Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really high quality drama
I had heard about this series while visiting America and I was glad to have a chance to see it when it finally turned up on BBC. It is every bit as good as everyone says and I looked forward to every episode.

Nurse Jackie is a high quality black comedy/drama neatly fitted into half-hour episodes. It focuses on Jackie, a drug-addicted nurse who is living a...
Published on 28 Mar 2010 by daisyduck1976

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nurse Jackie
Edie Falco and co-stars do a fine job in this off beat comedy with dark undertones. I found the first episode a little difficult to warm to and some of the characters appeared rather stereotyped. However, as the series progressed their characters developed and they managed to draw me in. Nurse Jackie is a bit of a Mary Magdelene type - heart of gold but she breaks all the...
Published on 11 Feb 2011 by Ursula


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really high quality drama, 28 Mar 2010
I had heard about this series while visiting America and I was glad to have a chance to see it when it finally turned up on BBC. It is every bit as good as everyone says and I looked forward to every episode.

Nurse Jackie is a high quality black comedy/drama neatly fitted into half-hour episodes. It focuses on Jackie, a drug-addicted nurse who is living a double life. The acting is top notch, not just from Edie Falco as Jackie, but from all the actors surrounding her, both in the hospital and in her home. They are all extremely carefully drawn- from Coop, Jackie's infantile yet endearing doctor colleague, through Dr.O'Hara her English best friend, lover of expensive things and the only one who knows about both of Jackie's lives, to her very troubled daughter Grace.
What is so excellent about this series is the way they portray Jackie. They make no judgments about the fact that she has an addiction and is having an affair. It is simply shown as part of her life at the same time as her being an excellent nurse, wife and mother. It's cleverly done. On the one hand, you see that she has a wonderful husband, two children and a very happy home-life, on the other, she is brilliant at her job but steals drugs and has an affair with the pharamacist who knows about her addiction and yet, you still like her, admire her. That's no easy feat for the writers.
So, the writing is undoubtably excellent. The dialogue whips along and is by turns, very funny and very moving. I am looking forward to series 2 coming to the UK and understand that a third series has just been comissioned in the US.
Give Nurse Jackie a try. I'd be amazed if you don't love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible piece of US TV..., 5 Feb 2010
By 
Jacob Sanders (North Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After hearing very positive things about this show, I was pleased when I saw that BBC had decided to air the show...and at a reasonable time instead of 1 or 2am in the morning (The Wire, Arrested Development...Ahem!)

Although the first Season is yet to finish, I believe we're currently on episode 9 of 12 of an incredible show. The character building is really indepth and it shows 2 sides to Nurse Jackie, her work life and her family life. Although they only appear for short amounts of time during each episode, Jackie's husband and kids are also great characters. Mrs. Akalitus appears for a couple of minutes per episodes, but every time she's on screen, it's comedy gold...especially when she tasers herself!

For fans of House and other similar American comedy/drama's this show is well worth a watch...you won't be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a look . . ., 5 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing technical in this review, but this hospital series is well worth a look to judge for yourself. Edie Falco ( her of Soprano's fame ) gives her usual sublime performance, being followed very, very closely by another great performance from her assistant trainee nurse. Enough drama to keep most drama fans happy and the odd throw away line for a good chuckle or two. One gripe. Each episode is too short, if you can call that a gripe! Go and try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this series!, 1 May 2010
By 
H. C. Jerrome (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only complaint I have about this series is that, at 12 episodes, there aren't enough episodes!

I was in stitches at many points throughout watching this - at things from Dr Coop's "Tourettes reaction to stress" to Nurse Jackie's dry, deadpan retorts. I really wouldn't have thought this would be my kind of thing, as the sense of humour in it is dark, sarcastic and maybe slightly macabre at points; while I usually prefer more cheerful, slapstick-type comedy. However, the cast is perfect and the characters are mostly pretty likeable even through their shortcomings, and (like I've already said) - I loved it. It's extremely enjoyable for people with all sorts of tastes in comedy - however, I suggest you don't eat dinner while watching this (learning from my mistakes here) - as you wouldn't with any hospital-based drama.

I can't wait for series 2, and really hope it will be shown on TV in the UK too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 23 Mar 2010
By 
shpadoinkle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
It's about time nurses got a proper TV drama written about them!

This show is the best thing I've seen on TV in years. Fantastic, involving drama with consistently brilliant black humour. Of a similar tone to 'Six Feet Under' or 'Huff'. Each episode is half an hour and really tightly scripted - you can't look away for a second.

The basic premise of the series is 'Doctors diagnose; nurses heal.' The doctors in the show (there are two) are peripheral characters - tending toward being insensitive, arrogant, or a bit thick! However they are still likable, interesting people with strengths as well as weaknesses. None of the characters are two-dimensional 'bad guys' or 'good guys'; Nurse Jackie herself has many faults and a questionable sense of morality, but that is part of what makes the show so fun. Edie Falco is mesmerising as Nurse Jackie - a brilliantly complex character who you really care about.

I cannot recommend this series highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 14 Mar 2010
By 
A brilliant series. Blackly comic, but also moving and dramatic with an absolutely superb performance from Edie Falco.

At half an hour long the episodes feel nicely paced with plenty of laugh out loud moments, but the slow burning story lines keep you hooked and let you get really invested in the characters, making it rewarding and compelling watching by the end of the series.

The show stands on the strength of its writing and acting and actually credits its audience with some intelligence. Each character feels really original and three dimensional - every one is different but lovable in their own way. If you're looking for a good quality character drama with a wicked sense of humour - look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Nurse Jackie: Season One & Two" on 'American BLU RAY' - Compatibility Issues With UK Players...WON'T PLAY, 7 May 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I foolishly bought Season 1 and Season 2 of the brilliant "Nurse Jackie" on BLU RAY out of the 'States' because they were about a fiver each. Never look a gift horse as they say...

On receipt it turns out that both of these USA Lionsgate issues are REGION A LOCKED so they show up on your British TV screen as a mismatch - and won't play because of Region Coding. It doesn't say this on Amazon's crappy BLU RAY description.

If you're buying on BLU RAY - make sure its Region B (a UK or European release) or it won't play on your machine.

Unfortunately if you do want the UK version - in 2014 - it seems to have acquired a rather steep purchase price...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sopranos meets the national health, 23 Oct 2010
By 
L. J. Kemp (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Edie Falco is brilliant in this realistic pithy black comedy heavily laced with booze drugs and affairs each and every working day. Complex in her varied relations with family friends and work collegues you're never quiet sure what suprise is next. Compassion in a profit driven world exudes from her medicated, sometimes over medicated self, where others have forgotten their calling in the busy hospital they inhabit. Quick to respond when situations get tricky she wise cracks her way through the days and ensures payback occurs to those who disrupt her routine. This is a riveting, hard hitting but funny mixture, probably nearer to real life than we like to imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious black humour!, 3 Aug 2011
By 
A. Douglas (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this after seeing an advert for the latest series on TV. I am so pleased I went for it. Nurse Jackie is addicted to prescription drugs, gets small revenge on annoying patients and is sleeping with a colleague. You can't help but like her. She's good at her job, and doesn't take any crap. This is a really enjoyable series and I can't wait to watch the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WRY, WISTFUL & APPEALING, 6 July 2011
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How does Nurse Jackie cope? It is such a full life. At home, a devoted husband and two little girls. At the hectic New York hospital, she the rock on whom colleagues lean. Every new day is a challenge. Her secret is an addiction to drugs, intake increasing as crises multiply....

As Nurse Jackie, Edie Falco is superb (she who so impressed as mobster Tony Soprano's wife). Falco knows the power of stillness, how so much can be portrayed by just a look, a gesture. (All the while her scripts were consequently pared down, so many words not needed.)

Deliberately the series focuses on nurses - they the front line of hospital care, the faces most seen by patients at often the most stressful time of their life. Jackie's concern is genuine, she instinctively knowing what best to say, what best to do. (Obnoxious patients receive rather less sympathy, she with ways and means of ensuring they show respect.)

Rich characterization abounds with formidable administrator Gloria; gay, sensible Mohammad; Eddie, dispenser of pills (etc.); garrulous and bumbling student Zoey; handsome Dr. Cooper - he the love of his life.

Fine writing and acting lift the series into a high league. Underlying it all is a genuine affection for the people portrayed. Take, for example, episode six. A former colleague, now with terminal cancer, comes in to die - hoping the process can be speeded. So easily this could have been mawkish, but warmth and good humour make it uplifting and memorable.

In view of such praise, my first reaction to the pilot may surprise. Less than half way through it was set aside - the strong language, raunchy scenes, etc. so unexpected. Only when revisiting a few weeks later, was I won over - better able to appreciate its worth.

12 episodes, several commentaries, interesting bonuses.

Recommended. (Unlike me, do not be put off by what you first see.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pilot
Pilot by Craig Zisk
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews