Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
9
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.64
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2016
This book ended up being a real disappointment and whilst I got all the way through, I was ready to give up for most of the second half.
This is the problem. Imagine a few of your mates went off to Europe for a weekend but you weren't able to make it. When they come back, they spend four hours telling you about how drunk they got, and with stories which weren't actually that funny. You'd get bored pretty quickly wouldn't you? That's what this book is like.
Admittedly, the author and his friends probably had a brilliant time on these weekend trips but if I want to read price lists of beer in every Eastern European country, I can do it in ten minutes, for free, on Trip Advisor, rather than have to pay for this book.
The book isn't funny. I think I smiled to myself about twice throughout the whole thing and given that the author spends over half the time trying to be funny, that's a pretty low strike rate.
And the most disappointing aspect was that whilst some of the trips he did have some vaguely interesting moments or background stories, there really wasn't anything of note that I'd want to go and tell other football fans about, or anything that I'd still remember in a year's time. It's basically just a diary of some blokes who went and got smashed on the continent, and took in a few football matches. Doesn't justify writing a book about it.
On the plus side, the author does do a good job of illustrating how sanitised English football stadiums (particularly Premier League) have become in comparison to those on the continent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
This book will appeal to all true football fans, the author leads us and his band of colleagues friends and family on a journey around world football. I must confess to being envious of a job which allows him to schedule work travel around his passion. Looking forward to volume 2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Why would I read a book about football? Why would I read a book about travelling to football games between teams I'd never heard of? Why would I read such a book from cover to cover? The answer is in Stuart's talent to include you on the planes, trains and taxis to the various obscure and not so obscure games he goes to with his group of mates. It's about the football, of course. Stuart has a passion for the Beautiful Game but it's also the fans that fascinate him. The people (and dogs in football scarves) who follow their team with such dedication they will stand for 90 minutes in near empty fields in freezing temperatures just as readily as heading to the big stadiums - and by being a Football Tourist you can enjoy that experience too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
A really enjoyable journey around all levels of the European football world. Full of insight and humour you really feel as if you are traveling around with Stuart and his mates to obscure places such as Spakenburg and OMS Ingelmunster. Its comforting to know that there are others out there who get the same kick from watching all levels of football at far and distant places. It also seems I must have a strange affinity with the author as there can't be that many fellow West Ham, Lewes and Harveys Ale fans out there. Oh yes.... I've also been waiting for years for a Dukla Prague away kit!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
Stuart Fuller is a very talented author. He draws you into each chapter with his stories of the games he goes to and the adventures he has along the way. I recommend this book to all football fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Lovely book to pick up and put down at your leisure as all the chapters are self-contained, will look forward to a follow up or another book from Stuart Fuller in the future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Quite an enjoyable read overall, a bit tiresomely laddish in places but plenty of local colour and genuinely interesting content to make it worthwhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
A fantastic read which inspires you to jump in the car and drive to the continent immediately and discover foreign football!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2015
A fantastic read and also very funny looking forward to the second one in Feb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse