Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


181 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome show but there's seemingly a misunderstanding about different versions
Just so people here know, this version of season 2 is the only one available with the entirety of season 2 on it (apart from the season 1+2 bundle).

The Season 2.0 and Season 2.5 boxsets were only released in the US and contain the first (episodes 1-10) and second (episodes 11-20) halves of the season respectively. Also, season 2.5 contained an extended cut...
Published on 10 Feb 2007 by M. Moore

versus
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the DVD extras
Well, you probably already know that the show itself is brilliant, but the UK S2 release is hugely let down by the extras. Basically, they took the extras from the US release of the first half of season 2 and then didn't bother with any of the extras from the second half.

Normally this wouldn't matter - simply another case of the shoddy way R2 DVDs are treated,...
Published on 29 Aug 2006 by Niqaryt


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

181 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome show but there's seemingly a misunderstanding about different versions, 10 Feb 2007
By 
M. Moore (Crawley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just so people here know, this version of season 2 is the only one available with the entirety of season 2 on it (apart from the season 1+2 bundle).

The Season 2.0 and Season 2.5 boxsets were only released in the US and contain the first (episodes 1-10) and second (episodes 11-20) halves of the season respectively. Also, season 2.5 contained an extended cut (an extra 10 minutes) of episode 10 which was not televised or included on the Season 2.0 DVDs. These 2 sets also contain deleted scenes from many episodes.

The Season 2 DVD boxset on this page is the UK release and contains all episodes (episodes 1-20) from season 2 except for the original cut of episode 10; we have the extended cut instead, which is a good thing in my book. I've heard that not all of the deleted scenes on the US DVDs are present on the UK one, but the box of the UK version tells me there are just over 6 hours of extras which is more than enough for me.

Now, the only difference between the combined US versions (Season 2.0 and Season 2.5) and the single UK version we have here is that we don't have the original cut of episode 10; only the extended cut, and may not have as many deleted scenes. Other than that, we get the series in one boxset whereas in the US they had to pay for two sets.

I recommend not buying the US DVDs unless you're a serious collector. I also seriously doubt they will release either of the US versions in PAL Region 2 format. So if anyone is waiting for that to happen, do yourself a favour and buy this.

I hope that dispelled any myths the reviewers below me have been spreading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction is back., 10 Sep 2006
By 
Dr. P. J. A. Wicks (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
We needed a hero. We needed a saviour. For the past few years we've been sitting in the cinemas waiting for the next big thing that our kids will remember fondly when they're grown up... The Matrix Trilogy wasn't it. The Star Wars prequels weren't it. Turns out we were looking in the wrong place! Hollywood has forgotten how to make characters matter to us in a short space of time, and so instead TV has triumped, lead by a vanguard of shows like The Sopranos, The Shield, and Prison Break. Spurred on by the success of serious, intelligent shows for grownups, the Sci-Fi channel has bravely launched the "reboot" of Battlestar Galactica, and I'm relieved to tell you it's bloody fantastic.

Being a remake of the original series, I had thought that it was going to be like the short-lived Space: Above and Beyond. Namely a series that got too excited about special effects and dogfights, but left us with hollow stereotypes for character development. BG has none of these failings, and in this series there are some great revelations which will definitely make a fan out of anyone with vaguely Sci-Fi tendencies.

This series we see that the Cylons are far more complex than we had first thought. They aren't simply mindless automotons, they each have their own indpendent views, relationships, hopes, and fears. We see more of how the rest of the fleet is coping with the exodus from the colonies. Series one focussed primarily on the battlestar itself and turned a blind eye to the other 48,000 people in this "rag-tag" fleet. Even better, the plot developments that happen are quite feasible and realistic. For instance in the context of extreme rationing, a black market was bound to open up for everything from medicines to prostitution.

The relationship between Gaius Baltar and his "is-she isn't she real?" ex-girlfriend Six takes on a new level of complexity too, particularly when Gaius comes across another incarnation of her that has been tortured and abused by the human military.

Even more satisfying is this season's ending, which takes a shocking and radical departure from the status quo.

I like this series because it really engages your brain. It's clearly been written by fellow sci-fi fans who know all the cliches and want to turn them on their head to engage with their audiences.

I mean throwing in a cameo from Lucy Lawless to a bunch of sci-fi fans?

These guys know what we like, so I say watch it by the bucketload!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How far they've come . . ., 8 Sep 2006
How far the series has come from the original days of Lorne Green, Richard Hatch and Dirk Benedict! Season 2 of this seminal Sci-Fi series continues in the same vein, high production values, focus on the 'human' interest and wearing the science fiction like a suit to go about its business of telling the story of the last surviving humans from the twelve colonies.

The cast is numerous, talented and cohesive producing without question one of the most consistently successful sci-fi sagas to date. The DVD package is a fine addition to anyone's collection, but I must echo another reviewer in my disappoint at the extras - so much more could have been done, and if Sky Interactive could offer this through digital satellite, surely the R2 DVD producers could have gone one better?

As another reviewer has said, the ideal relief from reality TV, and unlike most shows, each re-viewing often offers yet another something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what you get, 23 April 2007
By 
D. Carr (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fine addition to anyone wanting to add to their collection. Complete season with a disc of deleted scenes

My main gripe is with the commentary, these are in actual fact podcasts and are only on the first two discs and even then are incomplete in one of the two discs.

Aside from that is perhaps one of the cheapest and most annoying interactive menu screens i have come across
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Excellently Carry On Where They Left Off, 4 Sep 2006
"Battlestar Galactica" is second only to "Firefly" as an SF series.

I am halfway through Season 2 and I am delighted to report that it's as good as the first. The tension rises, passions flare, and the unique opportunities of the Cylons-that-look-human are being fully exploited by the writers.

Buy it, but you really need to watch the mini-series and Season 1 first. It's definitely not the sort of show you can just dip into.

It remains a mystery to me why things like "Lost" find a prime-time mass audience, while far better and more compelling series drama like BG languish on minority channels and end up being seen by more people on DVD than broadcast. Wake up, TV executives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best show on tv, 2 Oct 2006
20 episodes of, frankly, the best television on air. starting off where the incredible climax of last season's kobol's last gleaming arc, the season builds to a fabulous mid-season climax with 'pegasus' and the two-parter 'resurrection ship', and then ends with the even better episodes 'downloaded' (the cylon P-O-V episode) and 'Lay Down Your Burdens 1&2'. The latter is a specially extended episode that runs to about 70 minutes overall and ends with another amazing cliffhanger leading to season 3.

'pegasus' is also the extended version as standard - this episode was cut for tv broadcast in the R1 release and is an extra on the 2.5 R1 boxset, but is standard here.

the only disappointments are the lack of extras - because the R2 set was released before the 2.5 release in the US we do not get any of the deleted scenes or commentaries from the second half of the season....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible second season for one of the best sci-fi shows out there., 13 Oct 2007
After the cliffhanger ending of BSG's surprisingly solid first season it's reasonable to say that season 2 has a lot to live up to. Not only does it have to continue the high number of well-developed character arcs and storylines, but it has to keep engaging it's audience and also maintain the level of intensely dramatic entertainment the last season delivered so strongly.
Does it manage? Yes it does, and a whole lot more besides. Not only does this season stay as good as the last one, but it's repeatedly even better.
Now, it's worth mentioning that if you haven't seen season one and the mini-series that preceded it, this season probably won't make a whole lot of sense since it's only real flaw is that it's not very forgiving on newcomers this far in.
Season two is all about choices and consequences. Again and again the increasingly worn down fleet is faced with difficult choices that make the Olympic Carrier crisis from season one look easy. You will not be able to come down on one side or the other, there's way to much moral ambiguity in place at every turn for clear right-and-wrong distinctions to be made. This adds even more realism to a series already steeped in it, and that makes it even better since BSG's realism is one of it's strongest traits. With every hard decision comes ripples of consequence throughout the series, with no-one left unaffected and no plot-line untouched. Often tiny decisions lead to larger problems but then come the really big questions, where one wrong move could spell extermination, and we as an audience realize that we haven't any more idea what the right choice is than the protagonists.
The population count the president kept in the previous installments is now placed (updated per episode) into the opening credits so we're given a constant reminder of how few people are left, with every loss (and very occasional gain) constantly pointed out to us this series never looses momentum and the perpetual sense of threat never lessens. This is one of the simplest and yet most ingenious devices ever deployed in a television series and deserves mention for it's sheer genius.
One of the things that stands out having watched this season is just how smart it is. It's clearly written by a very intelligent group of writer's who have no problem infusing moral unease or philosophical debate into their show, and yet they manage to pull it off without a whiff of pretentiousness or boredom. You're being challenged, but you're not being lectured.
The visual effects are as good as ever, with some very impressive battle sequences and dog-fights still kept firmly grounded in familiar science and technology. The musical score is as haunting, stirring and involving as before. From a standpoint of presentation values this series is unusually minimalist, but still manages to maintain incredibly high standards throughout.
The performances from the large cast are all still excellent, as are those from the occasional new comers, every character is still as well realized and honestly three-dimensional as before with long-standing personal tensions and motives driving the storytelling for most of the episodes rather than the individual problems faced in each.
The cylons are given a lot more screen time in season two, providing insight into life on the twelve colonies for everyday cylons as well as their true motives and feelings around the original attacks that started the story. The centurions (cylons that don't look human) appear much more as well, and continue to break sci-fi tradition by being not only intelligent and apparently self-aware but also incredibly dangerous, if you wanted a race of killing machines, you'd build them like this. The enemy getting this much fleshing out in any series like this is extremely unusual and BSG gains a lot from the way it treats it's villains - to the extent that on occasion, you might just come down on their side.
In conclusion, Battlestar Galactica maintains and exceeds it's already towering standards of entertainment throughout it's second season. It consistently challenges, thrills and entertains it's audience with well-written scripts, great production values and true-to-life performances. If you enjoyed the first season then sit back, relax, and prepare to be blown away. It's just plain genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great second season of a great show . . . and it's the full season!!!, 10 Aug 2006
First things first: This version (region 2) is the FULL second season of battlestar galactica. The region one version is 440 min. each, this is 882 min. and (as seen on another site) the cover differs slightly. I guess amazon.uk "borrowed" from amazon.com!

Nevertheless this (full) second season continues where the first one left of. I can honestly say that I have not seen a bad episode.

It is really exciting, it has a nice devellopment of the characters and the story.

If you liked the first season you will like this one even more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Season, Questionable Package, 9 Nov 2006
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
A slight gripe first, namely that the DVD package is somewhat lacking. We don't get any podcast commentaries for the latter two-thirds of the season and the special features are feeble compared to the US release. I hope for Season 3 they hold off on releasing the DVD for a few more weeks to ensure they have a complete package.

That gripe aside, Season 2 of BSG improves on the first in a number of key areas. The widely-separated storylines of the Galactica's adventures in deep space and Lt. Helo's problems on Caprica are finally brought together satisfyingly, whilst the mechanical Cylon Centurions that looked really good in the first season but didn't do very much are allowed to cut loose in spectacular style. The semi-serialised nature of the first season turns into a full-scale serialised storyline here, with the first seven episodes representing a sustained story arc resolving the first season cliffhanger through some breathless twists and turns. Commander Adama has been shot and is on the edge of death in sickbay, leaving the alcoholic Colonel Tigh in command and the exposed Cylon traitor Boomer in the brig. A military coup has been staged and President Roslin is also in the brig, with Apollo on parole for mutiny. Meanwhile, several Galactica crewmen are stranded on the planet Kobol under constant Cylon attack, whilst Starbuck and Helo are now trapped on Caprica with no way off the planet. The writers later admitted taking too long to tell this story, but I found it compelling viewing and it's difficult to see how it could have been shortened. After this arc is concluded we are barely given a pause for breath before the three-part Pegasus arc kicks in, with the crew of the Galactica encountering the larger, more powerful battlestar Pegasus, whose commander, Admiral Cain (the excellent Michelle Forbes from Star Trek: The Next Generation and the second season of 24), has a very different idea of what the survivors of humanity should be doing than Adama.

The result is an awesome display of drama against a backdrop of an incendiary space battle that shames anything in the new Star Wars movies for concept and design. Unfortunately, the show cannot sustain this level of quality and after the Pegasus Trilogy (which, surprisingly ends with the Pegasus not being destroyed, in contravention of the rules of TV script-writing) there is a sustained period of weak episodes: Epiphanies, Black Market and Sacrifice are less than stellar episodes and Scar, whilst dramatically satisfying with excellent effects, has a number of problems regarding consistency with previous episodes (such as why Scar wasn't mentioned before). The episode The Captain's Hand restores the show to its former glory, however, as the battlestar Pegasus is forced into a military confrontation with three Cylon basestars with no hope of relief.

The final three episodes of the season are truly jaw-dropping stuff, however, signalling a massive shift in the format of the show and a cliffhanger ending of monumental proportions. The wait for the DVD of the third season of Battlestar Galactica (the fourth episode of which is the best SF TV episode of the last ten years, no question) will be a long one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding show!, 15 Sep 2006
After the absolutely fabulous first season, I wondered if such high standards could be kept towards this season 2. With no doubt what so ever, it did.

It brings you amazing plots, outrageous CGI, outstanding acting. It's a Sci-Fi gem. The development is truly intelligent. It respects any one of us, lovers of high quality TV shows, by refusing to look down into our ability to understand complicated plots filled with social-political, religious and also mythological references.

This Region 2 Season 2 has all the episodes, unlike the R1 that comes divided in two boxes. It provides English SUBTITLES for the hearing unpaired (which is also great for all those non English, whom need a little help to better follow the dialogs, myself included). Special features: very poor. The box set: it could be better, but with such high quality show, "it's the inside that counts".

If you read some of the other reviews, you can catch some very good synopsis for last season's clifhanger continuation. So, I'll pass on doing so. Only a remark about "Pegasus": if you remember the original Battlestar Galactica, then you will enjoy watching this (extended) arc episode in particular.

Season 3 on its way, unfortunately for all of us that don't have access to the TV channel which will premier it, only DVD box sets are the unique opportunity to get to see it. So hang on for about a year. It will be, most definitely, worthy.

You can choose from R1 or R2, but my advice is: Buy it, and enjoy it.
A must have...indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scattered
Scattered by Michael Rymer
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews