Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value
This is a good compilation of some of The Lady's best known songs at an excellent price. The sound quality is fine.
Published 7 months ago by John Everard

versus
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential?
In his highly acclaimed book Electric Eden: Unearthing Britain's Visionary Music, the music writer Rob Young identifies the late, self-destructive female singer-songwriter, as one of the key figures in 20th century British folk rock, alongside the likes of Pentangle, Nick Drake, and the Incredible String Band. He makes this judgement because of her work in the late 1960s...
Published 11 months ago by S. Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential?, 30 Sep 2013
By 
S. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In his highly acclaimed book Electric Eden: Unearthing Britain's Visionary Music, the music writer Rob Young identifies the late, self-destructive female singer-songwriter, as one of the key figures in 20th century British folk rock, alongside the likes of Pentangle, Nick Drake, and the Incredible String Band. He makes this judgement because of her work in the late 1960s and 1970s as firstly, lead singer for the folk rock band Fairport Convention, then as part of her own short-lived band, Fotheringay, before embarking on a solo career that produced 4 studio albums between 1971 and 1977 (The North Star Grassman and the Ravens, Sandy, Like an Old Fashioned Waltz, and Rendezvous). This budget-priced CD focusses solely on that latter phase of her career.

It begins that task well, with a 1973 take on her best-known song, the wistful 'Who Knows Where The Time Goes?'. That much-covered effort is followed by a reasonable proportion of the best songs in her back-catalogue, including: 'Late November', 'Next Time Around', 'Solo', 'No End', 'I'm A Dreamer', and 'The Lady'. Also included amongst the 15 song track-listing are the traditional 'Blackwaterside', and her version of former colleague Richard Thompson's 'I Wish I Was A Fool For You (Again)', which both convincingly show off her talents as a skilful interpreter of other people's material. Hearing all this generally understated folk-rock - with it poignant lyrics, sympathetic musical arrangements, and Denny's haunting vocal performances - provides a reminder of why esteemed artists such as Robert Plant, Kate Bush and Pete Townshend have doffed their caps to her in the past, and hip contemporary acts like Laura Marling, Joanna Newsom, and Joan As Policeman, have cited her as an influence on their own work.

But this budget-priced collection has almost the same faults as another Spectrum/Universal release - John Martyn's Sweet Little Mystery: The Essential. There is no place in the running order for a not insignificant number of first-rate songs, like the foreboding 'Listen, Listen', anxiety-ridden 'Stranger To Himself', the pagan folk song 'The North Star Grassman And The Ravens', and the dreamy 'One-Way Donkey Ride' (all of which regularly feature in other compilations of her work). Whilst two key tracks are presented in marginally inferior live versions. These drawbacks wouldn't be as much of a problem if The Lady didn't have the contentious, and slightly misleading, subtitle of "The Essential". The fact that Patrick Humphries rushed sleevenote features contradictory information about her output doesn't help things much either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, 19 Feb 2014
By 
John Everard (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good compilation of some of The Lady's best known songs at an excellent price. The sound quality is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Artist, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many great tracks here. If you're a fan or been recommended by a friend, then this is a great place to start. A great version of "Who knows". Worth it just for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent intro to Sandy, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Terrahurtz (Kidlington, Oxon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came to this album only knowing 'Who knows where the time goes' but it was a real eye opener for me and I will definitely invest in other Sandy Denny CDs after hearing this.
There are a lot of real winners on this, in contrast to the usual rule of thumb on compilations, many of them towards the end of the album. In fact, one of the few disappointments was 'who knows where the time goes', here sung in a 'free' live version which is certainly not an improvement on the fairport era studio version that I - and no doubt many others - already knew and loved before I bought this. The other is All our days, which comes in at over 7 minutes long and has more orchestral interlude than Sandy singing. Just about everything else is highly recommended though - personal favourites, 'John the Gun' and, best of all, the neo-psychedelic 'I wish I was a fool for you (again)'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars up to high standard, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sandy's content and interpretation never falls below brilliant. Already got most of these tracks but a couple of new ones to e. I'll play t the car. If you're familiar with Sandy's work you won't need to read this, if you're not then you've really missed out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic album, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a gem of an album,heard where has all the time gone on tv drama and had to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE ESSENTIAL SANDY DENNY- C.D. ITS AN OLDIE BUT A GOODIE, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this because I always loved Sandy Denny. The songs are fine but I found it a bit samey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sadly missed., 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good starter for anyone new to sandy. i only bought it for two tracks i didnt already have, but still an excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
must have cd makes u fill good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST, 15 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
MUSIC TO EVERY FOLK MUSIC FAN AND MORE . SUCH A SHAME ITS ALL DOWN TO MEMORIES NOW . A MUST HAVE FOR THE COLLECTION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews