrued more points. Mmm...
Some things I did believe: when Mourinho was unhappy with his players, he shouted at them, and when he was happy with their performance, he laughed and joked; he allowed his agent (who is also Ronaldo's agent) into the training ground quite often; he sacked the training ground chefs; he stirred up controversy in the press and caused ill-will with other teams; he was closer to the players who did what he asked than those who argued with him; he told his players to 'express themselves' in attack.
While Iker Casillas is described as 'the best goalkeeper in the world' his shot-stopping stats don't bear this out. The book reveals how Casillas held secret talks with team-mates behind the back of the coach, threatened mutiny, became sulky when he disagreed with tactics, hated Mourinho and leaked stories to the press (including, it seems, this book). He didn't view refusing to toe the coach's line as disloyal. While the world saw how inept Casillas had become for Spain in 2014, Real Madrid did win La Decima after Mourinho's departure, so hey-ho.
It's still a fascinating insight into the sniping animosities of the biggest club in the world (and I now know how Ferreira kept his place in the Chelsea side all that time!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great view inside Real Madrid's dressing room and a good explanation of Mourinho's failure in Spain, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Special One: The Dark Side of Jose Mourinho (Kindle Edition)
The Spanish title maybe represent better this book. "Preparense para perder" means "Stay ready to lose" and that sums exactly the meaning of this book. In Madrid Mourinho seemed ready to face a defeat rather than risking to get a win, maybe because he knew he couldn't compete in sporting terms with Guardiola and Barça at the time. Although I haven't taken everything written for granted, I enjoyed the book. Obviously it portraits Mourinho as a bad coach, especially in tactical terms and that's not completely true. However most of the topics are quite interesting : the strong connection between the coach and Mendes (his agent and agent of many of portoguese players, especially those who play / played with Real Madrid), his mind-games and all the troubles Mourinho had with the dressing room and some of senior players (Ramos and Casillas above all else and even Cristiano Ronaldo) and member of club (Valdano, Zidane). As I said - the book has mostly a negative view on Mourinho but a part from few exagerations (I don't think he played Di Maria instead of Pedro Leon just because Di Maria is Mendes' player;) there are many interesting stories that explain why he didn't succeed in Spain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Greatly exaggerated with a large pinch of fiction, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Special One: The Dark Side of Jose Mourinho (Kindle Edition)
As a Real Madrid fan (and someone who is a huge critic of Mou) I find much of this book is bordering on fiction. The stories are greatly exaggerated, although there is a basis of truth.

This is really just a 268 page attack on Jose Mourinho.

What's striking is the amount of stories that simply weren't reported at the time, or even rumoured to have happened.

Can't say I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Side, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Special One: The Dark Side of Jose Mourinho (Kindle Edition)
Don't really know how much of this book is the truth, but I enjoyed it immensely. A delicious dissection of "the Special One", devoured it in two sittings.
A cracking read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read., 30 Jun. 2014
By 
J. Pullman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Special One: The Dark Side of Jose Mourinho (Kindle Edition)
If, like me, you've always thought Mourinho was an unpleasant, manipulative so-and-so, this book will, through excellently sourced quotes and examples confirm all your prejudices. If you have thought he's a great guy who brings out the best in his teams, it's also well worth a read if only to make you think about whether or not you're right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best football book I've read in years, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Special One: The Dark Side of Jose Mourinho (Kindle Edition)
This is an absolute page-turner. it reads like a thriller! The journalist who wrote this is apparently close to Casillas and Ramos so you're obviously getting one side of the story, but it certainly answers a few questions a layman like me has about why Mourinho does some of the odd things he does. Brilliantly written, incisive and above all interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I never realised..., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Special One: The Dark Side of Jose Mourinho (Kindle Edition)
What a very complex man Mourinho is. I am sure not everything is as clear cut as the author would have us believe, but the essence of his dark side is there for all to see. Who would have thought Arsenal have him to thank for the talent that is Özil!

An excellent read. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Special One: The Dark Side of Jose Mourinho (Kindle Edition)
A remarkable and detailed expose of Mourinho. Clearly, it is written from a preconceived slant and has to be assessed accordingly. But it is certainly true that we can understand the man more for having read this work. Would that Diego Torres had written a behind the scenes account of Sir Alex. Now that would have been compulsive ......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing insight, 29 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Special One: The Dark Side of Jose Mourinho (Kindle Edition)
I thought this was a wonderful, fantastically researched book. I would have imagined that scrutinising Mourinho to this extent would wear thin but certainly not. I've never bought the British press 'love in' with him but couldn't put my finger on it. The guy's a complete mentalist.

Highly recommended and one of better football books I've read. Certainly top 10 and possibly too 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ugh!, 15 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Special One: The Dark Side of Jose Mourinho (Kindle Edition)
Poorly-translated, thinly disguised Madrid propaganda masquerading as investigative journalism. I am no blind follower of "Mou"' but I have to say, this stuff is almost unreadable, both for the unsubstantiated allegations contained in it and for the utter illiteracy of the text. The publishers should be ashamed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews