Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning novel, an absolute must!
Once in a while a novel comes along which makes you realise why we read, & Sons is that novel.

On 5th Avenue at St. Patrick's Cathedral, Phillip Topping is attending his father, Charlie Topping's funeral, however this is no ordinary funeral as Charlie was a life long friend of A.N. Dyer, a renowned author whose novel Ampersand set the literary world alight and...
Published 6 months ago by lovemurakami

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts
A.N. Dyer is seventy-nine-years-old. As a young man he wrote a novel, I think it would be called a coming of age novel, called Ampersand. It became something of a classic in American literature, vying with Catcher in the Rye as the must-read novel for older teenagers. Dyer went on to write several other novels, though I don't think they achieved quite the cult status of...
Published 6 months ago by C. E. Utley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, 19 Jan 2014
By 
C. E. Utley "Charles Utley" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Sons (Kindle Edition)
A.N. Dyer is seventy-nine-years-old. As a young man he wrote a novel, I think it would be called a coming of age novel, called Ampersand. It became something of a classic in American literature, vying with Catcher in the Rye as the must-read novel for older teenagers. Dyer went on to write several other novels, though I don't think they achieved quite the cult status of Ampersand. By the time this story starts he has written nothing for several years and he is almost a recluse.

The story is narrated by Philip Topping, the son of Dyer's oldest friend, Charlie Topping. And it begins with Charlie's funeral at which Dyer is to give the eulogy. He arrives at the church with his youngest son, Andy, a seventeen-year-old boy who, we are told, was the result of a brief affair his father had with a Swedish au-pair girl. Dyer also has two much older sons, Richard and Jamie, but they are not at the funeral. Dyer sits in the front pew waiting for the ordeal of having to address the large congregation, but all he can worry about is the fact that Andy does not seem to be in the church. That is because Andy is waiting on the church steps for a twenty-four-year old girl with whom he has been conversing on the internet and whom he has arranged to meet outside the church. It is his profound wish that he will lose his virginity with the girl.

Andy's girl is late. He doesn't make it into the church. His father is desperately concerned. The eulogy is not what one might call a success, though as Dyer leaves the church he is still faced with a great many people who are eager to get him to sign their copies of Ampersand.

As I say, Andy is the youngest of the sons in the title of the novel. Richard was for many years a hopeless drug addict. But he is reformed. He devotes his life to counselling other drug addicts in California. He is married to another former drug addict and they have two children, Emmett and Chloe. Emmett is sixteen and plays an amusing part in the story later on. Richard has had no contact with his father for years. His children have never met their grandfather. Jamie is not married. He has devoted his life to filming death and poverty around the world, though he does not bother to sell the films. They just mount up in cardboard boxes. He never descended to the depths Richard plumbed but, unlike his brother, he still takes recreational drugs, despite his age.

Those are the sons. The Dyers are among America's elite. They are East Coast WASPS. Their world is a strange one, to most of us, populated by other famous and rich people. But, as you will have seen, they are a thoroughly dysfunctional family.

Dyer senior and Topping senior went to the same expensive school (the setting for Ampersand). Their sons also went there. Andy is still there at the time the story is set.

The novel begins relatively well. It looks as though it is going to be a realistic novel in the tradition of some of the great nineteenth century English novelists (who are mentioned rather too often). I, for one, was prepared to go along with Gilbert's theory that almost all WASPs are either rather obnoxious druggies or just plain stupid. But any claim to realism is lost, about half way through the book, when we come to what might be called the "Great Revelation". I shan't tell you what that revelation is. It is enough to say that it instantly moves the story into grotesque fantasy. As soon as we read it we understand that we are no longer reading believable fiction.

I am told that many American reviewers have given the book that coveted title "The Great American Novel", though not all are agreed on that (what I have called the Great Revelation has not been universally admired). The novel does have faults. To start with, it is far too long. It is, at times, horribly pretentious. There are long passages in which the author seems to be saying "look how clever I am, I can write about great works of art and great writers of the past and I can churn out frightfully high class prose effortlessly". Indeed, in one scene, where Dyer is being shown original manuscripts of Jane Austen, Charles Dickens and Anthony Trollope, the intelligent reader will instantly think that what he is reading now is nowhere near as good as what those authors produced. They set out to entertain their readers, not to prove how superior they were. Sadly, Gilbert, though a very good writer, is plainly much more concerned to prove his own superiority than to give pleasure to readers (other than to those who want to boast they have been reading a "literary" novel).

The word is that Gilbert hopes his novel will win the Booker prize. If that happens it will say more about the lack of competition than about the worth of & Sons. He might, more realistically, stand a chance of winning the Literary Review's Bad Sex award. There are three or four sex scenes. The first is handled quite well. The others are just plain disgusting.

But I must not be too negative. There are some really wonderful passages in this book. Just as one is thinking of discarding it for ever, of throwing it in the fire because of some awful pretentious garbage, one comes across a gem of brilliant writing and insight. And it is often very funny. We do not feel much sympathy for the characters (I would exempt Philip, Emmett and Andy from that criticism), but they are well drawn. There are some excellent set pieces (the party in the Frick is beautifully and wittily described). And the end, when you finally get to it, is worth waiting for. Gilbert is, quite obviously, an exceptionally talented writer. But he does need a good editor with the courage to tell him to remove many thousands of unnecessary words and to cut down on the showing off.

My own theory is that good writers like Gilbert are being let down by the invention (in the latter half of the twentieth century) of a new genre of fiction called "literary". Too many publishers are eager to claim their products are literary, rather than just a good read. And clever authors are being encouraged to produce work which ought really to be found in Private Eye's Pseuds Corner rather than in readable novels.

I do not say you shouldn't buy and read this book. You will find some wonderful stuff within its covers, even if you are slightly disappointed by the dross. And, so long as he becomes less self-indulgent, Gilbert will, I am sure, be a great novelist one day.

POST SCRIPT: I wrote this review a while ago. I then thought I ought not to post it, because it was so negative about a book which had apparently been acclaimed by the critics as a masterpiece. Then I heard the book being discussed on the BBC's Saturday Review programme. Pretty well all my own complaints about the novel were made by the reviewers on that programme. It seems, though the consensus amongst critics in America is that Gilbert has produced the book of the decade, that English critics have not been won over. Anyway, I am now brave enough to post this review.

Charles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning novel, an absolute must!, 13 Jan 2014
By 
lovemurakami "tooty2" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: And Sons (Hardcover)
Once in a while a novel comes along which makes you realise why we read, & Sons is that novel.

On 5th Avenue at St. Patrick's Cathedral, Phillip Topping is attending his father, Charlie Topping's funeral, however this is no ordinary funeral as Charlie was a life long friend of A.N. Dyer, a renowned author whose novel Ampersand set the literary world alight and has become the 'Catcher in the Rye' of its time. Dyer now very reclusive is attending and the funeral is packed with fans hoping to claim a signature or a piece of the great man. Dependent upon his youngest son Andy, Dyer has become convinced that he will be attending another funeral very shortly, only this time it will be his own, and so he decides to bring together his 3 sons in order to sort out his affairs and right some wrongs which have happened over his and their lifetime. We witness past, present and future events through the ever present narrator Phillip Topping which will have repercussions for the Dyers and the Toppings and we soon realise that Phillip himself may not just be a casual observer and narrator within this tale.

& Sons deserves to become a modern American classic work of literature. David Gilbert's writing is tremendous, his prose has a naturalistic flow to it and is incisive, witty and just a dream to read, in fact A.N. Dyer would be proud to have produced & Sons! An absolute joy, what more can I say.

Update

This was my read of last year, and I am happy to say I have all ready seen that it might be nominated for the 2014 Booker prize. Genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Men in Manhattan., 31 Jan 2014
By 
Sue Kichenside - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: And Sons (Hardcover)
This is a father-and-sons story set in a cultured and contemporary Manhattan. It opens with aged, venerated author A. N. Dyer about to give the eulogy at his best friend Charlie Topping's funeral.

Andrew Dyer has three sons: reformed drug-addict Richard, underground film-maker Jamie and a much younger third son, teenager Andy, supposedly the outcome of a mid-life affair that ended Dyer's happy marriage. But Andy's provenance is a little more complicated than that. It is Topping's son Philip who tells the story, a narrative construct that only works up to a point.

Philip worships the reclusive, cantankerous old Dyer, wishing he was his own father. Eaten up with envy, he tries to ingratiate himself with the family, to grating effect. As the story-teller, he seems to possess unrealistic powers - knowing, seeing and hearing everything the family does and says. This either makes him a supremely unreliable narrator or it is an unnecessary and somewhat overused artifice which occasionally intrudes on the authenticity of the narrative.

Other than this one quibble, David Gilbert's writing throughout is terrific. He is clearly very talented and he peoples his book with thoroughly convincing, three-dimensional male characters. His females are given short shrift; but then again, this story is not about women. If you enjoy erudite 'east-coast' prose and an interesting plot with insights into the world of a successful author whose life and talent are on the wane, then I can recommend this as a very good, very grown-up read. 4.5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'It became one of those stories, never told honestly', 10 Feb 2014
By 
Eleanor (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: And Sons (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The narrator of "& Sons" is Philip Topping, a failed father, husband, teacher, and writer, who has an unhealthy obsession with A. N. Dyer, a Great American Novelist and his father's best friend. I was instantly immersed in the world of Dyer and his sons, savouring Gilbert's dissection of their privileged East Coast lifestyle and the concomitant literary landscape. The reader, however, cannot become too involved without being reminded of who the narrator is (a man with his own literary pretensions) and this slippery pitiful character adds an extra layer of enjoyment. All in all "& Sons" is a meaty satisfying read to which my mind can't help returning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ....... and sons ?, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Sons (Paperback)
I bought this because of the rave reviews. Unfortunately I found it to be a pretentious load of twaddle. There were a few funny moments but insufficient to make it worthwhile reading. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars weighty American family drama, 26 Jun 2014
By 
H. T. Davies - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And Sons (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a worthy "family" type novel which it took this reader some time to get to grips with. The initial scene set at a funeral in New York initially threw up a few too many characters to get to know and differentiate. Once this was done (admittedly on my third attempt) the novel proved enjoyable, dissecting family life, friendship and novel writing and provided a comprehensive overview of US society at the turn of the century.

The only reason I give four stars instead of five is the difficulty I had in getting into it, but I admit that this could me more my fault than the author's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I hoped, 15 May 2014
By 
This review is from: And Sons (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I read some reviews of this book before buying it and thought it sounded like a very good read. However I don't think this book lives up to that expectation.

Some good sections, some interesting ideas (especially a more fanciful notion that arises later on through the book) but wow, these are some unlikeable people! All the main characters had very little to connect you to them - basically they're an assortment of bullies, underachievers and frustrated losers. The main narrative character is so wet and miserable that you just feel like reaching into the book and giving him a good shake! I also thought that David Gilbert's portrayal of the teenagers fell into the usual trap of writing dialogue / thoughts that sound nothing like most teenagers on earth. One minute Andy (the young son) is using lines such as "like the Met on Eightieth and Fifth, with the knights and stuff?" and then the next has thoughts such as "death existing as gesture rather than extinction"! I always find inconsistencies like that pull you straight out of the narrative and remind that this is a piece of writing rather than an immersive story. I suppose you could argue that we are seeing Andy through the prism of the narrator's writing but it still doesn't ring very true for me.

Overall I would say that it's not a terrible book but wasn't the wonderful piece of writing I was hoping for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book set in New York ("the city at its most vivid"), 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Sons (Hardcover)
& Sons is a book that, in our terms, really brings New York to life. From the upmarket apartments on the Upper East and Upper West side, through the literary launch at the Frick, the over the top (and drug fuelled) limo ride across Brooklyn Bridge, the pretzel hunt through Central Park, and the mad romp around the Met... it is all there, the city at its most vivid. This is fiction set in New York, with the location as one of the key characters.

It is also a very ambitious (and challenging) work – a work that seeks to put David Gilbert into the category of Great American Novelist. It opens with a rambling eulogy that author, A N Dyer, gives at the funeral of his oldest friend, Charles Topping – and the story goes on to be told through the eyes of Charles’ son, Philip… a somewhat contrived and confusing individual with the gift of being able to move between the personae of the main characters. Other than A N (Andrew) Dyer, the three main male characters (David Gilbert doesn’t really do female..) are his two sons Richard and Jamie, and their much younger step brother, Andy. A N Dyer had written a major novel, Ampersand, at the age of 27 – and had lived off its glory for years afterwards. It had sold 45m copies. & Sons explores the impact this success of their father had upon Richard and Jamie – Richard now a recovered addict living in California, running drug rehabilitation workshops, and playing at being a screenwriter. Jamie a controversial maker of short You Tube documentaries that are in questionable taste. Andy is a teenager focused on getting laid by / with Sophie – a slightly older publishing assistant. Andy was a result (or was he?) of a brief liaison between A N Dyer and a Swedish au pair that brought down his marriage. He befriends Richard’s son, Emmett, and shows him New York. The story is the story of the interaction between the two full brothers – both intense sibling love and rivalry played out in a location that is home to neither of them.

The book is extraordinarily well and wittily written, even if some of the sentence and paragraph structures are a little convoluted and hard to follow. David Gilbert has vast literary knowledge and this plays through into many of the references in the book. It is without doubt a BIG book… Whether it quite works at every level, though, I am not sure. The revelations (not to be repeated here..) about Andy’s possible origins throw the whole work into a different – and, to me, slightly confusing - perspective. I was not entirely sure of the relevance or point…

All that said, & Sons is absolutely worth the effort and concentration required to read it. And, most importantly in TripFiction terms, the work really does bring New York quite vividly to the reader’s mind - and will be a great read for anyone heading in that direction. David Gilbert was brought up on the Upper East Side. The book is set in his own back yard – and it shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Big, bold and ambitious, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: And Sons (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a bold and ambitious novel: it takes that axiom about the only means of immortality being through children and art, and mixes them both together. A.N.Dyer is almost 80, a grand old man of American literature, and when his life-long friend dies, he is forced to face his own mortality. The narrative takes place as he revisits his now-canonical novel and gathers his sons around him.

There are interesting ideas at work in this book, and Gilbert is a deft hand at skewering intellectual pretensions, but the body of this book is hardly novel territory: generational angst, the fraught relationships between fathers and sons, questions of fiction and reality, and whether memory is always nothing more than fiction aimed at telling us who we are and where we are from are treated in many books: Ballistics by D.W.Wilson, for example, trod very similar territory last year with, arguably, more emotional potency.

There’s a kind of frenetic energy about the writing which I enjoyed but also too many places where the text seems to be so intoxicated with itself that it trips over into the meaningless. Similes and metaphors are especially stretched: ‘Curtis picked up a small wooden sculpture... he could have been Yorick if Hamlet were the skull’; ‘Curtis flexed a smile, his bow-tie the dumbbell’... what?

This reads to me like a first draft which needs a bold revisionary hand to cut the dead wood and make sense of some of the tangled writing. It’s big and bold and energetic, and definitely worth reading but was ultimately less satisfying that I’d hoped for: 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe I'm just getting too old, 7 Mar 2014
By 
S. B. Kelly (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And Sons (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This novel comes laden with praise from critics and famous novelists but I found it tiresome: tricksy, with its facsimiles of barely legible letters, it seems self-indulgent. The narrator is a cypher in whom I could not invest emotionally. Perhaps it's the sort of thing that I would have enjoyed when I was young, but now it feels pretentious.

I dare say it's my fault but I can't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And Sons
And Sons by David Gilbert
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews